We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware of the tour busses”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coast Hillcrest Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Revelstoke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in June 2007. We were given a room overlooking the car park as the rooms on the other (quieter ) side of the hotel were fully booked. We were woken at 7am the following morning by a tour bus right outside our window which left its engine running for 45 minutes filling our room with diesel fumes (we had left the window open).
We complained to several staff members at reception, each promising that it would not happen again. It was exactly the same for the next 2 mornings. This hotel knows that this happens, the staff will promise you anything and then it gets forgotten. I think that they are frightened of upsetting the tour busses because they provide a large slice of their business. Also, most of the other guests staying on that side of the hotel are tour bus guests so are not affected.
The rest of the hotel is OK, but my advice is that if the only availability is a room on the car park side of the hotel, WALK AWAY.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ELMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

827 - 833 of 921 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2007

We stayed 3 nights at the Hillcrest. The room was large and the bed comfortable. All the usual provided, fridge, TV, coffee machine, room safe. Great mountain views. Try to get a room with a balcony.
The hotel is situated about 5km drive outside Revelstoke so a car is necessary. Well away from the Trans Canada Highway and the railway and very quiet.
Meals are very good. Breakfast was self help buffet on our first day but a la carte the other days. No explanation why. Evening meals in the resturaunt were excellent and not overpriced. Service was quick and cheerfull.

Very nice hotel with great mountain views.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights while exploring Revelstoke and Glacier National Parks. Awesome hotel and exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. We had a room over looking the valley with a porch. Very clean
& comfortable room. The food in the restaurant was the best I had the 2 weeks I was traveling through the Rockies. The vegetable lasanga was excellent!!

Peaceful and relaxing location. Would stay here again without hesitation. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2007

We travelled for a month in Canada, my wife and I and two children (12) and (9).

The Hillcrest is located slightly outside of Revelstoke itself, styling itself more as a resort property with larger grounds etc, than some of the other downtown properties.

The room was fine, facilities in the hotel and amenities in the room were modern and well appointed.

Would we stay there again? Yes, for an overnight, but for longer, maybe downtown.

Stayed: December 2006
Thank KiwiCanuckNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

Our party of four recently booked a night at the hillcrest hotel after reading the excellent reviews here. We were not disappointed! Upon arrival, we requested and were immediately provided with adjoining rooms, (which happened to be upgraded rooms) at no charge. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. We chose the "bed and breakfast" package through Expedia, which provided a full breakfast for a minimal upcharge. We highly recommend the hillcrest hotel and would stay there again in a minute!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pixiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2005

Revelstoke is a very small town. The coast hillcrest is 10 minutes drive out of town, which is nice as you are surrounded by trees but means walking into town may take a while. The hotel is clean, with ample free parking and the rooms were lovely. We ate in the bar for the 1 evening we stayed, and the food was really good, and very reasonable. My fiance liked the beer too! Good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Liz&Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2005

Stayed in this hotel for two nights while we explored Revelstoke National Park and mountain. Situated just outside the town with spectacular views over the surrounding countryside, this is a very good hotel. Our room was clean and spacious, with a balcony. The first evening was cool and wet so we had dinner in the restaurant. It was hard to imagine eating on the windswept terrace, but the following evening was warm and dry and dinner on the terrace was most enjoyable.
If you have time, visit the Railway Museum in Revelstoke, fascinating for everyone from children to pensioners. The town's museum is also very interesting.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lily_schultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
#1 of 20 in Revelstoke
891 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Revelstoke
Ramada Revelstoke
#8 of 20 in Revelstoke
88 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Explorers Society Hotel
The Explorers Society Hotel
#3 of 20 in Revelstoke
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 20 in Revelstoke
361 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#7 of 20 in Revelstoke
265 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glacier House Resort
Glacier House Resort
#10 of 20 in Revelstoke
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Hillcrest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Hillcrest Hotel

Address: 2100 Oak Drive, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Revelstoke
#3 Family Hotel in Revelstoke
#3 Romantic Hotel in Revelstoke
Price Range: $156 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Hillcrest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coast Hillcrest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coast Hillcrest Hotel Revelstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing