We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the my worst hotel experiences”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Powder Springs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Powder Springs Inn
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Revelstoke
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the my worst hotel experiences”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was driving from Vancouver to Banff, but couldn't make it without overnight stop in Revelstoke. Most of the hotels were booked when I arrived, so I didn't have much choice. When I entered room I was shocked- it smelled awful. It smelled like somebody did laundry and left it wet in basket for a week (I'm trying my best to describe smell) I opened windows, but it wasn't good idea, because there were walking drunk loud people on the streets whole night. There's nobody at reception at night. I went outside to smoke and accidentally looked keys. It took a lot of time to get back in. Rate included breakfast, but I didn't risk after night experience. In total I managed to sleep around 2-3 hours only. My suggestion - stay away from this hotel and if you're plan to stay in Revelstoke - book in advance good hotel.

Room Tip: I don't think there's good rooms at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowderSprings, Front Office Manager at Powder Springs Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi,

We appreciate your comments. I am sorry you had such a bad stay. In regards to the smelly room, hopefully you brought this to the attention of the front desk immediately so we would be able to move you to another room, and investigate the problem. In regards to the summer and slow seasons, you are correct we do not have a night shift immediately on the desk. However, we do have a contact number at the desk to be called at any time to solve such issues as guests being locked out of their room. We also acknowledge that we are right downtown, and drunk people do walk past the hotel at night. You have some great advice, if you are staying in Revelstoke during the busy seasons (summer, or winter) it is best to book your hotel in advance as the town does sell out of hotel rooms.

Thank you.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    100
    100
    56
    34
See reviews for
85
106
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon enroute to Kelowna. For those who have pet allergies this would not be the place to stay. They say only certain rooms are pet friendly and that ours was not, however I started reacting only a few minutes after being in the room and was on antihistamines the rest of the night. The bed was ok for one night, the room was spacious for two people. The bathroom was old and small. Things were fairly clean. The breakfast only consisted of toast and cereal, but again if you just need a place to stay for one night for cheap, this hotel would be ok.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KountryKirstie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowderSprings, Front Office Manager at Powder Springs Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi, Thank you for staying at the Powder Springs Inn. I am sorry that your allergies kicked in while you stayed with us, we do have separate rooms that we usually use for pets. (Travel hint: most pet friendly hotels will assign pet rooms closest to exists of the building for quick entry and exit with the pet). We acknowledge that we are an older hotel and that our infrastructure is dated, we are in the continuous process of updating the rooms when possible.

Thank you.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Revelstoke hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

For the price this was a resonable stay. No lift, so bags have to be carried upstairs, but staff are more than happy to assist. Room was clean and quiet. Breakfast of cereal, fruit and toast was simple but adequate. Close to town which was quaint. Summer music performances in the town every night. Good walking track following the river,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank deekayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowderSprings, Front Office Manager at Powder Springs Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi, Thank you for staying at the Powder Springs Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Revelstoke.

Thank you.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I guess it all depends on your perspective. Yes, it's the cheapest place in a pricy town, but it's beyond shabby and people should lower their expectations when choosing this place. When we found the hotel, we weren't sure if it was open or shut down - it appears almost derelict, with untended shrubbery , weeds galore, dirty walls and unswept entranceways. The owner will no doubt excuse the condition because of a major beach volleyball tournament in the parking lot a couple of days previous, but that's not it and don't buy that as a reason..

As for the room itself, how about damaged furniture, damaged baseboard heater, rusted tub, and a bed that had a decidedly slept-in appearance!

Revelstoke manages to be a sad town in an area of stunning natural beauty, and this hotel is horrible. Pay a few dollars more and stay somewhere else - anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tosh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowderSprings, Front Office Manager at Powder Springs Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi, I am sorry that you had a disappointing experience while you stayed with us. We acknowledge that we are an older hotel with an older infrastructure, and are in the continuous process of doing upgrades when possible. I wish you well on your further journeys.

Thank you.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nice location in Revelstoke; big size room, comfort bed, good price for the room like this.

the attached restraunt is nice.

We live in the room on the ground floor, Only the problem is the noise from the upper floor, the room is not sound-proof from the ceiling. Fortunately, it did not last for all night.

also, the room only has window air conditioner.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Grace Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowderSprings, Front Office Manager at Powder Springs Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi, Thank you for staying at the Powder Springs Inn. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We acknowledge that we are an older hotel and the the ceiling of the first floor / the floor of the second floor, are not strongly sound proofed, and that you can hear noise from above on the first floor. Thank you.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Not a bad place for the price. Friendly staff and clean room. The only bad thing we didn't like was the very very squeaky floor of the people above us. We were in room #114 and every footstep of the people above us was a squeaky, loud, noise which kept us awake. Maybe you should ask for a top floor room if you stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel is clean and the beds are comfortable. The staff is friendly and willing to help. The hotel is out of date and the breakfast was really basic (toast, cereal, coffee, tea, juice) but at $99 a night in Revelstoke you are getting a pretty good deal for your money. I would definitely go back again in the future. Also, the bar/restaurant although old had good food and service at a decent price and offered a nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Although we didn't have a problem with noise based on other reviews we asked for a room away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#5 of 18 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Revelstoke Lodge
Revelstoke Lodge
#10 of 18 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Coast Hillcrest Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Glacier House Resort
Glacier House Resort
#12 of 18 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
#2 of 18 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandman Hotel Revelstoke
Sandman Hotel Revelstoke
#14 of 18 in Revelstoke
3.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powder Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder Springs Inn

Property: Powder Springs Inn
Address: 200 Third Street West | PO Box 530, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Powder Springs Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the family owned Powder Springs Inn! We're located in the heart of downtown Revelstoke with spacious, clean, affordable rooms. We take pride ensuring each guest feels at home. All our rooms are non-smoking, with wireless internet (WiFi) and heating/air conditioning. We have a fully licensed pub and restaurant on-site. Hotel guests receive 15% off all food items. Pets are welcome in specific rooms we need advanced notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Powder Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powder Springs Hotel Revelstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing