We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Trip Into Town”

The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Revelstoke
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed September 23, 2016 via mobile

Downtown Revelstoke is a great stopping point on your way through the Canadian Rockies and the Modern is a very good place to stop and have lunch. Don't let the lineups out the door put you off as the service is surprisingly quick. The food is very well prepared and the cafe provides a wonderful alternative to the fast food found on the highway. Quiches, unique salads and sandwiches with thick hearty soups are offered and the best lattes for miles around. The restaurant is quite small however if it is full there are lots of benches to sit along the street and enjoy a quiet time watching people in "downtown" Revelstoke away from the busy No 1 Highway.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank dwcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 401 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile

This place has great coffee and baking. There is a good (and delicious) selection of gluten free and lactose free baking too. This is one of my favourite stops now. I will be sure to stop by every time I am in or passing by Revelstoke.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank 784janetg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2016

This is casual eating with homemade goodness. We had the soup and focaccia combo and both were delicious.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2016

Went here today and baked goods we purchased were ok. Busy, smaller cafe...but the young gal behind the counter looked right past us when we were up next for service and ignored us, chatting up someone else behind us.....ignorant service, and won't be back! Such a shame the management doesn't train their staff better!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank voohla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2016

Had a latte and wagon wheel . Got brownies to go. Wagon wheel a bit chewy for me but I'm looking forward to the other treats. Fast service at a busy time.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank m7jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe also viewed

Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing