We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alpenrose Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regent Hotel(Revelstoke)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Powder Springs Inn(Revelstoke)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cube Hotel(Revelstoke)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Revelstoke Lodge(Revelstoke)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss Chalet Motel(Revelstoke)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
155
19
0
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
19
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrittatab bski hillhot tubrose suitegreat snowhome cooked breakfastski resortneat placenicest hostsboot dryergreat mattressother guestsgreat cooka great stayenjoyed our staywoolsey creek
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 177 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We, four adult persons, stayed from 31 August – 2 September 2013 for two nights.
Alpenrose B&B is situated on a quit location in Revelstoke.
The hosts Lisa and Frank are friendly people and make you feel at home from the first moment. It was a warm welcome with coffee and thee.
Everything mentioned on their site is present. Lisa and Frank gave good advice about the attractions in Revelstoke and we did "Meadows in the sky trails" in the Mount Revelstoke National Park. They also pointed out where we could find the good restaurants.
The breakfasts are delicious.
There are always home-baked sweet biscuits (goodies) available.
We used the computer that was available for the guests.
Lisa advised us to go a little bit earlier, in the morning, to the ferry Shelter Bay-Galena Bay to prevent long waiting time.
We were surprised to find a bag with Lisa's home-baked sweet biscuits in our cooler bag. Thank you Lisa.
We thank Lisa and Frank for their hospitality.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Alice_en_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseLisa, Owner at Alpenrose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for staying at Alpenrose, and for taking time to review our bed and breakfast. We remember your happy group fondly. We have been so blessed to meet so many lovely people as hosts of Alpenrose. It would be wonderful to see you again one day!
Your review mentioned that you were travelling HWY 23 by ferry. This spring we expect that ferry waits at Galena and Shelter Bays will be a thing of the past with a new larger ferry coming into service between February and May 2014. It's exciting news!!!
While Trip Advisor does not allow me to give you the link to read about the new ferry service as they consider that commercial advertisement but you can read about it by searching BC Highways and Ferries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

There were four of us, two adults (Gramma & Mom) & two children (14 & 9). Very nice rooms and excellent breakfasts. Lisa & Frank are very hospitable. Beautiful yard which we were allowed to use for family photos. Television in every room with a good selection of movies to watch. Also access to wifi.

Room Tip: Have a suite that would easily sleep 6. Also separate rooms with own bathroom.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseLisa, Owner at Alpenrose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us and all the kind things you mentioned. It always brings such joy to see multiple generations traveling together in harmony. Our Mac Kenzie suite does work well for families with its 2 adjoining rooms -2 queens plus one double and its private bathroom with shower. We often get grandparents, parents and children over 5 are always welcome...but 5 not 6 is pretty much max for that suite. We often recommend if time and availability allows that groups book the entire bed and breakfast for a your special stay. Maximum 9 people. Inquire anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

It was a dark and stormy night.......... Thank goodness it was or we would have never discovered Alpenrose.

After a nasty, rain drenched evening in August where it felt more like November and five hours on the road, we were forced to take refuge in Revelstoke... Not that that is a bad thing... Revelstoke is a great town. Had no real plans, in fact the only plan was a tent and a night of roughing it... After all it was August and we were just passing through.....Forget that....

Of course by 9:15 on a rainy evening when one has not booked ahead you would expect to come up empty handed in the ‘have you a room for the night?” department...
We were... Hotels and motels booked.. NO’s as in NO Vacancy were popping up like fire flies....

Finally googled B&B and got a referral from a referral....Perfect....
Called Alpenrose.... Getting Lisa on the other end of the line was a ray of sunshine in this otherwise dark and.... well you know....

She said “Come on over I have a room for you”. Truly, she guided us in on the phone until we could see her home.

Lisa and Frank both met us at the door and made us feel welcome and at home.

As all the other guests had retired for the evening all was whispers when we were shown our accommodations...

Our room, very nice. All the necessities down to the mints on our pillow. There was nothing overlooked and you could tell, these hosts know what it takes.

Alpenrose is well maintained, neat, and appointed with bedding and linens that put better hotels to shame.

Even though our room came with a private bath down the hall, this was never an issue. I understand there are two additional suites with private baths as well.

The area will guarantee you a peaceful night’s sleep as Alpenrose is located a very good distance from the highway.

It was nice to have an appointed sitting time for breakfast too, although we were a bit early for ours and this was no problem at all. There was plenty of coffee on and it was enjoyed out on the patio in the morning sunshine. A breakfast frittata, bacon and fruit cup with juice and non-stop coffee gave us all the fuel we needed to tackle highway one through to Calgary without considering lunch....

Lisa and Frank obviously love what they do as it shows in their care and attention to detail.

If you are considering a stay in Revelstoke. Do not hesitate to book Alpenrose. It is all good!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseLisa, Owner at Alpenrose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Aww in this case I think your guardian angel was looking out for you this thunderous eve ! Every once in a while in July and August we have a pocket of space or choose to take a lighter load and it seems it is always for a reason! We were happy to have the space to offer shelter from the storm :) Thanks for your amazing review...It's nice to be appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Perfect place to stay al least one night. It's located outside Revelstoke but the town does not have many things.
Lisa is taking care of everything. The way describe the b&b is "very convenient": nice house, perfect size of the room, good breakfast (and house made), good amenities (wifi, tv, dvd, even films available to watch!)

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pat_Tarragona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseLisa, Owner at Alpenrose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thanks for taking time to review our place. We enjoyed many travelers from Spain this summer :) Yes as advertised we are about 6 minutes drive from the town center, but we are absolutely in Revelstoke! The town is only perhaps 15 min drive from one far side to the other and as you say a main town core of a few (T formation) blocks. The advantage of our location is the QUIET :) No trains, highways or pub noise to disturb your sleep. Thank you for also mentioning the good breakfast. We pride ourselves on offering the best opportunity of a good quiet safe night sleep in a clean room with comfortable beds and a good start to your day w hearty healthy breakfasts from menu choices. As a traditional bed and breakfast, to us it makes most sense to get these two things right :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lisa and Frank welcomed us with open arms on a late night where every hotel was booked and it was raining. there was a highway accident and TransCanada was closed and we had our toddler and 10 month old who were on need of sleep. The house is clean and cozy. Amazing fresh fruit and frittata with home grown veggies and cheese was delicious!!! A great stay and very reasonable price with great hosts!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aspad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseLisa, Owner at Alpenrose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

It was our pleasure to offer haven for your wonderful family. There are days you work to pay the bills and days you work in service of others. As this was one of very few nights we had booked ourselves off in the summer season, this night was the latter. After becoming aware of the accident and road closure on another dark stormy night with the accommodations in town at near full capacity we were glad to be able to be of service to your family at our bed and breakfast. Truthfully you were no trouble and in fact when I went up to service the rooms in the morning I wondered if I dreamed you had stayed because you left everything in such perfect order. We hope you will stop in again on another trip...with more time to stay and enjoy Alpenrose and Revelstoke :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews