We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute one-off” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An absolute one-off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to break a journey from Lake Louise to Kelowna. The hotel enjoys a brilliant location and has real character. Although our room was dated, it was clean and tidy with a great view over the lake. All of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The gardens are beautifully kept and the lakeside beach was an added bonus. After staying in some very upmarket hotels, the unpretentious dining room was a welcome relief. We ate well both at dinner and at breakfast. And the coin-operated laundry - a snip at 50c each for the washing machine and dryer, was a godsend to us, as visitors from the United Kingdon, at more or less the mid-point on a three week road trip. We were pleased that we took the time to visit the Ghost Town which was both entertaining and educational.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank The_Lamberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeValleyGap, Owner at Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you found our rooms clean and tidy and enjoyed the great views of the lake. Our gardener does a wonderful job maintaining the gardens – we are very lucky to have her. Thanks again for taking the time to reflect your experience at our resort – we hope you visit us again the next time you are in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    148
    86
    39
    33
See reviews for
155
135
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a great stay at 3 Valley Gap. we were there on the Aug long weekend and they were booked full but the staff handled it well. We were happy to find out they were having a open BBQ in the Ghost Town the night we arrived. It was perfect timing for us as the price charged for diner included the admission to the ghost town & museum. We had a great deal of fun walking through the Museum & Ghost town. The BBQ diner was very well put on the and food was good home cooking. They opened the Ghost town saloon for the guest to sit and eat. Over all a great night. The hotel itself is very charming and well maintained. The room we had was on the 3 floor center and gave us a beautiful lake view. We sat on the balcony and shared a glass a wine while watching the sun go down. The room was an old school standard 80's style but was very clean and had all the room we needed. This is a great stop for families to spend a day and night. The Collection of stuff in the museum & Ghost town is quite amazing you can spend hours looking through this place and never see it all.

Room Tip: Center of the U shape and higher floors for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 454wpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeValleyGap, Owner at Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to reflect on your experience at our resort. August Long Weekend is the busiest time of our season, we are glad you thought our staff handled this challenging weekend well. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Heritage Ghost Town and your BBQ Dinner too! We are glad you found our room clean and spacious and enjoyed your great view of the lake. Thanks again for your review and we hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in BC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This a charming little resort. The grounds were beautiful with a pretty sandy beach! Although the rooms were not brand new, it didn't matter since we spent our time enjoying all the fun things to do. Ping Pong, Pool, Swimming pool based around the Titanic, and much more outdoors too. Don't expect a brand new hotel but do expect lots to do. The highlight of our trip was the resorts helicopter ride over the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeValleyGap, Owner at Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Our family appreciates that you took the time to highlight your experiences at our unique resort, and we sincerely hope that you choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

First off, I've read many reviews on this hotel that run the gamut from great to terrible. Anyone who rates this place as terrible simply did not do their homework before booking. Three Valley is not a boutique hotel, but it certainly IS a character hotel. The hotel is family run, staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. We stayed for two nights and there was plenty to do around the hotel. Pricing for a stay at this hotel is also very reasonable.

Swimming was enjoyable inside and out (though the indoor pool can get crowded). The hotel grounds are beautiful and inspirational to wake up to each morning, sitting on the patio with a coffee. The food at the restaurant was decent as well.

This was leg seven of our 5,000 km + road trip with two children in tow (3 & 11 yrs old).
We booked a two level room and it certainly provided enough space for everyone to relax. TV stations are limited and wireless is only available in the lobby, but we didn't book here to watch TV and sit in the room. The hotel is not air conditioned, but it cools off quite nicely at night (pretty remarkable, as one of the staff mentioned to us that it hadn't rained in the area for over 30 days).
Additional activities around the hotel include helicopter tours (great, but expensive), a ghost town and rail museum. The ghost town was fun and the trains within the roundhouse were definitely great to explore.
We had fun- lots of it! The hotel is quirky, but that simply adds to its charm. We'd stay again and certainly will recommend the place to friends.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank community_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeValleyGap, Owner at Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your extensive review. We are glad you did your homework prior to booking – our hotel definitely has “character” and is not your average hotel. It sounds like your family kept very busy during your 2 day stay with us! Thanks for recommending us to your friends and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

It's hard to give a bad review to a place I really enjoyed, and would visit again. Here is my experience:
1. Even if you are only driving by, take a break by walking through the ghost town. The train roundhouse is worth the stop by itself.
2. Beautiful building that needs upgrading. I would start by upgrading the restaurant to catch all the dollars rolling by every second. The room was clean, but looking it's age.
If you are wanting to support a family owned labor of love and are want to stay at a place with character, this is a great half way point between Calgary and Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semiscience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My daughter and I really enjoyed our one night stay. The hotel is a little dated, but clean and comfortable. We spent the day exploring the heritage town, walking along the lake and swimming in the pool.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the gardens and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We checked in for a two night stay and checked out after the first night. The staff were pleasant but as soon as we stepped into the hotel we noticed a "smell" old damp and covered up with air freshener.....the elevator smelled of urine and beer.....the pool had clumps of hair in it and was not well maintained or clean...the hotel is huge that it is a huge undertaking to keep it modern, clean and up to today’s standards, had this been a $69 night hotel you would be getting value for money, but at $189 with tax this is not what you would want to pay for. Would not recommend to anyone, very disappointed....

Room Tip: There is so much choice in this area and this is a bad one, stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BooT040709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Revelstoke hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
13.1 mi away
The Coast Hillcrest Resort Hotel
12.8 mi away
Glacier House Resort
Glacier House Resort
#10 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
#2 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#5 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
11.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
#7 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
11.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town

Property: Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Address: 8903 Trans Canada Hwy | PO Box 860, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lakefront hotel in Revelstoke nestled between stunning Three Valley Lake and the Monashee Mountains, Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town offers a unique blend of modern comforts and historical attractions. Our Revelstoke resort features 200 comfortable guest room accommodations and suites with beautiful garden or lake views, an onsite restaurant, and a heritage ghost town tour, complete with 25 historic buildings from the late 1800s, an antique auto museum and a railway roundhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Valley Lake Chateau And Ghost Town
3 Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town Hotel Revelstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing