We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hill, but.... could be better”

Revelstoke Mountain Resort
Ranked #2 of 45 things to do in Revelstoke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Revelstoke Mountain Resort receives 30-45 feet of powder snow annually, covering 1,263 hectares (3,121 acres) of alpine bowls, steeps, glades, and groomers with a descent of 1,713 vertical meters (5,620 feet) - the most in North America. The Resort has two high-speed quad chairs, an eight-passenger gondola and a dedicated beginner slope with Magic Carpet conveyor lift. Cat Skiing and Heli Skiing with Selkirk Tangiers Heli Skiing are available directly from the village base. New amenities at the base of the mountain include a multi-grade beginner slope and Turtle Creek Tube Park serviced by a new Magic Carpet Lift, the Rockford Wok | Bar | Grill full service restaurant, The Mackenzie Common apres ski venue, retail and rental shops, and lift ticket and skier services. The lift-accessed Revelation Lodge features stunning views, a self-serve restaurant, espresso bar, and a deck with a barbeque.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hill, but.... could be better”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I made the trip to revelstoke with some friends to see if the hype was all it was cracked up to be, and found the hill to be quite average. The snow and was great, long runs a big alpine bowls. however it was all to get to anything or from anything your legs got burnt out not from the skiing but the long traverses. the tree lines were good at the top of the mountain but they all closed out when you got into them leaving pretty much one skied out line to follow. and as with many ski resorts the food is overpriced with bad service. however all and all it was a fantastic mountain just be prepared for long traverses and tight tree lines.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank adam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    152
    39
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Most excellent”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Loved the length of the runs and vertical metres, great for advanced skiers and boarders, not for beginners, extensive treed runs, lots of overnight grooming. Reasonable prices for lifts and rental gear.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank therudies86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Large but average ski hill”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have all heard a lot about Rey, so we made the trip to see it and ride it. It was sunny both days with 5cm fresh both mornings. Doesn't get much better. We had a great time, but we find the hill has so much traversing. My legs are tired,but mostly because of the long flat runs that bring you back from the awesomeness that's above. Seems like they wanted to ge as much vertical as possible but sacrificed the easy find your way back to the lift stuff. The mountain is so big that going from the ripper chair or the north bowl back to the stoke chair can take 10 minutes on a very flat skinny run.

The food was terrible. We tried the "fancy" Rockford grill at the very bottom for lunch. What a waste of time and money. The place was empty and it still took 15mintues for a beer to arrive. The food was ok, nothing special. Service was terrible.

The next day we decided to try the mid station lodge cafeteria. Worst food and highest prices out of all the many ski hills I have been. But the staff was nice and the lodge is also one of the nicest.

Overall I would still go back to revy, but would bring a lunch. Also I would like to ski with a local and I'm sure I could cut the traversing down a lot more.

Cheers, REVY.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Awesome snow and skiing!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is my favorite ski resort in Canada. Hands down. I have skied approx 35 different resorts all over the world and this place is worth travelling a long way for.

The reason? The snow. For some climatic reason Revy gets snow almost all the time. Bring goggles cause you will not get a lot of sunny days. There a lots and lots of bowls and tree skiing. So even when there is a storm, you can find boatloads of epic pow right there in the trees.

Its steep, its deep, its great and there are never too many people here. I would say this place is best for advanced skiers.

Get tickets online or at Costco.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Redspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“My favourite!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Lets get one thing straight...if your top priority in NOT to find great terrain, your wasting your time here.
My goal is to come here twice a year from Calgary.

Its true this resort lacks good mid mountain chalets, or even a cafeteria!...but on a day when its not too warm, this hill is hard to beat. Ive skied almost every hill in western Canada and a dozen or so in the US, and Ive never had so much fun on a powder day here. The north bowl has great hidden cliffs. I found an untouched steep chute 2 days after a dump, that says a lot. Everyone here seems to be good riders....sporting fat skis or long boards. Ive dropped my biggest cliff here. Im a regular rider in Lake Louise and there I feel like Im sooner or later going to either hurt myself, or my skis....but not in Revy....you just want to go big;)

My only complaint is...it gets too warm below the stoke chair to ski....lots of wasted terrain, but not a big deal, with the low volumes of riders here (hard to find a line up), its easy to find your own untouched line, especially if you put in the time near the north bowl.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank littlechilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Revelstoke Mountain Resort also viewed

 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Revelstoke Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing