We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Princeton Castle Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Evergreen Motel(Princeton)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Princeton Motel(Princeton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedars Motel(Princeton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandman Inn - Princeton(Princeton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mozey-On-Inn(Coalmont)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otter Sleep Inn(Tulameen)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
28
19
16
13
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
19
16
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitthe main lodgefriendly staff and ownerpeacockswildlifetrailbbqrivercampgroundhighway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 89 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here in July on way to conference in another town. Owner on the phone is charming, in person was not so charming. Just talked about liability.

Location is excellent as it is literally 6 minutes to town. However, for price paid, not so good.

Serious neglect throughout hotel property. Disappointing to say the least. $20/hour to rent a dirty kayak? The onsite lake that somehow nobody feels comfortable swimming in. No batteries for remote. Lightbulbs out. Maid service is every three days.

Property has so much potential and would have been amazing to see in its prime. Now just seeing the tail end of the spiral that will be its inevitable end.

Room Tip: If you go, try to stay in the Rainbow lodge as you will have the entire lodge to yourself mid-week as no one else will be there!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VancouverGuy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is the first time we have really felt let down by Tripadvisor, as we had booked this based on the good reviews for this resort.

The resort was under a boil water advisory at the time we arrived. I had called the resort to make the reservation and this was never mentioned. We felt this should have been disclosed prior to our arrival. The resort had our email so there was no excuse for not letting us know this was the case.

When we arrived at 6:20pm there was no one in the office. The phone number on the door rang through to a voice mail. We eventually located another number and the owner picked up.
She had us come down to the lower cabins but referenced the wrong cabin and we ended up waiting another 10 minutes until we could locate her. Needlessly stressful.

The owner indicated her cleaning staff had called in sick but she had done her best to clean the cabin. She offered us free use of the kayaks to make up for this.

We purchased some cleaning supplies and my wife ending up spending about 45 minutes cleaning the bathroom so it would be usable. The final straw was when we went to put the kids to bed. The pillows on the upstairs bed were dirty and the bed linens were dirty and stained.

We left and found alternate accommodation for the night. On the plus side, when we checked back the next morning they agreed not to charge us and let us leave our reservation for the next night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Calgaryfamily11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy H, Guest Relations Manager at Princeton Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Princeton Castle Resort. We apologize that your experience with us was not pleasant. We strive to maintain cleanliness and this was not acceptable. New procedures have been implemented to ensure this does not happen in the future. We hope you will come visit us again and see how truly wonderful, a stay, at Princeton Castle Resort can be....Again, we apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there in August and September. Our August visit was fun for the whole family. We have a 8 year old a 2 year old and a baby. There was a play ground for the kids and the cabins/chalets were well furnished. The decor there was something different it was fun to walk around and see all the different stuff. There are lots of lakes near by to go visit and a nice little lake for swimming right on the property. I'm back for hunting and their building a meat locker for us hunters right now. We met the owner Eli and she is awesome she will go compleatly out if her way to make your visit great. Staff were awesome place was awesome. We recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swansong069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is one of the strangest 'resorts' I've ever seen. Its sheer strangeness is interesting and slightly terrifying.

We've stayed here before, and the property is now showing serious signs of neglect. The pool (which an employee initially denied that they had) is unfilled (they're not allowed to fill it, apparently). The stables are closed and overgrown. Wrought iron benches are positioned to face into the bush. The statues near the...well, I'm not even sure what the structure was meant to be...are all chipped and falling apart.

You can rent wedding dresses or medieval costumes for $10 an hour (what the heck?). The costumes are really Walmart Hallowe'en costumes, though.

The RV area was all but abandoned: the teepees uncloaked. We have pretty vivid imaginations as a group, so before you know it we were imagining that we were going to be murdered for asking too many questions... It's really that kind of place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funnygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed here based on reviews from others on trip advisor. It is not as advertised. The customer service was poor, the room was less than clean and had a bad smell. Upon arrival we were told about the various activities we could do around the property. However, the "beach" by the lake was garbage strewn and the open areas to play were rocky and uneven. For the price paid, this is not a place I will recommend or come back to.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here unless you bring your own bedding and cleaning supplies.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngCro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews