We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We had 2rooms on the 4 th floor. The room was reasonably clean but I felt that the service did not pay enough attention to details. There were some notes left in the room from the previous guest. Also on second day when they arranged the room they left pillows here and there on the bed- looked like they rushed out of the room in the middle of the setup. The Room did not have refrigerator or safe or microwave only a coffee machine and an older TV. We had lunch in the stamps cafe which was good but the Sunday morning buffet was extremely over priced and was even lacking basic choices. They charged extra for coffee, milk and juice. The staff were nice and friendly. We felt the hotel was OK as a 2 star or perhaps one and half, not really one you pay $140 a night for.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Fstrraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Manager at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Fstrraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out this Tripadvisor guest survey.

We at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay hotel are constantly working to improve the service and product we provide to our guests.

I can only apologize for the lack of housekeeping service you received and I have already had a meeting with the housekeeping team to discuss your concerns. We do not have fridges in every room, but we do have fridges available for a nominal fee and would gladly have delivered one to your room.

I am glad that you enjoyed your lunch in Stamps Cafe. Our Sunday Brunch is quite popular with our regular guests and local residents, so I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with the selection.

We are in the process of upgrading all of our TVs to 37" flatscreens, and to date we have received 40, and are waiting to receive the rest to finish the upgrade. We have also just finished an upgrade to our HSIA and have added several new access points throughout the hotel.

I hope that during your stay you were able to take advantage of some of the ameneties we have such as the heated swimming pool, the sauna, the whirlpool, or the fitness room.

I thank you for your feedback and hope that should you be in the Alberni Valley again you would consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 457 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

We recently stayed at the Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel while visiting the Vancouver west coast! We thought this hotel just a gem for overnight! The rooms were incredibly clean and beautifully kept. One of my pet peeves when traveling is a lot of hotel rooms are nice enough and very comfortable, however they overpower the rooms with cleaning products, rug cleaners or air freshening products. I think a room should have no smell!! This room was awesome! Our King Room on the 5th floor came with a small fridge and microwave. No in room safe. Wifi was included free everywhere in the hotel.

The Stamp Café in the hotel had good food. We had breakfast and lunch here with good service.

The Pastimes Sports Bar and Grill in the hotel has pleasant surroundings, but we couldn’t get service. After waiting and waiting to be served we eventually had to go up to the bar for drinks. The staff on seemed more interested in watching the Olympics on TV than serving. The mixed drinks were terrible. Stick to bottled beer if you stop in here! Another thing to note, the food service to the bar ends at 9pm. This isn’t very convenient for travellers. I would suggest you skip this bar entirely and head about 2 blocks further down Stamp Avenue (it turns into Gertrude Street at the light intersection) to the Dolci Vita Bar Grill & Seafood. The service and food here were absolutely excellent!! I wish we’d found the Dolci Vita the first day of our stay, not the third…lol.

An interesting thing to see while here is the Port Alberni Steam Train. Well worth the visit! The steam train stops at the Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, so you can catch it right there! It takes you up to a working steam sawmill. It’s a nice bit of history about Port Alberni! We enjoyed it!

We would recommend the hotel for sleeping. Dine elsewhere! ☺

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladywp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great friendly staff! Nice restaurant, bar and pool. Nice suite - spacious enough for 5 adults! Will definitely recommend to friends, family, and clients. Good add on with location, liquor store and harbor

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janpau845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We arrived in town quite late Friday nite on the Francis Barclay (coastal transport ship), with nowhere to stay. On check in the clerk could tell we were quite tired, so she ensured we got to our rooms quickly (forgot my BW club card which she kindly looked up while we were in the room...she left us our account # on checkout)

We stayed in a king bed and found the room clean and quiet, with every amenity we needed. We cleaned up and fell into bed...a most comfortable night on a matress worth looking for. The room also provided easy access for where to find any artilce that you may have forgotten...or where to find anything or place in the PA locality.

We could have stayed longer but we were at the end of our holiday ...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Dave S,

Let me start by thanking you for completing this Tripadvisor Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Even though you rated us highly, rest assured we will continue to improve our product and services.

We hope you enjoyed your time in the Alberni Valley and experienced some of its beauty.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. It is our goal at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel and we take great pride to bring the level of this hotel above our competitors. We will always have that commitment to our valued guests to continually improve our product and the service that goes along with it.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 800-563-6590.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

stayed here for one night in a king bed room.
Room was a good size and very clean, there was a small mini fridge in the room
We used the wired internet which was very good.
There is a Restaurant on site - but we did not use it.
most of the Best Westerns we did stay at during our trip did provide a free breakfast, which would have been handy here.
Overall a good stay

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t-m-c-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear t-m-c-m,

Let me start by thanking you for completing this Tripadvicor Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

We hope you enjoyed your time in the Alberni Valley and the expectations of our property were met.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. It is our goal at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel and we take great pride to bring the level of this hotel above our competitors. We will always have that commitment to our valued guests to continually improve our product and the service that goes along with it.

We have 40 new 37” flat screens in our guest rooms now and will be receiving the remainder shortly. Once this is completed we will be upgrading our cable to HD with more channels to select from which will include some movie channels. We have also placed an order and waiting for an installation date to upgrade our HSIA. We will be adding several new access points on each floor for better coverage and signal strength throughout the hotel.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 800-563-6590.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel is a great example of how a hotel can meet the needs of its customers and still be run efficiently. The staff were friendly and yet very professional. The rooms were clean and comfortable and allowed us to relax and enjoy our visit.
We are planning to return to the area and will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celticbuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear Celtic Buckeye,

Let me start by thanking you for completing this Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Even though you rated us highly, rest assured we will continue to improve our product and services.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

I hope if your travels ever bring you back to the Alberni Valley you will give us another opportunity to serve you. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 800-563-6590.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Best Western Hotel in Port Alberni has everything you need:

Outdoor pool, heated, seasonal, open through October, Hot tub-whirlpool, Steam room, Fitness facility featuring Apex Equipment, Stair climber, Treadmill, Stationary bikes, Foreign currency exchange, Guest laundry, Safe deposit box, Fax and copying services, Exceptional customer service, Meeting facilities, Banquet facilities, In house catering, Stamps Cafe, Rooms service, Pastimes Sports Bar & Grill, 24-hour front desk, Truck/RV parking, Free high-speed internet (the wireless was adequate for email and basic surfing, the big bonus was the wired internet which was good enough for modest gaming !!), ATM, Ice/vending machines. There is also a liquor store attached to the hotel and the are is littered with all kinds of restaurants for all tastes. This is the only hotel I will ever stay at again in Port Alberni !! Thank you Best Western !!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear Alan J,

Let me start by thanking you for completing this Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Even though you rated us highly, rest assured we will continue to improve our product and services.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

I hope if your travels ever bring you back to the Alberni Valley you will give us another opportunity to serve you. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 800-563-6590.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
0.9 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
320 reviews
50.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
39.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
31.0 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
959 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel

Address: 4277 Stamp Avenue, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7X8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range: $99 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Barclay an exceptional Port Alberni hotel on Vancouver Island, BC. Come be our guest in Port Alberni and enjoy a leisurely stay in warm, comfortable accommodations with tasteful décor. We are located 50 miles (80km) northwest of Nanaimo and is the midway point on Highway 4 to Vancouver Island’s West Coast. Situated in a valley surrounded by mountains and water, Port Alberni's beauty is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Alberni
Port Alberni Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing