We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiss Chalet Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swiss Chalet Motel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My family and I stayed one night at this motel early Aug. 2013 while passing through Revelstoke, BC. Our room was clean, the beds were quite comfortable and the room was quiet (railroad tracks are directly across the street). However, we did find the air-conditioner noisy. WIFI and small continental breakfast were included in the price. Staff and signage around the facilities appear to bill the breakfast as a 'hot breakfast'; however, the only hot item available the morning we ate there was a make-it-yourself waffle station.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay and the motel was adequate for our family's needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch00syTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    224
    67
    5
    4
See reviews for
130
237
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

It was a long time ago, but I agree with the No Sympathy posting. I was travelling from Victoria and could not make it to Revelstoke because the conditions were getting worst...dark mountain road with hardly any cars and it started to thunder. I was with my elderly mother. I explained the situation to the man at the front desk and he barked "how am I going to rent out the room now, it's too late!" and he hung up on me. He could have suggested that I could apply the credit on my return trip back to Vancouver in a few days, but he was not interested in customer service and preferred a quick buck. To me, it was pennywise, but pound foolish. I never had such a bad experience before and never lost a deposit again, but I remember and can never recommend this place. It had been recommended to me before and that's why I chose it, but I could not pass along that recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfndine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very clean and friendly hotel with a wonderful staff. Great configuration of rooms if you are travelling with friends etc. We love the one bedroom that has 2 single beds in one room and the main area has a queen bed with a single pull out couch. - COMFORTABLE BEDS -

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurlontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We rented a room with two Queen beds. The room was very large and had a fridge and microwave. It always baffles me that these large, nice rooms, with amenities are cheaper than the cramped bed-only rooms in fancy hotels. The room was particularly clean. The included breakfast was on-par with other places I've stayed. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Not a chalet, more like the stereotypical roadside motel, but very clean, well maintained and obviously run by people who have pride in their motel. Everyone was very friendly, the location is good and easy to access, breakfast was good and the passes - and loan of towels- for the aquatic centre are priceless on a wet day with toddlers! Actually the aquatic centre is good even if it doesn't rain.

Room Tip: Family room more a suite and minimal extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S F W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I stopped in Revelstoke to sleep on our drive to Calgary from Vancouver. Although our duration at the Swiss Chalet Motel was short, our room was quite comfortable and spacious. Cleanliness could have been better but, for a motel, we were not expecting anything luxurious. There was free wifi access and complimentary breakfast, which we appreciated. The staff was also very friendly. If we ever need to stop in Revelstoke again to sleep for the night, we will definitely consider this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
294 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

While this motel is most certainly not a Swiss Chalet, it is a very nice motel. From the outside, it looks like an older budget motel that one would not expect much from. However, while the room was a bit small, ours was furnished with two queen beds, refrigerator, microwave, TV, coffee maker, and free wifi. The arrangement of our room was a little inconvenient in that the AC unit was located in a small hallway outside the bath room. The door to the bath would not stay open and would get warm unless propped open, and then the door blocked the flow of air from the AC unit. Not a big deal since propping the door open about half way was a somewhat satisfactory compromise. Parking is available in front of most rooms with your room # painted on the space – adequate if you don't have a big car. There was a surprisingly good complementary breakfast provided in the area around the lobby, and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The location is a pleasant 15 or 20 minute walk from downtown but is on the main street right across from the RR tracks. While there were occasional loud trains in the early evening and a few in the morning, they were not loud enough to bother us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NationalParkHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
2.0 mi away
The Coast Hillcrest Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#5 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
#2 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
#7 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Revelstoke Lodge
Revelstoke Lodge
#8 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glacier House Resort
Glacier House Resort
#10 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Motel

Property: Swiss Chalet Motel
Address: 1101 Victoria Rd West, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Revelstoke
#4 Business Hotel in Revelstoke
#4 Romantic Hotel in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss Chalet Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you come to Revelstoke, British Columbia, for the powder in winter or the hiking or mountain biking in summer to name a few you will find the Swiss Chalet Motel is in a prime location. The nightlife, restaurants and shops in the historic downtown area are only a short walk away. The motel caters to those on a budget with standard one and two queen rooms, for those travelling in a large group the two-bedroom rooms are perfect and for those who want that something extra special will appreciate the specialty suites which have a king-size bed and one room featuring a 2 person jacuzzi tub. The Swiss Chalet Motel gives you more for your money with our free 'great start' breakfast including Belgium Waffles and more, high-speed wireless Internet and Revelstoke Aquatic / Fitness Centre passes. It’s no wonder why the Swiss Chalet Motel is rated one of the top motels in Revelstoke due to the great value, clean rooms and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Swiss Chalet Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel Revelstoke
Swiss Chalet Revelstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing