We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic coffee”

The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Revelstoke
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed January 17, 2019

Lots of gluten free and dairy free options, including daily soup specials that are almost always GF and DF. Always busy, so you can't guarantee a seat. Although I don't drink coffee, considered one of the better places to have one. Try the Speed Balls. Amazing.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank RevyNeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kushal P, Owner at The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 401 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2018 via mobile

Had a kickstart sandwich and a cappuccino. Both were very good. Service was also good and fast. Desserts looked good, did not try any however.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Mahulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kushal P, Owner at The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Mahulu, thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2018 via mobile

This cafe may be busy but it has delicious food. I have been here many times and always leave happy. The falafel wrap is a tasty vegan option, I wish it were offered all the time. On Tuesday they have the glory bowls which are good. They make excellent soup and bread, I never regret getting them. I recommend this place.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank bluejay1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kushal P, Owner at The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

My wife, Brenda, and I were looking for a quick stop in the mid-afternoon for a caffeine jolt and chose to check out downtown Revelstoke. We stopped here last year on our way through during our annual late-season vacation. This time, the downtown was 'dressed' for a movie. In fact, there was a film crew in place and 'The Trouble With Christmas" was the feature. The Modern Coffee & Bake Shop was sort of in the middle of the action so we checked it out for something to drink. We had triple Americanos and a giant peanut butter cookie each. The bakery was incredible with easily something for everyone. The Americanos were great. We sat at the mini-bar facing the main till and people watched and had a steady flow of traffic to view. This is clearly a popular spot. Our bill was just $13.00 and was worth much more to us. Highly recommended. Thanks!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank looseink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kushal P, Owner at The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

This is a hot spot in town in a lovely downtown street setting with flowers, outdoor tables and just plain cozy and inviting! We were there at Breakfast and the restaurant/bakery was loaded with yummy selections, happy, bubbly servers and customers also happy..
who wouldn't be with the wonderful coffee and yummy selections of breakfast food and prepared lunch choices. We would go there on a regular basis if we lived there..

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kushal P, Owner at The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Marilyn, thank you so much for such kind words​. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Modern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe also viewed

Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing