We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet rooms, comfortable beds, great shower, a very good stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Quiet rooms, comfortable beds, great shower, a very good stay.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Called up the hotel for their corporate rate which beat the online rate by quite a bit. Located just south of the main city center, this 5 story hotel is quiet with very good quality beds, and strong showers. Wifi internet could be faster but overall a good stay. Onsite pub is available but we didn't use it, however breakfast in the restaurant was quite good and moderately priced. Fitness area was good, with a large hottub and sauna as well. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Top (5th) floor is recommended, corner room for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvrtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear yvrtravelguy,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our fitness centre has received very good reviews from many guests, some of which just enjoy the hot tub after a long day. We like to ensure our guests get a good night sleep, and to this we have recently upgraded our beds and bedding.

When your travels bring you back to the Alberni Valley, we will be happy to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    176
    39
    7
    5
See reviews for
122
126
20
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The beds in this hotel are extremely comfortable. A very good sleep experience! I always look forward to a great sleep in this hotel!! Stay in this hotel every time I work in Port Alberni. All hotels should have these beds and the bedding - very comfy!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sylvie5937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Sylvie5937,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced a wonderful nights sleep. We have recently upgraded our bed linens and have very high quality beds in our rooms. We have many other upgrades to enhance our customers stay with us planned for the future as guest satisfaction is our goal at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

When your travels bring you back to the Alberni Valley, we will be happy to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Best Western Plus Hotel in Port Alberni was disappointing in several ways. It didn't seem to compare with others in that category at all. Breakfast was not included in the price and there was no group rate available to us when we registered but others in our group received a better price than the senior's rate that we were charged.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank deejay2789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear deejay2789,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We hope you enjoyed your high school reunion, after so many years it must be incredible to catch up with old friends. We do not offer a complimentary breakfast included in our room rates, but instead offer a full service restaurant that provides great food at reasonable prices. We have many guests who have told us they prefer this option as opposed to having to select from a limited buffet. Your group did not qualify for the group rate because you did not have the minimum number of rooms required to receive the special rate, one of your guests did receive a lower rate due to an incorrect rate code entry, and we honoured the rate even though it was given in error.

Should your travels bring you back to the Alberni Valley, we would be happy to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzartus Island, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We are out of town and just wanted to stay at a hotel for fun in town, and this is a great place to stay at! The beds are very comfortable, there was a great selection of tv channels, and the internet was easy to get on and use. We got pizza delivered to our room with no problems and the hotel is in a great central part of Port Alberni.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Katie T,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We have recently upgraded our HSIA and our cable to include some movie channels and high definition channels.

Should your travels bring you back to the Alberni Valley, we would be happy to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for two nights this past August and wasn't really overly impressed... check-in went smoothly and the lady at the counter helped answer a few of my questions. But at check out the same person was quiet short with me and didn't even ask how my stay was. The rooms were clean and what I would expect from a Best Western... But the beds were TERRIBLE! Hard as a rock, I think I would have been more comfortable on the floor! On top of being hard and uncomfortable, if you didn't sleep in the middle of the mattress you risked rolling off the edge as they seemed to slant towards the edges. Good location, restaurant staff were friendly but I wouldn't stay here again as I wouldn't be able to get any sleep!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan0172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Morgan0172,

Thank you for your response to TripAdvisor. We value all comments by our guests so we can improve their experiences at our property.

Please accept my sincere apology; guest satisfaction is the goal at the Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel. This includes their comfort level and ensuring our guests get a restful sleep. Our beds along with Best Western’s signature soft and medium pillows are quite popular with our guests. If you contact me personally I will investigate the room you were staying to ensure there isn’t a problem with your bed. I will also speak with our front desk team as our mission is to ensure our guests have an enjoyable trouble free stay, and to ask all of our guests " how was your stay". This gives us the opportunity to discuss any problems before the guest leaves.

I know we can not change the past, but should your travels bring you back to the Alberni Valley, we would be happy to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldergrove, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I always try to stay at Best Western hotels when travelling in British Columbia. The Best Western in Port Alberni doesn't disappoint. Never have I experienced such exceptional customer service and care from a hotel staff. This experience has spoiled me. The staff is friendly, professional and proactive. Manager Peter Mugleston went out of his way to quickly resolve an internet connectivity issue I was having with my laptop. The king business traveller suite has everything the business traveller needs, including an iron. The room and hallway was quiet and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. I'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Judith C,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our business class King room to be to your satisfaction. I was happy to help with the Internet issue, and we are investigating as to why the issue occurred in the first place, as we have recently upgraded our Internet by adding new equipment and additional access points throughout the hotel.

Should your travels bring you back to the Alberni Valley, we would be happy to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel is a bit dated and the décor is tired, but it is clean, has good amenities and is very well located in the downtown. We stayed as a family in two separate rooms, and both rooms were nice. The beds were good, sheets were good, and the bathrooms clean, which are the important things. The restaurant is okay, and the staff are very friendly. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear John G,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are happy to hear that you had a good stay and always appreciate hearing compliments on our cleanliness. We have some plans for the near future involving our lobby and front desk area which will include a new main entrance and décor. We are constantly upgrading different areas of the hotel to provide a better quality and more comfortable stay for our valued guests.

Should your travels bring you back to the Alberni Valley we would be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
0.9 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
50.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
109 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sproat Lake Landing Resort
Sproat Lake Landing Resort
#2 of 13 in Port Alberni
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Address: 4277 Stamp Avenue, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7X8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Barclay an exceptional Port Alberni hotel on Vancouver Island, BC. Come be our guest in Port Alberni and enjoy a leisurely stay in warm, comfortable accommodations with tasteful décor. We are located 50 miles (80km) northwest of Nanaimo and is the midway point on Highway 4 to Vancouver Island’s West Coast. Situated in a valley surrounded by mountains and water, Port Alberni's beauty is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Alberni
Port Alberni Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing