We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You need to come off the highway to truly appreciate this property!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Revelstoke
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You need to come off the highway to truly appreciate this property!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

While on an annual cycling tour I have had the opportunity to stay at this property as well as tour the grounds for the past 7 years and each year offers a new adventure in the tour! The family run resort offers great hospitality, large rooms, a pool and spa and lots of fun exploring. Rooms are always clean and beds comfortable. This resort is self sufficient for power and water and indeed the entire museum and gardens are amazing! Be sure to take the tour and to join in with the bbq dinner it is well done and quite enjoyable! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YaleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    151
    91
    40
    36
See reviews for
165
144
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wormit, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I loved this place, but it will not please everyone. The checkin was efficient and the staff helpful. The hotel is a rambling building and it's easy to get lost. The floors are uneven in places. Our room was spacious, with a balcony overlooking the gardens and lake. The view was fabulous. I just wished we'd arrived earlier and could have sat outside enjoying the surroundings for longer! The furniture is a bit dated, but the beds were comfortable. We had a fridge, coffee maker and microwave in the room. The bathroom could do with upgrading, but was clean, had a super powerful shower, good towels and nice toiletries. I liked the fact you could go for a walk in this hotel! There was a good library (we were encouraged to take any books with us, if we hadn't finished them) with jigsaws, etc. lots of intersting bits and pieces of furniture and decorative items. I liked the indoor garden area, too. The pool was quite small (we didn't actually use it). We ate in the restaurant, whih was ok, but lacked tmosphere as there were only 3 tables occupied (end of season, I suppose). The views from there were excellent too, but it got dark and the restaurant was cold. In the morning we had breakfast in the cafeteria, again overlooking the lake. Sorry, but i just couldn't tear myself away from that view! Yes, the place is not perfect, but I compared it to "ordinary" motels inRevelstoke, and I thought it was much better value. It's just off the highway, but we were not disturbed by the noise of traffic.

Room Tip: I doubt if there are any "bad" rooms, but we were in the centre section with full panorama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacquiandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Three Valley Lake Chateau during August this year.
The view of the lake from all the rooms is quite spectacular.
The staff are very friendly and always happy to help.
The décor is a little tired but the location makes up for this.
We had an evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant which was basic but still very enjoyable.
Our stay was only for one night but with the facilities available to you, a longer stay would be worth while.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is wonderfully situated right on the lake, looking across to one of Canada's few remaining railway lines (so a good view of the 2 kilometre-long freight trains as they make their stately way past).

The hotel was built quite a few years ago and could do with a serious updating - although it is comfortable enough. The restaurant was of normal Canadian standards - so the food was ample if not all that imaginative. As is so often the case in hotels, the beer choice was terrible. Even though Canada now produces some of the world's finest beers, the choice was limited to a few flavourless mock-pilsners.

Guests get a discount when visiting the adjacent ghost town - an eclectic selection of old buildings, cars and railway memorabilia.

We didn't try the pool or the fitness centre but they looked OK.

Room Tip: Families should consider asking for one of the suites - ours was toom 360 - since these a very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

It had been six years since my husband and I had stayed here on our honeymoon and I was finally able to return - this time with my two small children. I had loved this place back in 2006 and loved it just as much this go around. This is a place for people who appreciate character , history and charm, not for those seeking five star cookie cutter accommodations. This place has so many endearing features such as the Thomas the tank engine table in the lobby ,a library up above featuring all kinds of eclectic books you can check out and read, a quirky indoor garden, the Titanic themed swimming pool that has now spurred a fascination with all things titanic related for my son, and the giant indoor checker board surrounded by comfy couches like you would find at your grandma's place. Its awesome. The view from the rooms is stunning as the setting is completely magical and there is a little beach for the kids to explore. We added on the ghost town tour to our room rental and it was an awesome way to spend a chilly fall evening - roaming the incredible collection of old buildings and trains.. there is even a kids play area randomly located in the midst of the train round house complete with a toy kitchen!! This place is full of surprises and my kids could have stayed here for days on end. The history behind the location really adds to the experience and you feel good spending your travel dollars to stay here as these are the kinds of places that make BC special and need to be preserved. My only suggestion if anyone from management reads this is to provide a bucket of pool noodles beside the swimming pool for the kids as the pool is so very interesting but too deep for children who don't swim and the pool noodles would really allow kids to fully enjoy the experience as they were restricted to using the hot tub only due to the pool's depth. That is my only suggestion and it is super minor because we REALLY loved this place and will gladly drive the extra 15 mins out of Revelstoke to stay here instead :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

topped here for breakfast on a recent trip.. Fantastic location with spectacular views of the lake and mountains. The other positive is the resort's uniqueness. Large property including the restaurant, hotel, gift shop and the ghost town. The hotel is old and tired judging by the condition of the lobby. The ghost town is interesting especially the classic car collection and rail car exhibits. The classic car collection is very impressive and includes numerous vintage automobiles from 1902 and later models. The train exhibits include vintage rail cars including the car used by Pierre Trudeau in 1982, ad the private rail car used by Sir John Eaton. Breakfast was just average-nothing special. Service was prompt and friendly. Certainly worth a stop on one's travels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a really great setting. We stayed in a loft suite which was really nice and something a bit different! There's a living area downstairs with sofa, table and chairs, fridge, tv and bathroom and upstairs a comfortable double bed, tv and a balcony with great views. Yes, the decor is a little dated but I thought it had a nice rustic charm. There's no air con, but fans were provided.
We only stayed for the one night, so didn't make use of the facilities, but you can hire canoes from the lake and take helicopter rides and there's a pool and games room. There's a restaurant and gift shop. We had breakfast in the morning and you definitely get your money's worth!
There's no phone service and wifi is a bit hit and miss and only available in certain areas, but if you're aware of this before your stay, it shouldn't be a problem!
We thought it was a really sweet place and would stay again :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
13.1 mi away
Coast Hillcrest Hotel
Coast Hillcrest Hotel
#3 of 19 in Revelstoke
831 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
#2 of 19 in Revelstoke
799 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#5 of 19 in Revelstoke
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Powder Springs Inn
Powder Springs Inn
#17 of 19 in Revelstoke
347 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sandman Hotel Revelstoke
Sandman Hotel Revelstoke
#13 of 19 in Revelstoke
286 reviews
11.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
#9 of 19 in Revelstoke
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town

Property: Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Address: 8903 Trans Canada Hwy | PO Box 860, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lakefront hotel in Revelstoke nestled between stunning Three Valley Lake and the Monashee Mountains, Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town offers a unique blend of modern comforts and historical attractions. Our Revelstoke resort features 200 comfortable guest room accommodations and suites with beautiful garden or lake views, an onsite restaurant, and a heritage ghost town tour, complete with 25 historic buildings from the late 1800s, an antique auto museum and a railway roundhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Valley Lake Chateau And Ghost Town
Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town Hotel Revelstoke
3 Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing