We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very surprised, this hotel had the most friendly staff and clean rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    166
    37
    6
    4
See reviews for
113
120
20
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A fine mid range hotel catering to business, families and sports groups. Professional motivated staff, clean rooms, free wifi, $1 pop in the vending machines and a couple of decent meals in the pub and restaurant.

There is ample parking, excellent access and well set up rooms. Special kudos to the housekeeping folks and Tracy in the pub, for her hospitality.

Finally, a reasonable tho' small gym and for the summer, an outdoor pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeVictWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear MikeVictWW :

Thank you for your kind reponse to TripAdvisor We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and will pass along your comments to our housekeeping team and Tracy in the lounge. Our staff are always happy to hear how their actions have impacted a guests experience in our hotel. We value all of our guests comments and will always use them to improve the experiences of our future guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel the next time you are in the Alberni Valley.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a training seminar at the Barclay hotel with dinner and refreshments. Though out the training the service was impeccable there was a young lady who entered our room quite frequently to remove used plates and cups and to check to see that we had everything that was needed. I have been to many of these types of training and the lack of service was a disruption as we had to get up and ask for help. Koodos to the staff at the Barclay, keep up the great work!

Don

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonJuanComox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Don,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel. We pride ourselves on the service we provide to our guests and make a special effort to try and anticipate our guests needs. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your meeting went well. We have posted your comments for our team to read as they receive a great sense of pride in knowing their efforts have made a difference in a guests experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you are travelling through the Alberni Valley.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.c.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A pleasant stay. Clean and friendly hotel in a good location. Great restaurant with good service., Quick check-in and nice Queen-size room which was adequate for a two-day quick stay. All in all, an average Best Western-style hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed here twice but both times the room were OK. Higher rooms are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valda47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valda47,

Thank you for your kind response on tripadvisor. We Value all of our guests comments and use them to improve all of our guests experiences. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay wiith us and found our Queen bed room to be comfortable, and had an opportunity to enjoy Stamps Cafe. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel the next time you are visiting the Alberni Valley.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
0.9 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
39.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.2 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
104 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sproat Lake Landing Resort
Sproat Lake Landing Resort
#2 of 13 in Port Alberni
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Address: 4277 Stamp Avenue, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7X8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Barclay an exceptional Port Alberni hotel on Vancouver Island, BC. Come be our guest in Port Alberni and enjoy a leisurely stay in warm, comfortable accommodations with tasteful décor. We are located 50 miles (80km) northwest of Nanaimo and is the midway point on Highway 4 to Vancouver Island’s West Coast. Situated in a valley surrounded by mountains and water, Port Alberni's beauty is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Best Western, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Alberni
Port Alberni Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing