We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Certificate of Excellence
Comox,British Columbia,Canada
Level Contributor
288 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“OK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

There is somewhat of a limited supply of good accomodation available in Port Alberni.This is a good BW and the rooms are clean and an average size for hotels.Not bad but not a real stellar hotel experiance .Fairly quiet for it's location,meaning they have good windows to keep the noise out.
The property has a sports bar on site that is average as is the food and a restaurant that served up a good breakfast.Large liquor store on site
The property overall is kept up well and the staff were very friendly

For the area it is a good stay

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandrockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    155
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
106
112
20
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

We had no plan to stay in Port Alberni but on the highway to Tofino we were hit by an oncoming car in our lane. Ambulances took us to the hospital where we were examined.. The medical staff recommended this Best Western, and from that point on the folks at the hotel took over and made our shaken little family warmly welcome and settled. We are so grateful to them all for their caring for us. Special thanks to Adele at the front office for the extra attention we needed.
The warm people of Port Alberni who helped us at the accident site and later at the hospital all deserve a big thank you for their kindness and caring.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thatsawrap2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
We are all glad that your family was OK after a very traumatizing accident. I am also glad that our team could help out, it makes their day knowing that they made a difference on our valued guests during a very stressful time. I will make sure that Adelle reads your comments. I hope the rest of your journey was safe. If your travels ever bring you back to the Alberni Valley we would love to see you under better circumstances.
Peter G. Mugleston Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

Second time staying at this property. The friendly staff will take care of your needs everything from check in, the restaurant and pub to your eventual check out. Plan to stay there soon.
Thanks

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken154966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

I drove to Port Alberni to attend the wedding of my grandson. He had booked all out-of-town guests at the Best Western Barclay Hotel which enabled us to gather for drinks in the evening and then enjoy delicious breakfasts and lunches together at their restaurant. We especially enjoyed the large round table which could accommodate up to ten of us. The front desk staff were welcoming and provided us with all of the information we needed to get around Port Alberni. 150 of us boarded the Port Alberni Historic Steam Train just a short walking distance from the hotel for the trip to the McLeans Mill, for the wedding in the amphi-theatre. This hotel provides excellent front desk service, excellent housekeeping, and excellent food. The beautiful outdoor pool was a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria221241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

Pillows were too high. The room and hallway too warm. In room air conditioning too loud. Room was not well clean. Found hair in bed and washroom during my stay. They only supplied 1 bottle of shampoo during my 5 days of stay. On my last day, the toilet flusher handle keep detaching. I have reflected all this in their survey and their management replied efficiently. They will look into the maintenance and housekeeping department. I might give this hotel a 2nd chance.

I will not use their swimming pool. It's very small and it is located outside the pub parted by a top to bottom big glass window. Feels like a free show case for those after certain amount of alcohol intake.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casper888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

Very friendly staff at desk, resturant and halls:)
The pillows just melt you !
Will recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RangerRoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koenigstein, Germany
Level Contributor
168 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

If you do not want to pay the high prices of Tofino, consider making Port Alberni your location to stay. Ther are still two hours on a curvy road, but hotels and restaurants are much more affordable. And the town has to offer a lot as well (e.g. a day tour on the MV Lady Rose along the fjord).
The hotel has everything you need (even a pool, a spa, a sauna, and a fitness room). Our room was spacious, clean, and well-equiped.
Front office staff was very friendly and helpful. Nearby are many restaurants to chose from (if you do not wnat to go to the one in the hotel).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Profigast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
0.9 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
50.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Address: 4277 Stamp Ave, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7X8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Barclay an exceptional Port Alberni hotel on Vancouver Island, BC. Come be our guest in Port Alberni and enjoy a leisurely stay in warm, comfortable accommodations with tasteful décor. We are located 50 miles (80km) northwest of Nanaimo and is the midway point on Highway 4 to Vancouver Island’s West Coast. Situated in a valley surrounded by mountains and water, Port Alberni's beauty is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Alberni
Port Alberni Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing