We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a lot to see, besides the cabbage”

Skunk Cabbage Boardwalk
Ranked #12 of 46 things to do in Revelstoke
Attraction details
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not a lot to see, besides the cabbage”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Combination of trail and boardwalk through some marshy areas where the skunk cabbage grows. When we visited there was a sign warning us that the trail is closed between 5 am and 10 am to allow bears to feed on the skunk cabbage blooms. We were there around lunch time and did not encounter any bears. There are picnic areas next to the parking lot and I cooled off by playing in the stream that runs under the bridge at the start of the trail. Cold, cold water on a hot, hot day was so nice.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank winnipegkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    38
    25
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kessel-Lo
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is a nice and relaxing walk through a very special type of environment, with a boardwalk that lets you go into the wettest parts. Liked it a lot.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RickKessel_Lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Just missed the bears!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

En route to Salmon Arm, we took the opportunity to stop and walk around the skunk cabbages. There was a sign at the start of the walk to say that the walk had been closed only 2 hours earlier due to bears bring in the area - apparently they love the skunk cabbage flowers/fruit and visit the area quite often. So what would have been a gentle walk, taking perhaps 30 mins, with stopping and admiring the flora, turned into a nervy gallop around the boardwalk with all sorts of chat and singing going on - we were not sure what puts bears off, but we were sure they would have at least covered their ears from the din we were making! Although we welcome every chance to see bears, we prefer it to be from the safety of the car!!! Notwithstanding our lack of backbone, the walk (or trot in our case) was well worth it just to see the unique flora.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank familytravel4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Interesting Plants - Large Mosquitoes”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This trail winds through wetlands and lets you view many different types of plants close-up. The unusual skunk cabbage plants were really quite fascinating and there were some gigantic black slugs that were interesting to look at. However, it was hard to enjoy the entire boardwalk due to the many large mosquitoes that kept attacking us. One helpful hint I would give is to be sure and apply bug spray before setting out. The day we were there bears had been spotted in the area as well, so when walking through, make lots of noise and/or take bear spray along.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Short walk, pretty place! Very different foliage.”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a pretty little place to stop and do a short walk in an interesting microclimate. The foliage (and even slugs) in here are really different. Interesting! It is a 1.2km boardwalk in a marsh area.
We quite enjoyed it. We spent maybe a bit less than an hour here. There are washroom facilities.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank J_travelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skunk Cabbage Boardwalk also viewed

Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Skunk Cabbage Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing