We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly run and understaffed”
Review of Denny's

Denny's
Ranked #27 of 62 Restaurants in Revelstoke
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Badly run and understaffed”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Food not up to standard on the first night of our stay, but as we'd been given vouchers to use hoped that breakfast might be better. What a mistake. So badly organised. Despite tables being vacant they remained cluttered and the queues got longer and more angry. At one point we left and thought of going elsewhere but decided to return for our allotted slot in the queue. Breakfast took well over an hour to get ordered and eaten and definitely wasn't worth it. We spent the remaining vouchers from the motel on wine etc in the evenings in their bar. The only good place to be! Sharing the space with staff bundling up cutlery. Bar was poorly stocked so we had to keep changing our choice of tipple!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    65
    46
    23
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Poor food,bad service,terrible attitude.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Waited 20 minutes for menu, then took only 4 or 5 minutes to take order. Waited about 20 to 25 minutes for breakfast. Told pancakes were being made fresh, so would be along shortly. Cold on arrival, waitress blamed kitchen help. Poor service,terrible attitude. Won't eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“easy and reliable”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were there on a Saturday night and the place was VERY busy. The staff did a good job keeping up and keeping their cool. There were several empty tables waiting to be cleared and perhaps a staff person could be assigned to that so that customers don't have to wait so long. The food was fine, what one expects from Denny's chain. You certainly don't leave hungry after one of Denny's all day breakfasts!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Consistent. Not great. But consistent.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Understandably you can't go to Denny's and expect gourmet food. The food is good but not amazing. The restaurant was noisy and not particularly clean, but then again it was a long weekend so I expect they were being slammed. Perfect for a stop on a road trip through town. The service was again, consistent. We always had food and drinks, but the service made you feel a bit like you were on a conveyor-belt since it wasn't really very personal. Free food on your birthday though.... if that's really how you want to celebrate your birthday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SOLTATIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I always enjoy eating at Denny's and this is probably one of the better places in Revelstoke to eat. Great for families and the food is good. What impressed me the most about this Denny's is when the manager is around, he makes sure to go from table to table to check on everything. Never happens at the Denny's in my neighborhood.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank antoniod506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing