We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, good rate, awesome pool design” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandman Hotel Revelstoke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Revelstoke
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great hotel, good rate, awesome pool design”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Hi, Needed a bed to crash and called the Sandman Inn. I stopped at revelstoke and they had this massive hotel with lots of buildings, so they gave me a map and I dound my way pretty quick. Room was descent as I expected. My son is a swimming fish, so we headed over to the pool... it was one of the nicest designed pools I have seen. Not a lap pool, but tempeture was great, it was dog legged shape and long enough for you to swim back and forth and get a good workout and relax. Some rooms connected directly. We didn't get one of those, but my room was less than one minute. What a neat place. well located. The lady at the front desk informed me of the town events... music until 9:30 pm... I appreciate it her diligence. I was too tired since I had been driving for over 7 hours.
Hotel seems well run. Very efficient. Staff at front desk were efficient and check out took less than a minute. Express check out was offered, same as wiFi. I love when hotels simply offer things most people need, s once you check in, you don't need to call back over and over. I find Sandman Inns, very consistent this way. Their service is good and the rooms are nice. Not luxury, but good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    92
    80
    45
    25
See reviews for
84
83
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

During a long drive home we decided to spend the night in Revelstoke to break up the drive. The lobby is beautiful and the pool area is nice. Unfortunately there was the distinct odor of urine in our room and even though we had the housekeepers spray some air freshener in the area we thought it was coming from, it was still strong.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaG1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

No complaints at all about this hotel. Room was great, beds comfortable and services as to be expected. The swimming pool was also fantastic and one of the warmest we have found. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

We put up at this hotel for a night on our long road trip to Vancouver. The staff was friendly and professional. The room was clean and the decor was what you would expect from a 3-4 star hotel. There was also a kitchenette (with microwave, plates, utensils). Everything was working. There were TWO indoor pools with a decent-sized fitness center. There was also a 24-hour Denny's next door. It is right off Highway-1 so the location was convenient. The rooms were arranged in a motel-style (i.e. two-story blocks). Obviously we could hear people talking when they were walking outside the room etc but hey, my advice is always put on a pair of ear plus when you sleep at any hotel and it will be alright! Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ak970097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

Stopped in on a cross-country trip from Vancouver to Winnipeg. Not a bad place, I was surprised to find out that it was actually a Motel but that didn't bother me too much. The room was clean, LCD TV and the mattress was amazing. The location was perfect for me, right on the highway with a McDonald's and Tim Horton's and Shell gas station right across the street. There was a all-in-one kitchen device in my room. Gives you a kitchen sink, two burners and a fridge which is really convenient for longer stays as you could cook for yourself. It is a two building complex (I think that a hotel went out of business and they bought the other building). Each with there own pool and sauna that I did not get the time to try out. Rooms were well soundproofed. Lady at the front desk was pleasant and very helpful. The 24-hour Denny's on location is nice and they have room service at certain hours. Free High Speed internet reached my room well and had amazing speed to what I am use to getting from Hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a drive up room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klinkaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

We visited Revelstoke as the last section of our skiing trip arriving by Greyhound Bus from Kamloops.

The Sandman is an enormous establishment that looks like it was probably built in the 80's. It has been set up pretty much with drivers in mind so if you don't have a vehicle I would recommend staying somewhere else closer to town. There is a shuttle that takes you to Revelstoke Resort - the last one leaving in the morning at about 9.40am and you can get one back from 2pm til 4. This service is free at present but we heard that there will be a charge next year, covered by your ski lift pass.

The staff are reasonably detached though some are quite friendly. Not much information is offered; you need to ask. There is free wi-fi and 2 internet computers in the main lobby downstairs. There are several heated pools which seemed to be well utilised. The hotel, for its enormous size is reasonably quiet, the heating system very effective and if you get too hot you can open up windows.

The hotel wasn't built with skiers/boarders in mind and equipment has to be stored in your room.

Rooms are reasonably spacious and look like they have been given a bit of a spruce up to cater for the winter sport market in recent times but it is not enough. They lack atmosphere and are not very welcoming.

Definitely, do not stay here if you don't have car. Look at Trip Adviser and make a selection closer to town. I wouldn't recommend staying on the mountain either if you are without a vehicle as you are pretty much stranded up there with limited facilities. Do your homework, find a good hotel in the heart of the town and take the shuttle up each day and if you want a break from skiing, there are plenty of charming restaurants and cafes to enjoy!

Also, for ski/board hire I recommend Aaron at Powder Rentals. If you book 3 days out you get a 20% discount. I had to return my skis earlier and he would have given me a total refund - no questions asked. Excellent service and lots to choose from on the "powder" front.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarflungEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

Basic, but spacious rooms. The rooms are clean, but are in need for some renovation. We had a room in an adjacent building, with a nice indoor-swimming pool. The wireless internet wasn’t always working. The Denny’s restaurant situated in the same building was great.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene_v_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
#2 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Coast Hillcrest Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
#7 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#5 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.7 mi away
Glacier House Resort
Glacier House Resort
#10 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.0 mi away
Powder Springs Inn
Powder Springs Inn
#14 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Revelstoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Revelstoke

Property: Sandman Hotel Revelstoke
Address: 1901 Laforme Blvd | PO Box 2329, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandman Hotel Revelstoke 2*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the Monashee and Selkirk Mountain ranges, halfway between Vancouver, BC and Calgary, AB, Sandman Hotel Revelstoke is situated off Trans-Canada Highway. Hailed as "the original mountain town", there are endless options of recreational activities such as skiing, heli-skiing, hiking, camping, and much, much more. Also catering to the business traveler, Sandman Hotel Revelstoke has all the modern essentials such as free Wi-Fi, a business centre, and meeting facilities, making this Sandman the perfect choice when traveling on vacation or a short stopover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sandman Hotel Revelstoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn Revelstoke Hotel Revelstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing