We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place for a family to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a family to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

I have always seen this place from the road and we needed a place to stay for our family of four (a baby and a toddler). I decided to book it on a whim, and then read the Tripadvisor reviews. I'm actually glad I did this in the wrong order, because the reviews weren't super positive but we had such a great time here!

The place is a bit older but still beautiful! We got a room on the ground floor that opened to the courtyard / garden with a glimpse of the lake and mountains. It was quite pretty. There is a little patio outside each room with two lawn chairs. The room was ample-sized and had a great comfy sofa chair. Our toddler certainly loved this place...from the train set in the lobby to the playground to the beach to the pool to the kayaking. There was just so much to do for kids here. And when my husband and toddler went to rent the kayak (at a very reasonable $10 / 30min), they told me they have an infant lifejacket so that we could try to take our baby and toddler together out on their paddle boat. It was so great to be able to do an activity as a family without having sit on the sidelines with the baby...and that is exactly what the staff explained was their reason for having the gear available. This place definitely has a family focus (they make sure to tell their guests this), which we appreciate. We did not eat here so I can't comment on the food but we enjoyed the other ameneties they had to offer. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exzhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    148
    86
    39
    33
See reviews for
155
135
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We had a one night stay on our way to Kelowna. It seemed so pretty and idyllic at the pictures but it's a little disappointing. It's just by the road. Buildings and standard are old. Seems like new buildings are added without planning. To come to the cafeteria you have to go up back and forward (and smelling smoke) around corners and suddenly open a door to a souvenir shop to pass before you can eat. The service and the food though vere excellent. Ghost town nice but pricey. Nice pool and children's activity room. Rooms too expensive.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Familien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Revelstoke hotels

Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Nice scenery, in the middle of nowhere, nice lake and beach and that feeling this was once a charming castle like place, great fantastic older ladies who love their work and the place

But, old, pricey, terrible food, small room and if you are unlucky enough to stay with large tour groups, it could be a loud night

Very little else to do so you'd better enjoy your company!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thaiaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

This older hotel smacks of the 60s and 70s although it has been kept up and is very clean. You get lost through its maze of corridors, levels, games rooms, pool, lobby, store, ETC! so need to stay long enough to find your way about. We lucked out staying in July when it was cool and rainy so the lack of air conditioning was no problem. Having 5 floors and no A/C could prove hard to sleep by on hot days. All rooms face a gorgeous outdoor flower garden area and beach which was so lovely to look at and enjoy from our balcony where we spent much of the day sitting. We did take our kayak to the boat launch a few miles away and kayak on the lake which was wonderful although we were disappointed that we couldn't launch from the beach at the hotel. They do however have their own kayaks for you to use as well. The store has your usual tacky tourist wares (ick) and the restaurant has a great view but not great food. it's biggest asset is that you can stay "in" (not drive to Revelstoke) and eat but it is not highly tasty. One other downside was that with the window open for the night to stay cool enough, the highway, train, and people noise was quite annoying. BUT all this said, we loved the view and the daytime spent looking at it. I think if you had children, the pool, beach, and the many nooks and crannies set up with ping pong etc would keep them occupied for hours on end plus there are mini train rides to be had and a ghost town to wander through. (we didn't do those things.)

Room Tip: don't stay in the rooms that have indoor patio doors opening to the indoor gardens. there are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

THE ROOM - we had a Loft Suite that overlooked the gardens and the lake, and had a balcony. The lower level contains the living area and bathroom, and the bedroom was upstairs. So - you had to go downstairs to use the bathroom. There was NO DRESSER in the bedroom, and the only closet was DOWNSTAIRS. There weren't even hooks in the bedroom to hang things on. There was a small table, but when we set stuff on it it started to fall over because one of the legs was loose. When I asked about it at the front desk the lady said "That's cute." Everything about this room was old and outdated. Although it had the BEST water pressure in the shower that we've ever seen in a motel. There is NO AIR CONDITIONING - and it was very hot during our stay. Although that is not the hotels fault, it made it unbearable. They kept suggesting we go for a swim in either the pool or the lake to cool down.

THE POOL - was heated to the point of feeling like a hot tub and was not refreshing at all. Furthermore - it is situated in a dark dank section of the hotel with no view to outside. There were pictures and writings on the walls about the titanic and all the lives that were lost! Isn't this supposed to be a place to have fun ?? !!

THE LAKE - is glacier fed so it was way too cold to swim in. So all in all we had no where to escape the scorching sun. The room did cool down at night with the windows left open.

THE LOCATION - is about 12 miles from the City of Revelstoke, so if you're looking for variety in restaurants, or want something from a convenience store, be prepared to go for a drive.

THE GARDENS - may have been amazing at one time, but like the hotel itself, they are in desperate need of some TLC. Directly below our balcony was what USED TO BE a fountain and small stream running through it. The fountain looked like it hadn't been operational for years, and the area around it and the stream was full of stagnant water and algae. We could smell it from our balcony, and it wasn't pleasant.

THE RESTAURANT - is also very dated. That being said, we had a couple of very good meals there. The Veal Cutlet with mashed and homemade gravy was particularly amazing.

THE HERITAGE GHOST TOWN & RAILWAY MUSEUM - were very well laid out and interesting. If you get a chance to speak with the tour Operator - THANE - you will find him very entertaining and knowledgeable.

THE STAFF - all seemed to be very laid back, almost to the point of being complacent. When we asked the lady working in the Gift Shop what time the restaurant opened her reply was "The same time we do." !! When we asked what time she opened, her reply was "Well, it depends on when the first bus arrives." !! Too funny. We had to ask 4 times to get a clear answer.

All in all, this Hotel does seem to be a place better suited for young families with children.

Room Tip: Upper Lofts had no shade throughout the day, while the rooms on the lower level did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darsenault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

A great place for us to break our trip up from Alberta to BC. Lots of places to explore for our kids, playground, pool, recreation centre, beautiful grounds and very well maintained ghost town. Incredibly
Friendly staff made us feel welcome everywhere we went.
Breakfast in restaurant very good and again super accommodating when our kids decided on unique choices for a meal. Would definitely recommend this lovely place!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank edmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

What a hotel for a young family. It's got everything you cold possibly need, plus the setting is unreal. Not gonna gush over it, but check the pics, it's worth a visit, especially with small kids! Ghost Town is a must see too, lotsa amazing artifacts in there!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BriGuyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
13.1 mi away
The Coast Hillcrest Resort Hotel
12.8 mi away
Glacier House Resort
Glacier House Resort
#10 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
#2 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#5 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
11.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
#7 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
11.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town

Property: Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Address: 8903 Trans Canada Hwy | PO Box 860, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lakefront hotel in Revelstoke nestled between stunning Three Valley Lake and the Monashee Mountains, Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town offers a unique blend of modern comforts and historical attractions. Our Revelstoke resort features 200 comfortable guest room accommodations and suites with beautiful garden or lake views, an onsite restaurant, and a heritage ghost town tour, complete with 25 historic buildings from the late 1800s, an antique auto museum and a railway roundhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and HRS so you can book your Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Valley Lake Chateau And Ghost Town
3 Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town Hotel Revelstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing