We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a family favourite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Still a family favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have to agree that this place is a little dated and frankly the lifts are downright dangerous however, the garden is beautiful, the lake is stunning and it saves having to turn off the highway and stay in Revelstoke.
We have stayed here a number of times and each time has been the same. The food is a little pricey and the restaurant & bar shut at 8pm but if you know this in advance you can come prepared.
We met up with my family here after travelling down from Jasper and we had an absolute ball. We all went for a swim, had dinner together and then headed up to my parents balcony for a few beers. I feel I must apologise for our raucous laughter but we always seem to have so much fun here.
I quite like the fact that there is no phone signal and that wi-fi is only available in the lobby - it's stops me checking my phone every 5 minutes!
My only criticism would be that the pool is a little over chlorinated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaGoose001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    148
    86
    39
    33
See reviews for
155
135
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buggenhout
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This probably used to be a nice hotel and still looks good from a distance. The website looks good as well.
Unfortunately a lack of vision and maintenance made this place what it is: overrated. The restaurant looked like an old school canteen.
The location is not great neither, 12km outside of Revelstoke aside the highway. Rooms are not properly sound insulated although the Trans Canadian highway nearby. Concrete used for the construction is aged.
The beds were clean and ok. No complaints there.
Overall conclusion:
You better check the available B&B's for the same budget on this website. You also have some great restaurant and bakery options in the centre of Revelstoke.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Revelstoke hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel was a surprise find and it was definitely a winner. Firstly the hotel is a fascinatiing rambling old building that grew from more humble beginnings to its large stature today. We loved it from first sighting it from the opposite side of the lake. We found our room spotlessly clean, comfortable and very large. Best of all was the balcony overlooking the beautiful, tranquil lake with its mirror blue water lapping at the edges of the pine forested mountainsides. The staff are friendly and very accommodating and the convenient restaurant served good value meals.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake for the lovliest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginia, SK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

As a child my family travelled back and forth from Kelowna to Saskatchewan, always stopping at Three Valley Gap for the 5 cent coffee. We never had enough time to look around so when my own family drove from Saskatchewan to BC, we stopped at Three Valley Lake Chateau and Ghost Town. I had originally made a reservation for a standard room, planning to sleep my little guy on the floor on a blow up bed. When calling back a week before our holiday to get our confirmation number which I had lost, I spoke with a very pleasant woman at the front desk. She told me the family suite (with one queen and two doubles) was only $10 more so we switched our reservation. Unfortunately there were no more renovated rooms left so she had to put us in the older section, but did give us a suite on the main floor with a sliding door onto the gardens. I was a little disappointed to see that "older" meant I was staying in the same era as our trips in the 70s. And the room had a smell to it. But it was an awesome location at the base of some mountains, nested by a lake. The kids enjoyed to playground (again from the 70s) and the gardens and I was able to enjoy a glass of wine on the patio once the kids went to bed. We did go to the ghost town for half-price as part of our hotel stay which everyone enjoyed - lots to see. All in all we had a good stay with enough room for us. And it brought back some pleasant memories of my childhood!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Samcardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here on our way to the Okanagan from Calgary. We chose this location because it is close to the Enchanted Forest, which my 6 and 4 year old absolutely loved and is worth going to if you have little ones. Well, I am not exaggerating when I say this hotel needs some serious upgrading. It reminded me a little of the hotel in the movie "The Shining" - not really spooky but it had a maze-like layout with endless hallways, cobwebs on the ancient chandeliers, and dark wood paneling everywhere. It certainly has character! The location is beautiful - all the rooms have a view of the lake and garden. The hotel has no A/C - needless to say it was very hot in our room and noisy with the patio door open since the hotel is on the main highway. For little ones there is a small playground and a sandy beach with beach toys - the water is very cold but refreshing to dip your feet into. The restaurant offered a good kids menu and the food was decent (the spinach strawberry salad with feta cheese was surprisingly very good!). I probably would not stay here again because of the value - the Best Western in Revelstoke is a much better value and has a few pools and fitness facility.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ironmom69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have travelled past this hotel so many times and always wanted to stay. Finally made the stop on our way between Victoria and banff. The hotel rooms themselves are basic in the extreme - roadside motel at best - thin particle board doors, worn carpets, old fixtures. When we commented about the showers being close to impossible to regulate the water temperature, the comment was "ya, we have shower issues". And when we asked about the "free wifi", the comment was "good luck, we can't get it to work either".... However the location is wonderful. And the ghost town is a dream for any kid young or old who wants to have a hands on experience of steam engines, hammers, anvils, chains, mining tools, coal carts, rails, spikes, crawl through old dining cars, see the working roundhouse , sit on old tractors, busses, trollies, caboose car, trudeau's rail car etc etc. Clearly the people who put this exhibit together have a great love of all things old west. Mining, trains , dresses, geamma phones, telephones etc etc. there is an entire wall of old glass transformers of all colours. The beach is nice to swim, there is a swing for kids and paddle boats. I think if someone is driving through the rockies and wants to break up the trip, this would be a great location to stop with a family. And if you are a train person, very cool to touch your object of desire.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Overall we greatly enjoyed our stay. The front desk was up front about no cell service and no air conditioning. The view is gorgeous, the weather was awesome, the grounds are well kept up and full of annual and perennial flora and fauna. The rooms are definitely in need of an update. They seem kind of dirty, but we just felt it was wear and tear and time.

Housekeeping was timely and discreet. The family suite was perfect for our needs. We enjoyed the use of the paddle boats, kayaks, beach and more. Lots of people were taking in the helicopter tours.

Food at the restaurant was good and good value. Cafeteria was decent as well.

Really had a great time as a family here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MustangGirlAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
13.1 mi away
The Coast Hillcrest Resort Hotel
12.8 mi away
Glacier House Resort
Glacier House Resort
#10 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
#2 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#5 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
11.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
#7 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
11.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town

Property: Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Address: 8903 Trans Canada Hwy | PO Box 860, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lakefront hotel in Revelstoke nestled between stunning Three Valley Lake and the Monashee Mountains, Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town offers a unique blend of modern comforts and historical attractions. Our Revelstoke resort features 200 comfortable guest room accommodations and suites with beautiful garden or lake views, an onsite restaurant, and a heritage ghost town tour, complete with 25 historic buildings from the late 1800s, an antique auto museum and a railway roundhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Valley Lake Chateau And Ghost Town
3 Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town Hotel Revelstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing