We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Spot in Revelstoke”
Review of Inn on the River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on the River
Ranked #14 of 20 Revelstoke B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were fortunate to stay in the upstairs two bedroom apartment during our driving vacation through Western Canada. We were welcomed by Don whom, we are sure, would have done anything for us had we asked. Everything about this unit was terrific. The view over the river was spectacular. The apartment was quite spacious and each large bedroom had a queen bed and its own ensuite (a real surprise.) The kitchen was well equipped and the whole apartment was tastefully furnished and decorated. We would certainly recommend Inn on the River to our friends and would only stay here if we were in Revelstoke in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BundyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 34 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

The room was great - clean and comfortable with a nice kitchenette and fireplace. Because the other room was in use by a family, we got to have a private hot tub looking out to the mountains. I'd definitely recommend this room to anyone visiting Revelstoke.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had Outstanding experience at the Inn on the River during our recent ski trip to Revelstoke. Don and Susan are the most gracious hosts and made us feel very welcome. We had the downstairs two bedroom suite that had a large picture window looking out on to the Columbia River and the Monashee Range. What a way to start your day! The suite was very clean and had all the amenities you would need. The location of the Inn on the River is perfect for walking to the shops, pubs and restaurants in town, which by the way are all very cool! While the suite was awesome and the location excellent; Don and Susan are truly the catalyst for such a wonderful experience there! They we so helpful in recommending places in town and would check in with us from time to time to insure that everything was in order. There is no doubt we will be going back there again to stay at the Inn on the River and revisit with Don and Sue!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMSP219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a fantastic vacation at the Inn on the River in Revelstoke. We took the two-bedroom suite overlooking the river, and it was perfect for 5 (2 bedrooms and a pull out couch). We loved it so much that we cooked there most nights. The owners, Don and Susan were incredibly helpful but non-intrusive, and were unbelievably friendly all the time. The beds were really comfortable, and the bathrooms were perfect-- great showers and plenty of room/extra towels etc. I can't wait to go back. I'm already planning the next vacation there. Revelstoke is fantastic no matter where one stays, but the Inn on the River was truly special.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Wonderful hosts. Homey, clean and comfortable. Very good value for money accommodation. Great to talk skiing with such an enthusiastic family.Big thanks to Susan and Don for returning the ski glove we forgot.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank NeilNZ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

House could not be closer to the Columbia River unless it was in it. In quiet area not in manic parts of busy little Revelstoke. Our very clean, 2 bedroom upstairs suite was exceptionally comfortable and well equipped. Host was helpful and friendly but never intrusive. Eat in kitchen had everything we could possibly have needed. The lounge area was very cosy with fireplace, and big settee next to picture window was hard to leave because of the superb view. Our bedroom and en-suite spacious, comfy large bed, heaps of storage and good shower. TV in bedroom not lounge but fortunately husband too busy photographing sensational river and mountain views from kitchen balcony to watch TV. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Columbia River view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank POLLYANNA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Inn on the River is totally charming. It is not ultra-slick nor modern, but if you are in Revelstoke, you'd be crazy not to check it out. We stayed in a 2-bed unit, with glorious views of the river. The decor of the unit seems to consist of bits and pieces lovingly collected by the owners over the years, resulting in a lovely, comfortable ambience. I think they have furnished this place with a great deal of personal thought.
Having said that it isn't ultra-modern, let me reassure everybody that the en-suite bathrooms were as good as any of the mid-range hotels we have stayed at, as were the bedrooms, both of which open on to the kitchen-living area.
I got the feeling that the hosts, Susan, and her husband, would really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. There are a lot of small personal touches that are beyond what most travellers would hope for.
I hope that everyone who reads this experiences the same feeling that we did. By the way, I'm 57, the spouse is 63, my son & partner are in their mid-20s and we all loved it. It's not just an oldies' place! (My son s one of those downhill mountain bike nutcases.)

Room Tip: No tips. Revelstoke isn't a particularly pretty place. There is a railway line about 3 blocks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
1.9 mi away
Cornerstone Bed and Breakfast
3.3 mi away
The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort
1.7 mi away
Coast Hillcrest Hotel
Coast Hillcrest Hotel
#3 of 20 in Revelstoke
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#7 of 20 in Revelstoke
264 reviews
11.6 mi away
Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
#1 of 20 in Revelstoke
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the River

Address: 523 Third St W, Revelstoke, British Columbia VOE 2SO, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Revelstoke
Price Range: $222 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing