We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bar Food, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Village Idiot

The Village Idiot
Ranked #3 of 62 Restaurants in Revelstoke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: It is extensively reviewed at http://www.yelp.ca/biz/the-village-idiot-revelstoke
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Bar Food, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

When we were skiing at RMR we stopped here on multiple nights we liked it so much. The food is bar food, but it's IMO great bar food. The nachos are well done, fish tacos are especially tasty (great sauce) and the pizza is as good as they stay. The crust especially is great. More than that though, it's just a great place to hang out. They always have hockey/ski videos playing on the TVs and there's just a great vibe to the place. The bartenders are great dudes. My only advice might be to go for mixed drinks instead of the local beers, they're not bad, just somewhat mediocre by US craft beer standards.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TigerTripReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    327
    70
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
124 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth a visit (for pizza)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

this is a good bar and def a popular hangout. the pizza is as good as people claim, especially considering the options in the area. also the steak sandwich is killer and will nourish your soul after a day of HARD SHREDDING

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We were looking for a restaurant with a few different choices after a day of skiing, and I'm glad we checked out Tripadvisor first, as it led us to the Village Idiot. I had the stroganoff with beef and it was wonderful, and my husband had the pulled pork sandwich, both with locally made beer on tap. The decor is interesting, the service excellent, and we highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lacombe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very good Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

English:
After a hard day of snowboarding, The Village Idiot is an exellent place to end the evening. We received exellent service, Double chocolate stout is exellent, the lambs chops and ribs full rack are exellent too. The atmosphere of the place is very nice and pleasant. It may there's room so get there early or book before landing (Otherwise you will remain standing or eat in the door).

French:
Après une dure journée de snowboard, The village idiot est un exellent endroit pour terminer la soirée. Nous avons reçu en exellent service, la stout double chocolat est exellente, les lambs chops et les ribs full rack sont exellente. L'atmosphere de la place est très belle et agréable. Il y'a peut de place donc arriver tôt ou réserver avant de débarquer.(Sinon vous resterez debout ou mangerez dans la porte).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davlar_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
500 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Fun and funky!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We had a great meal here. The ambience is warm and fun. The wait staff are friendly and helpful. We had the fish tacos which were delish and the veggie burger....with really nice fries. Reasonably priced and a great feel after a day on the slopes. Nice cold beer too! Love the ski seats.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Idiot also viewed

Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Village Idiot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing