We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Three Mile Valley Disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Revelstoke
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Three Mile Valley Disaster”
Reviewed July 27, 2006

A generally terrible hotel - we thought we were getting a lovely lakeside chateau - instead we got an over-rated roadside motel type of facility! Looks can be deceiving - from the outside it looks like a wonderful resort (and on their website). Looks like lovely gardens, lakeside with a small beach - don't be fooled - the lake if full of weeds as are the garden ponds.

We had e-mailed the week before to see if a reservation was necessary and been told the hotel was 75% full on the night we were arriving. We called from Ainsworth Hot Springs and booked a reservation two days before we were to arrive. The 75% occupancy quote would indicate that they were expecting at least 300 guests. When we went down for dinner at 7 p.m. there were 2 waitresses working, a few bus people (the bartender ended up doing table setting duties) and one cook and assistant. It took us 1 1/2 hours to get two hamburgers. Since you are more or less outside of any populated area you don't have any choice unless you want to drive all the way back to Revelstoke. Their excuse for this appalling service was that it is never this busy there!

The room was abysmal - very drab. No air conditioning and the termperature was 40 degrees (admittedly hotter than normal). They claim it never gets hot there because they are in the mountains. We live in BC and we know that it gets hot in that area on a regular basis, mountains or no mountains. The bathtub measured 4.5 feet in length and 18 inches in width. Anyone not tiny might be able to get into the tub but they would have a tough time getting out.

They don't even provide real glasses for drinks - plastic only. And to top it all off they provide styrofoam cups for your coffee and I think they get these free as they had advertising all over them.

All in all this was one of the worst, if not the worst, hotel we have ever stayed in. Judging from other reviews we are not alone in our opinions.

I will never choose another hotel without checking with Tripadvisor first - it would have saved us $120. per night plus the aggravation.

  • Disliked — Lack of air conditioning
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pizzadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    149
    88
    40
    34
See reviews for
160
141
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2006

When I booked our 2 day stay at 3 Valley Gap we were excited, imagine a 2 story room with a balcony overlooking a beautiful lake with a beach! When we arrived, on a very hot July day, we discovered that there is NO air conditioning, and you are only allowed 1 fan per room. It went downhill from there. We asked about booking to see a show at the Ghost Town theatre, all the brochures said to prebook, but we were told they were only having 3 shows this summer, and that was for the tour buses.

In our room, the balcony wasn't cared for, the cement was chipped and dirty and the patio chair hadn't been cleaned in a long time. After opening all the windows and discovering that the screen was ripped in 2 of them and non existant in 1, we decided to go swimming to cool off. After wandering the oddly put together hallways (the whole building looks like it was built at different times and attached even later) we found the pool.

The deck, walls and entire area looked like it needed a good hosing down, it was disgustingly dirty. The bottom of the hottub had a layer of sand on it, and I would be willing to bet that the pool did too, but it was too murky to see the bottom. We then went to the gift shop to have a look around, and my 10 year old daughter was excited to see they had wrapped "surprise" boxes, you know the kind where you buy them without knowing what's inside, usually stickers, candy that kind of thing. Anyway she picked one, paid her $2.99 plus tax for it and proudly carried it outside, saying it would be for the 3 of us to share (her dad and I and her) and opened it to find.....a toy car with scratches all over it and with the pull back broken. They wouldn't return or exchange it either.

We then went for a walk in the garden. Nice flowers and trees. The fountains and "stream" was gross. It was brown water choked with weeds and debris. The beach? Hard packed, with garbage, cigarette butts and weeds washed up and left on it. And maybe 3 feet into the water it was full of weeds. The kids play area is a slide and some swings, badly in need of updating, or better yet replacement. It started to rain, so we went in to our room to watch some tv and try to relax, but there were only 3 channels, because the kids channel didn't work.

We decided we would go down for something to eat, and debated on which of the 3 restaurants to try, we decided, but when we got to the door, it was locked, with no sign on it. So we went to the front desk to ask when it would open, and we were told "That restaraunt is closed and won't be opening, you can use the cafeteria or the family restaraunt." So ok, we went to the cafeteria and picked a seat in the railroad car, only to be told "sorry this area is only for tour bus groups".

So we went to the restaraunt, the food was alright, nothing special, I think my starter salad had 4 lettuce leaves, if that. So we grabbed some snacks on the way back to our room. We settled in for the night, and pulled our the hide-a-bed for my daughter. It was so thin you could see the bumps of the bars underneath it, so we took it off and made her a bed on the floor with some extra blankets we had brought with us.

My husband and I then went upstairs. I lay down and when I looked at the ceiling I noticed a hole in it, and when I looked closer I could see that the sprinkler was somewhere in there. My husband pulled back the covers and swore. Then he told me to get up and look at my pillow, because his had a couple of blood spots on it. This was the last straw, I made a list of complaints and he took it to the front desk, where most of what I mentioned was laughed at. How do you expect us to clean the beach, the pool, the fountains? Among other comments. They deleted our next day reservation, but wouldn't do anything for the current day. Oh, they gave him a new pillow. We left at 5 in the morning, as soon as it got light enough out. Don't waste your money, your time or your health on this place! It is the worst place I have ever stayed and I will never go back!

  • Liked — The surrounding mountains were nice.
  • Disliked — It was so dirty everywhere!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Only reserve places in advance if you've been there before, or if you know the name.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank JeanetteC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Revelstoke hotels

leeds england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2005

This is a unique place built and operated by the Bell family. It is in a superb location along side Route 1. The layout and and some of the decor is a bit eccentric but all the facilities are there including a cafeteria and a restaurant. Our spacious room had a great view of the lake but no air condtioning. The property includes a Ghost town comprising old buildings rescued by Mr Bell from various parts of Canada. There is also a collection of old cars and railway coaches and allsorts of interesting artefacts. The guided tour is well worth taking. There is also a large gift shop.
Above all the place is a wonderful tribute to the determination and industry of the Bell family over nearly 50 years. Do not miss it.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bpcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 4, 2004

The chateau is an odd mixture of good and bad: good restaurant (Uncle Ed's); good view (the lake); and entertaining show (Western songs). Bad: no a/c , making the rooms very hot during the day; very close to the highway and train, making it noisy; and old rooms.

The restaurant exceeded our expectations by serving an excellent steak. The western show was sparcely attended, which was too bad -- very entertaining.

The highway noise was not very condusive to sleep, nor was our room location (next to the ice machine). The room was a surprise, as it appeared fairly dated despite the exterior view of the hotel.

Our brief experience with the family restaurant was a definite negative, having a rude and impatient waitress after we requested seating at a different table (there was only one other party in the place). We left without trying the food -- why reward rudeness...

Uncle Ed's was a different matter - very good food and service. Highly recommended.

Would I stay there again? Probably not. I may eat at Uncle Ed's and then push on down the road for a different hotel, though.

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 18, 2003

When I travel to Calgary from Vancouver or Victoria, I always stay at Three Valley Gap. Not because of the food but because it is such a beautiful setting, in the middle of the Monashee Mountains,on a lake, 9miles this side of Revelstoke.When you book, ask for a room facing the lake , with a balcony or on the ground level. There are three choices of eating areas, fine dineing, family dineing or cafetera. It is wonderfully peaceful & quiet, except for the odd train. No dogs allowed. country music entertainment in the evenings. if you desire.

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
13.1 mi away
Coast Hillcrest Hotel
Coast Hillcrest Hotel
#3 of 19 in Revelstoke
796 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
#2 of 19 in Revelstoke
780 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#5 of 19 in Revelstoke
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Glacier House Resort
Glacier House Resort
#12 of 19 in Revelstoke
163 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sandman Hotel Revelstoke
Sandman Hotel Revelstoke
#14 of 19 in Revelstoke
278 reviews
11.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
#8 of 19 in Revelstoke
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town

Property: Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Address: 8903 Trans Canada Hwy | PO Box 860, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lakefront hotel in Revelstoke nestled between stunning Three Valley Lake and the Monashee Mountains, Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town offers a unique blend of modern comforts and historical attractions. Our Revelstoke resort features 200 comfortable guest room accommodations and suites with beautiful garden or lake views, an onsite restaurant, and a heritage ghost town tour, complete with 25 historic buildings from the late 1800s, an antique auto museum and a railway roundhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Three Valley Lake Chateau And Ghost Town
Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town Hotel Revelstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing