We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun!”

The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe
Ranked #2 of 63 Restaurants in Revelstoke
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
752 reviews
393 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“fun!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

made the time to come in off the highway and so glad we did. delicious curry lentil soup, slices of meat focaccia, and a big oatmeal cookie. busy, families, happy folks. one lines up to order. and out the door a farmers market was taking place. a cool street. a happy experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    81
    18
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent lattes and home made soup”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on our way to Vancouver and it was excellent! I had a Vietnamese sub and my wife had home made potato soup and it was to die for. We each had a latte and dessert and they were equally as good. Take an extra 5 minutes and drive into the heart of town to enjoy their food. You won't be disappointed. Highly recommended!
It was so busy today you could barely get the door open to get in. The locals like it too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lingette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best coffee we have had since leaving Oz”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

There is a good reason for the queue. Great coffee, good service. Delicious veggie focaccia. Agree with other very positive reviews. A slightly different touch ... The table marker you are given after placing your order is a symbol not a number. Ours was an owl, another I noticed was a star fish.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Skip the fast food on the highway and go here for lunch!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were heading home from Kelowna and were in need of lunch. As we always seem to be at the end of a holiday, we were sick of junk and fast food, but needed a quick stop for lunch. A quick search on Trip Advisor lead us to The Modern Bakeshop & Café and we were not disappointed! We tried the soup of the day, an Italian melt, a focaccia pizza and a Panini called "Yamelicious." Everything came out quickly and was delicious! Better yet - under $25 dollars! We would have spent more at Subway for the 3 of us! On our way out we grabbed some lattes and treats to go - they were all yummy! We also grabbed a loaf of bread to take home so we would have something for breakfast the next day. It was one of the best loaves we've had! Too bad it's a 4 hour drive from home to get another one! Do yourself a favor and skip the highway's fast food offerings - Modern is only a 5 minute detour off the highway and well worth it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anjH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This bakery got such great reviews, so I think my expectations were too high! party of 6 adults visited their for drinks and snack one early afternoon.
Tea was okay - not that great tasting black tea. Coffee was mediocre (but not bad). Cookies were good - but not amazing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank webster09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe also viewed

Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing