We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view from the dam crest”

Revelstoke Dam Visitor Centre
Ranked #7 of 46 things to do in Revelstoke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Revelstoke Dam Visitor Centre is open from May 20 to Septembe 4 for the 2017 season. We offer guided and self-guided tours seven days a week from 10 a.m. - 4 p.m. The Revelstoke Dam Visitor Centre offers a wide range of exhibits and activities for all ages. Come enjoy our interactive displays, First Nations gallery, theatre and gift shop. Learn how the Revelstoke project was built, how water is turned into energy, and don't miss out on an elevator ride to the lookout located atop the massive, 175-metre high concrete dam. The facility is fully wheelchair accessible, incorporating wheelchair ramps, elevators and wheelchair-accessible toilets.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
785 reviews
177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,842 helpful votes
“Amazing view from the dam crest”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We came late and had only 45 minutes before closure of the dam visitor centre. The officials did show us a shortcut to the elevator which brought us high up to the dam crest. We found an amazing view into the mountains as well as into the depth of the powerhouse. Our daughter enjoyed the various electrical experiments she could perform afterwards in the visitors centre.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank FrankGeisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    74
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerland, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really interesting”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Lots of interesting displays. Also a dam display where kids can build there own dam. The staff was very friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommabeetle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We enjoyed the time we spent at the dam. Lots to see and learn, we especially enjoyed the hands-on exhibits and that was great for all ages! Loved the little beaver house!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marmylade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
699 reviews
335 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Everyone Should See This”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is an interesting place. It's perfect for a family with children. The displays are well done but the ride to the top of the dam and the lookout is amazing. There is a very good movie that explains how the final turbine was built in Brazil and transported to Canada and constructed in 2010. We have visited other dams and found this one to be fascinating and we'll worth the visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Must See”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we visited the centre. If you want to learn about the history of the dam and Columbia River then it's a must see. We spent an hour there but could have stayed longer if we arrived a little sooner since the centre closes at 4. The highlight is taking the elevator to the top of the dam.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bcarney07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Revelstoke Dam Visitor Centre also viewed

Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Revelstoke Dam Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing