We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, good food, great location”
Review of The Pantry Restaurants - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Pantry Restaurants
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Port Alberni, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Friendly service, good food, great location”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We always eat here when we stay at the attached Poco Inn and Suites! great lunch and breakfast place with fun, friendly staff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cmnarles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very good weekend breakfast option with the best oatmeal around!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have been going to The Pantry ,for breakfast only, on weekends for quite a while now for 1 simple reason only: their Irish steel cut oatmeal. This has to be the best around. The actual place is quite small and the service I have to say is quite bad (really slooooooooow) but their breakfast options are all good and inexpensive. My two daughters (7 and 5) love going there. My wife hates it because of the poor service but she agrees that their breakfasts will counter it.

If you're someone who's looking for an economical place to have a quick breakfast to start your weekend you won't be disappointed. This is certainly NOT the place to have an after-breakfast conversation to enjoy the place but rather a "touch 'n' go" spot to eat nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank radavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“My favorites were the desserts”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The pantry its part of the PoCo inn hotel and it has a not so big menu. We tried the hamburgers, not good, the fries were soggy and cold. Also I tried the chicken quesadilla and it was good. The Cesar salad with the dressing was very good. Also we tried two different types of soup and both were good. My favorites were the desserts, the apple crumble was very good and the red velvet cake was not too bad.
The service is very good, all the people is nice and the food came out very fast

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kenys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

excellent food, service and convenient location just beside the hotel...
would go back there anytime :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VladPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Who Knew”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Who knew a regular chain restaurant could be so good. Too lazy to cook. Mid week casual dinner for two. Dropped into our local Pantry restaurant for a quick bite to eat. Wasn't really expecting much but I was very pleasantly surprised. First, our server Patty was wonderful. You couldn't find better service in a high end restaurant downtown. She was very helpful, pleasant and enjoyable and I would go back just because of her.

They had a mid week dinner deal on for 10.99 so we had that. My husband had a roast beef dinner with mashed potatoes and grilled veggies. He said it was very good. Nice quantity of shaved beef.

I had a BLT with fries. Both meals came with soup or salad and dessert. I had a very refreshing salad with mixed greens, dried cranberries and almonds and my hd had the soup. Both were very tasty. Then she brought us a little side of fresh veggies and dip to share. Nice touch.

For dessert we had apple crumble with vanilla ice cream. All that for 10.99 each. Not bad for a quick mid week dinner. Plus when she brought the bill she included a coupon for us to use the next time we come.

Overall, a very enjoyable dinner from start to finish and again the service... Excellent. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fanfare50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pantry Restaurants also viewed

Port Coquitlam, British Columbia
Port Coquitlam, British Columbia
 
Port Coquitlam, British Columbia
Port Coquitlam, British Columbia
 
Port Coquitlam, British Columbia
Port Coquitlam, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing