We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home Away From Home in a Sledders Paradise!”
other travelers have booked this property
Base Camp Guest House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Base Camp Guest House
Base Camp Guest House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Base Camp Guest House
Base Camp Guest House
One of 2 Gear Drying Rooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jonathon...
Tumbler Ridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away From Home in a Sledders Paradise!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

BCGH is like a home away from home, except better, because I can't ride right from my house and be at 6000 feet and up to my armpits in powder in 20 minutes. There's a trail head for Boulder just a couple hundred meters from the front door! The trail is less used than the main trail from boulder parking lot but it is groomed so bring your $20 bux or whatever it is for your trail pass.
The house is just outside of Revy which is nice (5k to the center of town) because you don't have to load your sleds at the end of the day or in the morning if you're planning on riding Boulder Mountain, just lock 'em up in the front yard. Many of Revelstokes' other riding areas are a just a quick truck ride away, but boulder has an amazing amount of rideable area so you don't really need to go anywhere else if you don't want too (TIP: There's tons of tree riding to be had right around Boulder cabin and when we were there in early December, it was foggy up top, and the cabin was packed with open area riding sissys who didn't want to ride the trees which were fog free and DEEP! HA!) (TIP #2 DO NOT GO ANYWHERE NEAR HELICOPTER VALLEY.) If you are headed in to town after riding avoid taking your own vehicle as it's a quick and cheap cab ride in and out of town, especially if you're headed in to town to have a few drinks or dinner. But there's no need to go anywhere if you don't want to. Bring your own food to the house and cook up your own meals to save a few bucks (the kitchen is well equipped) or head across the street to peaks for breakfast or a cold one. There's another restaurant right across the highway, Great Northern something or another and if, (but hopefully you never do..) total your sled while you're down there, there are a couple of places right close which rent sleds for a pretty decent price. AND... to top it all off, EMO's pizza (which was fan freakin' fantastic) delivers right to your front door!
Out front of the house is a big driveway which will accommodate two big truck trailer combos and then there's a bit more parking on the street out front. If you need a little extra parking room, talk to Christiane, the owner, and she'll help set you up.
Now the house itself is big and spacious. It's big upstairs and has an open concept kinda living room, kitchen, and dining room which is great for getting together with your group after a long day of riding and building up a meal and watching your GoPro vids and pictures recorded earlier that day on the big 52" flat screen! There's a bar/island right in the middle of the room with stools which is nice to hang out at and bug whoever is cooking in the kitchen and the couches in the living room are super comfy too. The deck out the back is cool and that's where the upstairs hot tub and BBQ are located. The beds in the house are all pretty nice and have plush duvets and nice clean white sheets and pillows. The house comes with fresh towel service too which is sweet. (If you're the first ones in your party to show up make sure you stake claim on the master suite, that way you get your own bathroom and private room!)
Downstairs is set up pretty well too but we found that we didn't spend too much time down there as we were all hanging out upstairs. I should add that they rent the suites separately but as our group was around 9 guys we had the whole house rented. But if you're looking to break away from the group and chill or go to bed early the downstairs suite is a perfect place for it. It's quiet and you can barely hear what's going on upstairs even when it's pretty loud up there. Relax on the couch and watch a movie on the 42" or just chill out while everyone else is carousing upstairs. The downstairs beds are set up just the same as the upstairs beds. There's also another hot tub for the downstairs suite which is a little more secluded and tucked away than the upper deck hot tub. Now there's one other really nice feature downstairs, the gear drying room. It wont be the freshest smelling place in the morning, but at least all your gear will be dry and crisp, ready to go for another day and it is separated from the downstairs suite. It's set up with a shwack of boot and glove dryers, there's some open shelving for laying stuff out on and lots of places to hang up jackets and bibs. We had nine guys using the drying room every night and there was still room for more gear.
Overall we had a great stay (we had the whole house rented for a week). The hosts, Christiane and her partner (sorry man I couldn't remember your name!) are wicked and will go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable. Right from our initial inquiry to our quote, to checking in and then checking out, it was all a breeze. We're going back this year in December and I think it's going to turn into a regular annual trip for our group and we'll be staying at the Base Camp Guest House every time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Customer service, house location and access to secret secondary boulder trail head
Liked least: The fact that we had to go home!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polaris12
Whitecourt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Customer Service at it's BEST!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I stayed with friends and their family here and it was fantastic. The house is nicely decorated and very comfortable. The drying room is an excellent touch for added comfort. The hosts were extremely accommodating to all of our needs; offering to even babysit our dogs while we were out! I am not sure that is offered to everyone, but they were loud on our first day, and it was a great offer to help make sure the guests staying in the other part of the house were kept happy too. They were very helpful with all our questions. They offer a quiet home away from home with 5 star service. We were able to leave from the house for sledding and it is only a short drive to the ski hill too! The views from the house are wonderful, I would love to wake up to that every morning. We will definitely be back! Book in advance! This will not be a place that has much room as it becomes more well known!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The customer service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skidoo201...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awsome place to stay with great location near snowmobile trails!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I just recently stayed 4 days at the Base Camp guest house. Myself and 2 of my friends loved the great accommodations and location. The guest house was very roomy,clean and great comfortable beds. It also has a very nice set up for drying our snowmobile gear. The location was great with a 5 to 10 minute drive away from snowmobile trails. I give base camp guest house 10 out of 10 and will definitely will be booking again for my next stay in Revelstoke. If you want a home away from home feel this is the place to stay!!


-Troy

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfieswi...
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone. Like the title, "Home Away from Home" all amenities and services were at our fingertips. Very nice location and after a long day of ski-dooing, the hot tub was very relaxing. The owners/management were extremely hospitable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth feeling I got from the decore and the service from owners
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea000...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and 3 others from Ottawa stayed at BCGH in the basement suite while in BC snowmobiling. We loved that we had a backyard to park the snowmobiles and ride up the mountain without having to trailer the sleds around. The gear drying room is a nice touch, toasty boots every morning! The house is just far enough out of town to be cozy but close enough to get your Timmies in the morning. Felt just like home but with great views and toasty boots!!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon D
Warman, Sk.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent place to stay, great owners to deal with!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

stayed there to go snowmobiling for a new years trip. comfortable place to stay and felt very welcome. we had snowmobile problems and the owners did all they could to help us out. A+.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive...
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with a group of friends”
Reviewed March 16, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I had an amazing ski trip to Revelstoke and the Base Camp Guest house was the perfect place for us to stay. Love that hot tub, and the midweek delivery of peanut butter balls was a delicious touch. Beautiful views, great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gear room and hot tub were essentials for our snowy ski trip.
Liked least: kitchen could use some more cooking basics
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing