We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hiking and amazing food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Selkirk Mountain Experience Lodge: Durrand Glacier

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Revelstoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Selkirk Mountain Experience Lodge: Durrand Glacier
Vancouver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic hiking and amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Just got back from a wonderful trip to the Durrand Glacier Chalet with Selkirk Mtn Experience and wanted to share!

Our journey started in Revelstoke where we watched a helicopter safety video at the hotel, then took a taxi about 45 minutes outside of Revelstoke to catch our helicopter. This was all included in fees and everything ran like clockwork.

We stayed for a week at the chalet and hiked 6 - 7 hours daily. The hikes were spectacular and we saw glaciers, alpine flowers, mountain goats, lakes, etc. They also offer 4 day packages, but I would have been really sad to leave after only 4 days!

There are two guided hikes to choose from each day; one is a bit shorter (potentially easier) and then the second is longer and often more difficult. You also have the option of venturing out on your own as long as you let the staff know your whereabouts and plan for the day.

The family that runs the chalet is warm, friendly, accomodating and welcoming. The guides were experienced, friendly and knowledgeable (one guide is the family's 18 year old daughter). All the staff were amazing, from the admin/office staff, to the trail builder, hiking guides, chef, owner, etc. Staff are encouraged to sit at a different table each night at dinner and mingle with the guests, so we got to learn lots about them over the course of the week.

Food was plentiful, delicious and you never had to worry about portion sizes. I'm not a picky eater and don't have any dietary needs, but they seemed to do a great job of accommodating for other guests that were lactose intolerant, vegetarian, etc. We had salmon, lamb, butter chicken, roast pork, risotto, lasagna, etc for dinner. Amazing desserts were served each night including old-fashioned hand-churned ice cream. Wine and beer are available for purchase. Lunch is put out each morning around 7:00 am and you "build your own sandwich" along with cookies, fruit, cake, veggies and other snacks.

The chalet is cozy and comfortable with a beautiful deck overlooking the mountains and valley. There's a reading room and a chest full of games to play in the evenings.

Many of the guests that we met at the chalet were returning for their second, third and even ninth stay. That says a lot!

There is one indoor toilet for "pee only" and then three clean outhouses behind the lodge. There is also a separate shower building that has warm showers though you need to be conscious about your shower time and limit your shower to 4 minutes.

Things to Note
- Bring earplugs - the baby mountain goats are really noisy at night!
- Don't forget your hiking poles. They will come in handy for steep downhill grades, snow hiking and loose shale.
- Remember that this is a backcountry chalet that is completely off the grid. Everything needs to be brought in/out with a chopper including the waste from the outhouses and the propane tanks that heat the showers.
- Respect the luggage weight limitations (25 lbs), the shower times and the fact that this is a small scale, family run chalet.
- Tips are optional, but are well deserved and are split amongst the staff.
- There is a small "shop" where you can purchase hats, jackets, merino wool shirts, vests, water bottles, etc that are branded with the Durrand Glacier Chalet logo.
- There is a beautiful film recently produced about the family called A Life Ascending. Watch it - it’s a wonderful film.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caresse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
16
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Better food please. More protein.

Breakfast-day 2. One poached egg on an English muffin. Almost adequate.

Dinner-night 2-curried turnips and carrots-ugh-with yoghurt-even worse. Lovely smell. Lousy food.

And then you wake up to 2 little crepes swimming in orange sauce. No ham? No cheese? No boiled eggs?

And by the way, I weigh about 100 lbs and do not over eat but I was hungry on this trip.

Charge more. Provide better food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hiking L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Perfect combination for a hiking vacation - unbelievable mountain hikes and pampered chalet accommodations. Nicoline, Ruedi and family are exquisite hosts, the food is phenomenal (and abundant) and accommodations are well kept and spotless. Nestled deep in the mountains outside of Revelstoke, the city life is left far behind. Arrival by helicopter was a thrill for the entire family - you really feel you have arrived in a different world. Surrounded by mountain vistas and mountain goats I found that my camera rarely left my hand. The hikes were challenging, but climbing to the top of a mountain peak was worth it. The 360 degree panorama views and that whole "top of the world" feeling are undescribable. We were fortunate enough to still have a good snow base at the top, so the "bum-slide" descent was possible for some portions. Tons of fun - just like tobogganing, without the toboggan. Thanks to our great mountain guide, Esty. We were in good hands.
We definitely hope to return someday.
Gail G.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

The hiking available from the Selkirk Mountain Experience Lodge is spectacular. Over the years, the lodge has developed its own trail system through the steep and marvellously beautiful landscape.The combination of glacier-scraped bedrock, waterfalls, and lush meadows of alpine flowers (the best I've ever seen) is breathtaking. Put that experience together with a comfortable backcountry lodge (with showers, no less!), first class food, high quality guiding, and the nightly visit by mountain goats to the deck is a memorable adventure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freedom005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

My husband and I have been going to the Durrand Chalet for skiing trips for more than 15 years. We loved it so much that we started to take our children to the Lodge for summer hiking. Over the years we have experienced the evolution of the Chalet from a fairly rustic lodge into this spectacular, eco-friendly Chalet with all the amenities one needs for a comfortable mountain Holiday. The Chalet sits at the top of the tree line surrounded by incredibly beautiful mountains, glaciers and lakes. Our hiking has evolved from short walks to nearby lakes to epic hikes with our children as they grew.
Nicolene, Reudi and their two daughters are wonderful hosts who love to share their home and spectacular backyard with guests. My idea of a perfect holiday is waking up to a wonderful European style breakfast, making our bag lunches for the day with nothing but the freshest of food, hiking in pristine wilderness with a good chance of seeing mountain goats, having a soothing sauna and shower in the sauna house, playing Scrabble on the deck while enjoying the late afternoon sun on the mountains and ending with a delicious European 4 course meal!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K123Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

Fantastic opportunity to stay high in the mountains by a glacier above Revelstoke in Bristish Columbia. The chalet can only be reached by helicopter. We were greeted by Nicoline and her husband Ruedi with an extra breakfast and an array of freshly made food to take on our first hike. The care and attention and delicious food continued throughout our time – including the special care of their daughter Charlotte who took us up and down mountains at a special pace because of a recent knee operation! The amazing views, amazing walks and evenly the amazingly spotless long drop loo should not be missed by any visitor to BC/the Rockies who loves the mountains and scenery.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

Selkirk Mountain Experience (informally known as the chalet at Durrand Glacier) is a wilderness lodge located in the Selkirk Mountains of British Columbia, a short helicopter ride from Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada. The only access is by helicopter and you are unlikely to encounter anyone who is not staying at the chalet.

The chalet is clean and beautiful, but slightly rustic, as there is no plumbing in the rooms, just one indoor bathroom with a cold-water sink and a pee-only toilet. There is an outhouse accessible via the porch, which is kept extremely clean at all times. There is a shower building near the chalet, with hot and cold water. They ask that you keep showers brief due to the cost of bringing in propane by helicopter. The same building houses a sauna, which is only used in winter (maybe due to the hazard of fire in summer). The rooms are small but very comfortable and clean. The chalet has its own small private hydroelectric generator and there is a 110-volt 60-cycle AC power strip in the changing room, which guests can use to recharge batteries for portable devices. There is no cell phone coverage, but there is free WiFi for guests, who are requested to use computers only in their rooms, and not in the common areas. There is a small but comfortable sitting room, and a large and comfortable dining area. A wide porch surrounds three sides of the chalet, and on the back side gives access to the outhouse, which is clean and spacious.

The food is excellent and plentiful, and they will accommodate a vegetarian diet if requested in advance. The chalet is run by the owners, who live in a separate house about a one-minute walk up the hill from the chalet.

Selkirk Mountain Experience holds exclusive rights to a considerable area of land surrounding the chalet, and it is the most spectacularly beautiful place I've ever seen. Thus the hiking here is beyond compare. It is surrounded by glaciers and the land is cut by torrents of snow-melt and glacier-melt water, the best water I've ever tasted. The hiking is by and large fairly extreme, as the land is steep, so many of the trails are steep. Normally there will be two guides, offering a long hike and a short hike each day, and all the guides I've had there in a cumulative total of four weeks have been very competent and friendly. Although you can walk to a nearby lake and relax all day long in beautiful surroundings, I recommend this place mainly to people who like hiking up and down the sides of mountains.

They also offer technical climbing, which should be booked in advance, as one of the owners is the mountain guide so availability may be limited. The other guides, for hiking, are hiking guides and do not lead technical climbing. My experience is only the hiking.

The chalet offers skiing in winter, but I do not ski and so cannot comment on conditions, though I am sure that if you ski at the requisite level (contact them for details) it would be a fabulous place for it.

If you like hiking in the mountains, I recommend them without the slightest hesitation.

  • Liked — Everything was fantastic, but the hiking was my reason for going.
  • Disliked — Lack of plumbing in the rooms.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank daniel1948x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
1.4 mi away
The Coast Hillcrest Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#5 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
#2 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Revelstoke Lodge
Revelstoke Lodge
#9 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
#7 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selkirk Mountain Experience Lodge: Durrand Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selkirk Mountain Experience Lodge: Durrand Glacier

Property: Selkirk Mountain Experience Lodge: Durrand Glacier
Address: 111A Mackenzie Ave | Box 2998, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selkirk Mountain Experience is one of the world's finest hiking, ski touring & mountaineering companies. Selkirk Mountain Experience offers a wide variety of programs to cater to alpine adventurers around the world. The superb skiing on the pristine glaciers & countless alpine peaks surrounding the Durrand Glacier, in the heart of the Selkirk Mountains, are highly popular with skiers & snowboarders. In the summer, over 100 varieties of wildflowers, crystal clear mountain lakes, huge waterfalls & snow-capped peaks attract hikers & climbers. The chalet offers all the amenities for a comfortable stay for up to 18 people. Each day the chalet chef prepares delicious meals. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing