We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury Ski-in Ski-out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Revelstoke
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Luxury Ski-in Ski-out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

This property is one of the most luxurious I’ve stayed in while on a snowboard vacation. We stayed in building 1 which is closest to the gondola. Our unit, 1513 looked right over the gondola so we could assess the line up each morning. The unit was a 2 bedroom, 2-bathroom unit and we were 2 couples. The hotel itself is fairly new, and smartly designed in neutral colours. The lobby is quite grand and has a lot of comfortable seating around a large central fireplace. We hung out there in the afternoons after our days on the hill. The lobby has a wine (Okanagan) and cheese available to guests after 4pm. There is a concierge in the lobby separate from reception as in most large hotels, which I’m not used to on a ski hill.

Our room was comfortable and clean, and the kitchen well equipped. Our major complaint was the oversized furniture. The rooms were well sized but the furniture was poorly chosen and took up all the space in the room. For example, the dining table could seat 8 people and its enormous size forced us to walk sideways around it. It partially blocked the entrance to one of the bedrooms. We just pushed it up against the kitchen island to create some breathing room. The bedrooms suffered from the same oversized furniture. You could barely walk around the bed. The dressers are so deep that you can’t really open them fully without hitting the bed. The closet doors swing out into the room and when fully open obstruct movement in the room. They should really just remove the closet doors and put in open shelving as they did at the Firelight lodge at Silver Star where we stayed just previous to this. Check out my review of that place, the designers there knew what they were doing. I think esthetics over function were on the designer’s minds for the Sutton Place. The room looked great before we unpacked! The beds were very comfortable too. Best beds I’ve ever slept in at a ski hill. One strange thing about our bedroom is that it was always a few degrees colder than the rest of the condo. Can’t explain it and couldn’t control it. No thermostats anywhere!

The whole ski base is lacking amenities but it’s still early in Revelstoke’s development. There is no place to buy any groceries but that may be due to the fact that the town is very close and there are lots of food and shopping options there.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi was fast and free.

Overall, very nice stay and will return to Revelstoke but would likely look for other accommodation options next time. This was a splurge stay for us, we’d likely look for more reasonable options for our next visit. If you’re a Vail/Aspen type, you’ll like the Sutton Place. If you’re more backcountry, stay in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g4480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    143
    33
    6
    0
See reviews for
198
218
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here as part of a road trip/skiing safari. Taking in Kicking Horse, Revelstoke, Panorama and Kimberley.

This is the only ski-in ski-out experience available in Revelstoke. The rooms and accommodation are superb, and actually pretty quiet which surprised me. As this is something I'm pretty sensitive to and in my experience skiing hotels can be pretty noisy.

The kitchen in the room was well equipped, and the washing machine and tumble dryer were very much appreciated.

The ski concierge is a nice touch and if you aren't in one of the locker rooms with direct access to the slopes it was very much appreciated at the end of a day's skiing. It seems that even with a hotel and building as close to the resort and lifts as this the Canadians still have some things to learn form the French about ski-in-ski-out.

Food was decent, but there is very limited choice. If you're in 'The Mac' the barman makes a mean old fashioned and manhattan, and he was very keen to please and talk to us about cocktails. Visit if you can.

The only odd thing about the trip was the house keeping. Our breakfast tray was outside the room for 48hrs and our room was never cleaned correctly. I didn't mind though but it may be a pain for some.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed this weekend as a group of three couples in a suite with 2 bedrooms + den. The room was beautiful, large, and incredibly clean and well-maintained. The kitchen features high-end appliances that made cooking our meals very convenient. We loved the beautiful large windows too and our big balcony as well as the fireplace. Bathrooms are big and have large, deep tubs and separate walk-in showers. The beds are fantastic...just ridiculously comfortable. And there's even a dishwasher and a washer and dryer for wet ski clothes.

It was really an unexpected luxury to ski all day at a beautiful resort (with no crowds, no lines, nothing...even on BC Family Day weekend) and walk 20 metres to our door afterwards and enjoy such a lovely room. I can't even imagine what a similar suite would cost somewhere like Sunshine. Waaaay more than we spent, certainly, and the property is better, in my opinion. It is fantastic atmosphere.

We used the hot tubs and heated pool, and appreciated that the Sutton Place allows guests to bring a drink into the tub (in a plastic cup for safety reasons, but still.) It's nice to be able to enjoy a beverage in the hot tub after a long day of skiing.

We didn't eat at any of the restaurants on-site because we were able to cook all our meals in our fantastic kitchen, but we did enjoy the complimentary coffee bar in the lobby. And the staff we encountered were all very nice. Very friendly and very helpful with everything all the time.

I really couldn't have been happier with our experience. Revelstoke is a seven to eight hour drive for us but it was well worth it. We will be back to ski for sure and I don't think we can stay anywhere else after this excellent visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amelisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

The Sutton Place in Revelstoke is the definite place to stay if you don't want to drive anywhere while skiing. You can ski right out of the hotel. The suites have everything you need to cook, or there is one nice restaurant in the complex. The staff was super; friendly and helpful. The only quirk was that the doors to the closets in the bedroom open into the door into the living room. The fireplace was cozy, and we had a nice view. The place is very modernly furnished.

Room Tip: Don't think you can go wrong, but would ask for a room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurangoMaryAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was my second visit to the Sutton Place in Revelstoke. It is a great hotel in a perfect location (20 metres from the gondola at the base of the mountain). The rooms are very spacious and modern (we had a 3-bedroom suite with a full kitchen), the staff is very friendly, and the amenities are good (pool, hot tubs, gym, good restaurants, ski valet etc). There are three buildings located close together. Building 1 is the main building (lobby concierge). Building 2 and 3 (where the pool is) are linked via an enclosed bridge which makes it easy to hit the pool after skiing (Building 1 is not linked except via the underground parking lot - not a big deal as it is only a 50m walk and it has its own hot tub). The hotel is tough to fault; they tend to run out of ski lockers when the hotel is full which means relying on a ski valet which can be slow. Revelstoke is a serious skiers destination - it is not fully developed so don't expect Whistler-style night life or selection. The Sutton Place is pretty much the only show. Apart from that, it is great.

Room Tip: Building 1 is slightly preferable to the other 2 buildings, but just marginally so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Any ski-in/ski-out is amazing; it makes for a snowboard trip that much more enjoyable. There are less things to worry about when you're done for the day.

Pro's:
Comfortable rooms; nice large king sized beds
Great bars/coffee shops near by
Lenient on alcohol at the hot tub - 1 plastic cup (At the end of the day, people want to relax with a cold beverage in a hot tub. Regardless of what the hotel's rules are, people will do it. So it's smart how Sutton goes around that)
The Mackenzie Common Tavern had great beer (actual beers like Mt. Begbie - not Kokanee or Canadian)

Con's (nothing that would stop me from coming back; just small annoyances)
Ice machines were impossible to locate. I think there was only one on resort
Stove top was extremely tiny. Very hard to boil water. Takes long time to fry.
Freezer could not freeze ice
Phone in rooms did not work

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamCoffeeKicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We went for a week ok ski, we were two couples. We rented a 2 bedroom suite and the room was very clean, there was everything you need in the kitchen and there is also lockers for the skis. The hot pool and the spa are welcome after a great day of ski. The staff is very nice. Definitively a place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superbe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
2.6 mi away
The Coast Hillcrest Resort Hotel
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
#2 of 18 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
6.7 mi away
Glacier House Resort
Glacier House Resort
#12 of 18 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#5 of 18 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sandman Hotel Revelstoke
Sandman Hotel Revelstoke
#14 of 18 in Revelstoke
3.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
3.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 18 in Revelstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort

Property: The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort
Address: 2950 Camozzi Road, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada (Formerly The Nelsen Lodge)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort is a true ski-in, ski-out luxury condominium style hotel, consisting of 3 buildings connected by an underground heated parking facility and serviced by a beautifully appointed central lobby. This smoke-free property features 222 guest rooms and suites, premium amenities, and three on-site dining experiences: Rockford wok|bar|grill, The Mackenzie Common Tavern, and La Baguette located in the village next to the Revelation Gondola, minutes from downtown Revelstoke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing