We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even on a cold blustery day fun for a young family”

Meadows in the Sky Parkway
Ranked #6 of 45 things to do in Revelstoke
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Even on a cold blustery day fun for a young family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We took our little girls here shortly before lunch and really enjoyed the drive up the road and had a picnic in the provided area. Despite how much rain was falling and my lack of appropriate clothing we spent several hours hiking around on the various shorter trails. The trails were safe despite being wet and me lugging a 3 year old and a backpack (both helped keep me dry as they were more appropriately covered).

The views from many vantages were amazing and we were lucky enough to catch a rainbow due to the rain right at the ice box which was a lucky surprise.

The shuttle service was a nice touch as the weather did eventually wear down my girls sense of adventure. The driver of the shuttle and all of the employees we interacted with were very pleasant to deal with.

And the facilities that were there, although meager, were some of the best I've encountered in many off the beaten path destinations without full sewer, power.

This is really a seasonal destination as the snow doesn't typically recede until July but its definitely worth taking the time to see. I'd wanted to view it since I was a child and really enjoyed the experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oooter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    58
    23
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blind Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Finally made the trip - will be back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

After years of driving through Revelstoke and wondering what the Meadows In The Sky Parkway was like, I decided this was the summer to visit. With the short snow-free season, we managed to finally visit near the end of August. If you want to catch the meadows in bloom you need to be here in late July or early August. Based on what remained of the wildflower blooms in the subalpine meadows and the small patches still in prime bloom on the way up to Jade Pass, this park offers a fantastic opportunity to experience the beautiful vistas available in the Columbia Mountains with a rare opportunity to drive right up into the sub-alpine areas typically only accessible following a very long hike or rough 4x4 logging road adventure, or expensive trip up a gondola or chairlift at a ski resort.

We hiked to Eva Lake and then onto Jade Pass. The map guide and advice given by the fellow at the park gate was spot-on and much appreciated.

Trails are well maintained, and offer ample opportunities for incredible views. Hiking in this area of Mount Revelstoke National Park will stand up to any hike in the more popular Rocky Mountain parks. For visitors doing the Calgary to Vancouver trip, think about taking an extra day and stopping in Revelstoke to take in this park, and also the great mountain recreation town of Revelstoke which still shows it's railway history well, but now has a new revitalized 4 season resort vibe that is laid back but full of energy at the same time without the sometimes manic pace and crowds you will find in places like Banff or Whistler.

When driving the MITS Pkwy do take your time as there are no shoulders on the road, and give way to the incredible people who ride this climb on their bikes. Parking is limited at the top so if you have a the opportunity carpool. Take your time, as there are some great viewpoint stops on the way to the top too.

Bring water and food as there are no services at the top of the parkway aside from well-maintained pit-toilet outhouses (don't worry - they are looked after).

While we did not see any bears on this trip, be bear-aware as this is prime bear territory and both blacks and grizzlies live here. We did see lots of birds, a few pikas, and a couple of marmots along the hike so take your time - be quite sometimes and listen for nature.

The trails around Balsam Lake and the Fire Tower are pretty easy and offer great short walks for almost anyone who does not have a major mobility problem. The hike to Eva or Miller Lakes is a good mix of ups and downs on well maintained trails - with great vistas along the way and good reward at the end. The hike to Jade Pass is more of a challenge and is a bit loose and exposed at some places but well worth the trip if you are up for it. Be prepared for any weather - it can change quickly up here.

We will definitely be back to repeat the trails we hiked, but also check out more of the shorter trails near Balsam Lake and the Summit area.

You can see alot in 2 or 3 hours but plan a full day to really get feel for all there is to see here. Backpacking into the backcountry campsites offers a great way to immerse yourself in this beauty if you have the spirit, energy, and time. Bear-proof food lockers are provided at the campsites.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TRL73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An enchanting heaven, not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

A lovely drive up the mountain to reach the top and then a 20 minute walk along the trail to reach the meadows. They are quite outstanding and an amazing achievement for the original designers tasked with providing Queen Victoria with a good memories of Canada - they succeeded. Don't forget your camera for the magical shots and keep a good eye out for Bears on the way down.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Family W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Time of year was wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This really was a wonderful way to spend the morning. After enviously passing a few cyclists going up the mountain we enjoyed a leisurely walk up to the top (from the carpark). Wildflowers everywhere and the loop had great views as well as information charts along the way.

Plenty of photo opportunities and the walking is family friendly. Those bugs those would rival anything we have in an Australian summer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Slowwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive with reward at the top!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

26 km drive up the mountain on a well paved, wide road - a number of switchbacks, but nothing scary. You stop at the park gates, purchase a pass (or use your national park pass), grab a map and on you go!
There are number of great viewpoints/stops up the road - and a few are definitely worthy of stopping at.
Once at the top, parking can be busy - so be patient, or park down the road. You can then hike the 1km to the top (not rigourous and about 1/2 hr) or there is a handy free shuttle provided by Parks Canada that runs about every 15-20 minutes.
Once at the top - again there are a number of hikes and short walks that you can do, that are all well mapped out and easy to navigate.
Couple of easy ones are the Fire Tower and the one with the first nations art along the way (can't remember the name!). Some amazing views, and the wildflowers were in full bloom over the long weekend.
There are a number of tour buses that come up, so best to avoid that time! We went up about 2 and stayed to about 6 - doing three short hikes and walks.
The flies were horrendous - mosquitoes were okay! Wear long sleeves.
Take the shuttle back down to your vehicle, or again walk down.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank webster09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meadows in the Sky Parkway also viewed

Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Meadows in the Sky Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing