We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need for us to try anywhere else”
Review of Swiss Chalet Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swiss Chalet Motel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Revelstoke
Certificate of Excellence
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No need for us to try anywhere else”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked online months in advance to get the one room that suited us. Actually it is two rooms connected by a small hallway. The first room has a queen sized bed and a hide-a-bed and the other room has two single beds allowing sleeping for up to six people.

The staff is very professional and friendly. The rooms were very clean and modern and the breakfast selection was good. The price was the best in town for what we got and the free aquatic centre pass was a bonus along with the second flat screened tv in our unit.

My negatives are small: some channels had no volume, the rooms were smaller than we envisioned, the sink plug wasn't connected properly making filling the sink a manual task and the bed wasn't the newest giving me a sore back but my back is very sensitive.

If we were to travel and stay anywhere in the area again, this would be the place.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, take a room furthest from the railroad tracks or another hotel that isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    232
    69
    6
    4
See reviews for
132
242
36
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powell River BC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I were on a road trip and stumbled upon this gem. We checked it out from the roadside using our phone. We checked trip advisor and then went in to book a room. The woman on the desk was very helpful. She had one room left at the low rate, she pointed out that it was at the end of the building next to the road and that the train tracks were right there as well, so if we were light sleepers this room may not be for us. We were thankful for her honesty. We are not light sleepers so all was good. When we entered the room we were pleasantly surprised. The room was so clean that we felt we were the first to ever be in it. It was a compact room with the essentials. A comfy bed, comfy pillows, a small table and 2 chairs, coffee maker, 1 bedside table (no room for a 2nd). The flat screen tv was mounted on the wall. There was a simple bar to hang clothing. There was no dresser, being we were on a road trip this was not an issue. Free wifi, continental breakfast including hot fresh waffles was available in a nice breakfast room. As with many of the hotels in Revelstoke they supply you with a pass to the local pool, a nice touch. We asked for a restaurant recommendation and she made several. There are several choices close by. We have enjoyed many a meal at Zala's steak and pizza house and the food and atmosphere there is great. This trip we chose The Nomad. It is within walking distance of the hotel, about 2-3 blocks. You place your order and then choose a table and they serve it to you. They have fresh prepared food choices. They were very busy with many local people coming and going. To us this is a good sign.

Room Tip: If you need a larger room ask about the size. We could have saved 5% by booking online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craftymom57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed at the Swiss Motel on the way to Calgary. Clean with friendly staff and did not encounter any problems. Room (1 queen) was smaller than we expected so would probably upgrade to a 2 Queen next time. Small tv but was a good stopover. Breakfast was good with a decent selection of cereals, muffins, bread etc as well as waffles/porridge.

Rate was reasonable (under $80) and we'd stop here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davvos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were very nicely surprised at how modern and comfortable this 'motel' is. The room and bathroom were better quality than some higher end hotels I've stayed in. Renovated very recently, at least our room (115). Two queens, comfy mattresses. Near train tracks but I slept right brought them passing by. I asked where to eat, Village Idiot was recommended. Fun place, good food, very reasonable prices. Appreciated that recommendation. Someone posted that they thought it odd reception desk is in eating room. So what, I say.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calgaryjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend did a weekend BC road trip and this hotel was the best choice of the whole trip. They give you free passes to the aquatic center in town and they have maps with all the restaurants and town activitys. Complementary breakfast the next morning with cereals, waffles and eggs. And all at such an affordable price. We couldn't get over how soft the bed sheets were and how sound proof everything seemed. The only thing I heard all night was the neighbors shower turn on.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeelixtheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I travelled with my partner to revelstoke in early April to ski at revelstoke mountain.
When pulling in to revelstoke we were a little bit worried as their seemed to be quite a lot of run down horrible looking hotels, so when we pulled in to the Swiss chalet we were very pleasantly surprised by its well kept exterior.

Entered the reception which also doubles as the breakfast area and was greeted with a smile.
We had one of the rooms upstairs, it was beautiful - so spacious and comfy. The bed was huge ! The fireplace was a nice touch also.

The sheets and blankets were perfect. We also enjoyed the air conditioning provided.
Breakfast was fun with the waffle machines and there was a very homely atmosphere... We met some really lovely people at brekky.

Overall, rooms were super clean and comfy, can't say what the rooms down stairs would be like but I would ask for the king suite upstairs otherwise I'm sure we may have had a different experience. Windows were noisy upon opening , but can't say I really noticed the noise from the trains in the tracks across the road. Would have enjoyed a bigger shower and the lock on our door was broken.

Just a short walk to the town centre.

I would like to make a suggestion that I am unsure the breakfast and reception areas should be in the same place, I would feel uncomfortable checking in with people eating half a metre away from me and did feel uncomfortable with this upon checking out.

Lovely staff though! If you cannot afford to stay at the ski resorts at the bottom if the chalet but are still looking for something very comfortable don't go past this hotel !

Room Tip: Ask for the king suite upstairs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellert292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Spent 3 nights here on a ski vacation. Room was nice. Housekeeping was great. The breakfast was VERY good (strawberry of regular waffles, 4 different cereals, oatmeal, toast, english muffins, apple and orange juice, hard boiled eggs, apples and oranges, muffins) and was available 7-10. Staff really friendly, and allowed us to use the propane bbq in the centre courtyard. Easy walk downtown. No complaints about this motel. ALSO, free passes to the Revelstoke Aquatic Centre, which we used everyday (pool, waterslide, steam room, dry sauna, kids area) locker tokens just .75 cents. Free shuttle to ski hill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edmund M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#5 of 19 in Revelstoke
237 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Coast Hillcrest Resort Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
#2 of 19 in Revelstoke
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
#8 of 19 in Revelstoke
511 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glacier House Resort
Glacier House Resort
#11 of 19 in Revelstoke
160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 19 in Revelstoke
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Motel

Property: Swiss Chalet Motel
Address: 1101 Victoria Rd West, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Revelstoke
#4 Family Hotel in Revelstoke
#4 Business Hotel in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss Chalet Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you come to Revelstoke, British Columbia, for the powder in winter or the hiking or mountain biking in summer to name a few you will find the Swiss Chalet Motel is in a prime location. The nightlife, restaurants and shops in the historic downtown area are only a short walk away. The motel caters to those on a budget with standard one and two queen rooms, for those travelling in a large group the two-bedroom rooms are perfect and for those who want that something extra special will appreciate the specialty suites which have a king-size bed and one room featuring a 2 person jacuzzi tub. The Swiss Chalet Motel gives you more for your money with our free 'great start' breakfast including Belgium Waffles and more, high-speed wireless Internet and Revelstoke Aquatic / Fitness Centre passes. It’s no wonder why the Swiss Chalet Motel is rated one of the top motels in Revelstoke due to the great value, clean rooms and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swiss Chalet Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel Revelstoke
Swiss Chalet Revelstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing