We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A pleasant stay. Clean and friendly hotel in a good location. Great restaurant with good service., Quick check-in and nice Queen-size room which was adequate for a two-day quick stay. All in all, an average Best Western-style hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed here twice but both times the room were OK. Higher rooms are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valda47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Valda47,

Thank you for your kind response on tripadvisor. We Value all of our guests comments and use them to improve all of our guests experiences. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay wiith us and found our Queen bed room to be comfortable, and had an opportunity to enjoy Stamps Cafe. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel the next time you are visiting the Alberni Valley.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 475 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room was quiet and felt save and clean. the lines were clean and overall the place was better than average. There was a mild unpleasant smell in the room that had been masked by air freshener. but we looked and found the suite to be clean so did not ask to charge rooms. The staff are friendly, although laid back and probably would have moved us it we had asked. But we did not mention it. Our room had some views. There is a nice restaurant and bar in the lobby. The lobby is bright, and somewhat grand, and fitting to meet business associates.
We ere permitted a 1 pm check out at no extra charge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyFamilyNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear HappyFamilyNow,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out this TripAdvisor guest survey, we value all of our guests comments and use these comments to improve all of our guests experiences. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and were able to enjoy our restaurant: Stamps Cafe. We were pleased to be able to extend your check-out time to 1:00pm. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel the next time you are in the Alberni Valley.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is the second time we stayed here, very friendly at reception, very clean, comfortable & reasonable rates, will be back next year for Oktoberfest in Port Alberni. Lots of coffee, tea etc., in room

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckysue28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Luckysue28,
Thank you for taking the time to fill out this Tripadvisor guest survey, we value all of our guest comments and use these comments to improve the experience of all of our guests. We were very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you enjoyed our Oktoberfest celebration in Port Alberni. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Alberni Valley in the future.
Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Barclay hotel was clean and comfortable, with friendly, quick check-in and two restaurant choices. (Both of which were fair)

The room was spacious, with a seperate sitting room in a two queen room at a good price. There was an odd incident of someone draping sheets out of heir window above us, however the staff took care of it as soon as I notified them of the shenanigans overhead.

Despite the overhead oddity, noise was kept to a minimum for our one night stay.

Beds were comfotable and linens good.

The pool looked adequate-outdoors-although it is partially visible from the restaurant and I wouldn't want to de dinner entertainment while swimming.

For drinkers, a liquor store is located in the building.

Overall, I rate this as a good experience and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Laurel S S, Thank you for taking the time to fill out this Tripadvisor response to your stay at the Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel. We value all of the comments we receive from our guests and use them to continue to improve the experiences of all of our guests. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we resolved the bed sheet incident promptly. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotel and it was nice to see it noticed. Again, thank you for taking the time to post this response. Should you be in the Port Alberni area again, we would be happy to serve you.
Best Regards,
Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here as a family of 4. Unlike the previous review, we had a very warm welcome from the reception desk staff, even showing us local attractions on a map and advising us we may see bears near the river. Outdoor pool a bit chilly but fun. Went for a meal in town and did indeed see a bear by the river, awesome! Great breakfast in the restaurant the next day, highly recommend the grilled cinnamon bun!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Morag K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Morag, Thank you for taking the time to fill out this Tripadvisor response, we value all comments from our guests so we can continue to improve their experiences at our hotel. I am glad to hear the Front Desk was able to provide you with information about the beautiful Alberni Valley and that you managed to see one of the bears across the river, it is always a remarkable sight. I hope you enjoyed many of the wonderful sights the Alberni has to offer and should you be in our area again we would be happy to serve you.
Best Regards,
Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Reception was cool and not inviting. Regardless what side of the hotel you stay in there is noisy fans running all the time. The rooms need upgrading. Bed hard, could have slept on the floor with same comfort. There may not be much choice in Port Alberni but we will look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beezee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your response to TripAdvisor. We value all comments by our guests so we can improve their experiences at our property.
Please accept my sincere apology; guest satisfaction is the goal at the Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel. This includes their comfort level and ensuring our guests get a restful sleep. Our beds along with Best Western’s signature soft and medium pillows are quite popular with our guests. If you contact me personally I will investigate the room you were staying to ensure there isn’t a problem with your bed.
During our many upgrades to our property we have installed windows and wall systems that keep the outside noises to a minimum but also gave our guests the option of a window that opens. Although we have individual guest room heating/cooling units we need the roof top units to keep our guest comfortable in the rest of our hotel.
It is always our desire to have our guests let us know if there are problems during their stay so we can have an opportunity to make their stay as comfortable as possible with no issues to cause any undue stress. It also our Front Desk Agents mission to ask, “How was your stay” and to make sure our guest's stay met their expectation level. I am sorry we did not get this opportunity to address your concerns before you left.

Best Regards,
Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were in town for hockey tryouts (made the team yay!) so this meant that we weren't sure of our checkout date. No worries they said, we'll book you in for a few days and if you need to leave sooner or stay longer we will make it work, and they did. The room was a standard two queen set up, the AC could have been a bit cooler but still kept the room comfortable. We didn't eat at the hotel as the local hockey parents/billets treated us to meals so I can't comment on that. We also didn't use the pool so can't comment on that. The room was clean, staff friendly and accommodating, parking plentiful. Lots of hot water and towels and good timing of room cleaning. I will say the internet connection was a little iffy at times, but not too bad. Good location for day trips to outward areas, as well as for going places in town. Only a few minutes to anywhere in town. ALL hotels in Port Alberni are priced quite high in my humble opinion, but you get the trusted quality of a Best Western for your $$. This is a tourist town so supply and demand in the high season I guess... We will definitely stay here again, we had a very nice stay!

Room Tip: Even if you are over the pool or parking lot, the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Brummer,
Thank you for taking the time to fill out this TripAdvisor review. I am happy to hear that the hockey team tryouts were a success, and I look forward to watching the team play this year. I was also happy that you enjoyed staying with us and found our location favourable. We have recently upgraded our High Speed Internet Access and are sure during your next visit you will notice a much faster and more stable signal.
Best Regards,
Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
0.9 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
34.5 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
116 reviews
22.7 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel

Address: 4277 Stamp Ave, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7X8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range: $96 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Barclay an exceptional Port Alberni hotel on Vancouver Island, BC. Come be our guest in Port Alberni and enjoy a leisurely stay in warm, comfortable accommodations with tasteful décor. We are located 50 miles (80km) northwest of Nanaimo and is the midway point on Highway 4 to Vancouver Island’s West Coast. Situated in a valley surrounded by mountains and water, Port Alberni's beauty is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Alberni
Port Alberni Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing