We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Review of The Wicked Spoon - CLOSED

The Wicked Spoon
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was part of a group of 4 driving from Calgary to Vancouver. We stopped overnight in Salmon Arm and immediately starting looking for a place to eat. We wanted to avoid having fast food and pub food. Wicked Spoon came up with a quick search on the internet and it appeared to have great reviews. It was also within walking distance of our hotel and right off Highway 1 - easy to find.

The atmosphere was nice, there was a sizable patio but as it was nearing sunset, we opted to dine inside, and sat in a booth. The menu had a lot of options, including some unique flavor combinations and I found it hard to pick something to eat. I got a gluten-free pepperoni pizza from the Schooner's pizza menu (Wicked Spoon's sister restaurant). My companions got the beef dip, the lamb burger, and the turkey and brie melt.

All were delicious! To be honest, I was a bit skeptical about how the gluten-free crust would turn out on the pizza, but it was perfect - thin crust, crispy, and the toppings were great. My friends really enjoyed their meals as well. I had a taste of the lamb burger and had food envy - if I find myself back in Salmon Arm I am defintely going here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgespina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    35
    25
    12
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tortola
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It was fine”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Food was fine, good selection of items on the menu. My salad didn't come with everything listed on the menu so was a bit disappointed in that. Server was very friendly, decor was funky although it was a bit dark inside. I wouldn't make a specific trip to eat there but not a bad choice if you're in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoosterTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Plenty of much better options !”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Contemporary decor, but the food and service receiving a failing grade . They were fairly busy when our party of six arrived, and perhaps understaffed. However the restaurant steadily emptied over the following hour as we waited for our food. After waiting over an hour our drinks long since emptied without any courtesy refills our food started to arrive. Six dishes spread out over ten minutes. Simple & plain food that was dry, overcooked, burnt, and in several cases lacked the advertised ingredients stated on the menu. Plenty of much better options in the area !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank global3adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over all good resturant”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The wicked spoon has good food and friendly staff. The decor is really nice. They have an amazing quinoa veggie burger...a little messy but yummy! And they also have a dinner buffet friday nights and a brunch buffet on sundays, if you like buffets!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fresh fare,reasonable prices.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Not feeling adventurous,I ordered a clubhouse and was pleased that it had real,unprocessed turkey in it.The decor is contemporary,slightly dark,very clean.
The servers are young but competent and friendly/helpful. It all comes at a reasonable price too - 12.00 for the sandwich with a caesar salad.
It isn't haute cuisine for foodies but you won't be disappointed.
They have a nice outdoor patio.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VanCityTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wicked Spoon also viewed

Salmon Arm, British Columbia
Salmon Arm, British Columbia
 
Salmon Arm, British Columbia
Salmon Arm, British Columbia
 
Salmon Arm, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing