We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Barclay hotel was clean and comfortable, with friendly, quick check-in and two restaurant choices. (Both of which were fair)

The room was spacious, with a seperate sitting room in a two queen room at a good price. There was an odd incident of someone draping sheets out of heir window above us, however the staff took care of it as soon as I notified them of the shenanigans overhead.

Despite the overhead oddity, noise was kept to a minimum for our one night stay.

Beds were comfotable and linens good.

The pool looked adequate-outdoors-although it is partially visible from the restaurant and I wouldn't want to de dinner entertainment while swimming.

For drinkers, a liquor store is located in the building.

Overall, I rate this as a good experience and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Laurel S S, Thank you for taking the time to fill out this Tripadvisor response to your stay at the Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel. We value all of the comments we receive from our guests and use them to continue to improve the experiences of all of our guests. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we resolved the bed sheet incident promptly. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotel and it was nice to see it noticed. Again, thank you for taking the time to post this response. Should you be in the Port Alberni area again, we would be happy to serve you.
Best Regards,
Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    156
    35
    6
    4
See reviews for
109
113
20
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as a family of 4. Unlike the previous review, we had a very warm welcome from the reception desk staff, even showing us local attractions on a map and advising us we may see bears near the river. Outdoor pool a bit chilly but fun. Went for a meal in town and did indeed see a bear by the river, awesome! Great breakfast in the restaurant the next day, highly recommend the grilled cinnamon bun!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Morag K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Morag, Thank you for taking the time to fill out this Tripadvisor response, we value all comments from our guests so we can continue to improve their experiences at our hotel. I am glad to hear the Front Desk was able to provide you with information about the beautiful Alberni Valley and that you managed to see one of the bears across the river, it is always a remarkable sight. I hope you enjoyed many of the wonderful sights the Alberni has to offer and should you be in our area again we would be happy to serve you.
Best Regards,
Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Reception was cool and not inviting. Regardless what side of the hotel you stay in there is noisy fans running all the time. The rooms need upgrading. Bed hard, could have slept on the floor with same comfort. There may not be much choice in Port Alberni but we will look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beezee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your response to TripAdvisor. We value all comments by our guests so we can improve their experiences at our property.
Please accept my sincere apology; guest satisfaction is the goal at the Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel. This includes their comfort level and ensuring our guests get a restful sleep. Our beds along with Best Western’s signature soft and medium pillows are quite popular with our guests. If you contact me personally I will investigate the room you were staying to ensure there isn’t a problem with your bed.
During our many upgrades to our property we have installed windows and wall systems that keep the outside noises to a minimum but also gave our guests the option of a window that opens. Although we have individual guest room heating/cooling units we need the roof top units to keep our guest comfortable in the rest of our hotel.
It is always our desire to have our guests let us know if there are problems during their stay so we can have an opportunity to make their stay as comfortable as possible with no issues to cause any undue stress. It also our Front Desk Agents mission to ask, “How was your stay” and to make sure our guest's stay met their expectation level. I am sorry we did not get this opportunity to address your concerns before you left.

Best Regards,
Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were in town for hockey tryouts (made the team yay!) so this meant that we weren't sure of our checkout date. No worries they said, we'll book you in for a few days and if you need to leave sooner or stay longer we will make it work, and they did. The room was a standard two queen set up, the AC could have been a bit cooler but still kept the room comfortable. We didn't eat at the hotel as the local hockey parents/billets treated us to meals so I can't comment on that. We also didn't use the pool so can't comment on that. The room was clean, staff friendly and accommodating, parking plentiful. Lots of hot water and towels and good timing of room cleaning. I will say the internet connection was a little iffy at times, but not too bad. Good location for day trips to outward areas, as well as for going places in town. Only a few minutes to anywhere in town. ALL hotels in Port Alberni are priced quite high in my humble opinion, but you get the trusted quality of a Best Western for your $$. This is a tourist town so supply and demand in the high season I guess... We will definitely stay here again, we had a very nice stay!

Room Tip: Even if you are over the pool or parking lot, the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Brummer,
Thank you for taking the time to fill out this TripAdvisor review. I am happy to hear that the hockey team tryouts were a success, and I look forward to watching the team play this year. I was also happy that you enjoyed staying with us and found our location favourable. We have recently upgraded our High Speed Internet Access and are sure during your next visit you will notice a much faster and more stable signal.
Best Regards,
Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Old hotel with strange features. Rooms are old fashioned with big old fuzzy tv's and the hallways smell. It is in an industrial area surrounded by factories and we found out after at the museum it is in a tsunami zone. the pool is outside the bar window and the customers go to the pool to smoke which was very uncomfortable for children. we tried to complain but there was little interest so we checked out and went to a non chain owned hotel for the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceklline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your response to TripAdvisor. We value both the good and the bad comments by our guests and discuss how we can improve their experiences at our property.
Please accept my sincere apology, guest satisfaction is the goal at the Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel and we will always have that commitment to our valued guests to continually improve our product and the service that goes along with it. We are half way through our new 37” Flat Screen TV project and are currently waiting for the remainder of our order. We also have several other projects in the planning stages.
I hope the museum added that most of the lower areas of Port Alberni and the West Coast of Vancouver Island are in a Tsunami zone. The last Tsunami hit our area in 1964 and created a lot of destruction.
I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in our area and Vancouver Island experiencing some of its history and beautiful scenery. There are many small communities that were once solely dependent on industry transforming themselves into fascinating areas.
Best Regards,
Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Spent 2 nights here and was very satisfied. The front desk staff was very good and competent. The room was very clean and was pretty nice. The hi-speed internet here is vey good and fast. Ate dinner at the restaurant was was OK if you don't want to leave the hotel. You could probably do better some place else. Would deffinately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uc4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your response to TripAdvisor. We recently upgraded our H.S.I.A. to the latest standards to accommodate all devices seamlessly. I am glad that you foundit noticeably fast.
Best Regards
Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We checked in here early in September. The front desk lady was very helpful regarding setting us up with a room and planning our trip up toTofino?
Rooms were comfortable and clean and great for the price. Beds were comfortable and the restaurant was a great spot for breakfast.
We would easily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am glad that we could assist you in your activities & sightseeing in Tofino. Many of our guests use Port Alberni and our hotel as a central hub to explore not only our beautiful area but Tofino and Ucluelet. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Vancouver Island.
Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
0.9 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
39.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.2 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Address: 4277 Stamp Ave, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7X8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Barclay an exceptional Port Alberni hotel on Vancouver Island, BC. Come be our guest in Port Alberni and enjoy a leisurely stay in warm, comfortable accommodations with tasteful décor. We are located 50 miles (80km) northwest of Nanaimo and is the midway point on Highway 4 to Vancouver Island’s West Coast. Situated in a valley surrounded by mountains and water, Port Alberni's beauty is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Best Western, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Alberni
Port Alberni Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing