We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Deceiving”
Review of Podollan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Podollan Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Salmon Arm
Calgary, AB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Deceiving”
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Where do I start - this hotel is totally misleading. We booked based on their website - Warning: do not expect to get what they advertise! The rooms are NOTHING like advertised on the website. We expected modern posh looking rooms but we got 80s cheap motel decor and colors. The room was big, but it was so old fashioned and cheap looking. And the bedding smelled like old women's perfume. The bathroom was probably the nicest part - too bad it didn't reflect throughout the rest of the room.

The one thing we hoped to take advantage of was the "Tropical Pool". It looks like it could be nice - if they cleaned it. It was so dirty, and there were a ton of spiders and bugs in the pool. It looked like they hadn't cleaned it in years. We were also told it was a heated pool, but as we expected it was freezing. A few areas felt warm. There was a tiny little hot tub next to the pool that wasn't turned on and again it was dirty and full of insects. We couldn't beleive it. It was just one disappointment after another.

The sign outside on their building says "Podallan Inn & Spa". There is no spa. Why they have this on the sign is beyond me, but they are totally misleading in every other aspect so it didn't surprise us in the least. There is another gross hot tub on the second floor of the second building. It wasn't turned on and it wasn't clean - maybe this is what they consider the spa.

I am still disgusted that we payed almost $200 after taxes for this room. Their prices are outrageous for this place- they charge way to much. Never again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovethebeach-xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    254
    108
    58
    54
See reviews for
373
230
42
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quesnel, Bc Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

stayed here during a curling bonspeil, was a great place to stay. Rooms were clean and well appointed. Staff was friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable. Being on the trans canada hyw it was difficult to walk to our events at the sports complex as there were no sidewalks but car access was very easy. Also the taxi's were great in Salmon Arm. Very fast service and friendly, clean cabs.
Hot tub was good but a bit busy, Pool was outdoor so closed. Looks really nice for the summer. Continental breakfast was very handy, opened at 7:00am and closed at 10:00 am. A bit lacking in protein stuff, but had all the standard fare. Very clean dining area and well serviced.
Overall a positive experience, would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Liked — clean room at reasonable price
  • Disliked — walking access to town and sports center poor
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sarabyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

We stayed at this hotel because of a family wedding - there were many family members booking rooms here so we got an excellent rate. I asked and the rate is substantially more in the summertime without a discount.

The rooms were large and well-decorated. We had a ground floor room with a fenced large patio opening onto the pool area which is lovely. The grounds of this hotel are very nice and well-kept. Check out the website. The rooms have fridges, coffee makers, microwaves... which really made it handy for us.

The staff was helpful - allowing me in at 10 a.m. because of arrival arrangements. There is a continental breakfast - with lots of variety - and a restaurant on site.

Our family decided we will definitely plan a getaway to this hotel next summer.

  • Liked — spacious rooms with large patio into pool area
  • Disliked — level parking - meant I had to walk uphill to car often
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chardBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2008

Arriving to this room after driving 10 hours and expecting at least something like the photos advertised on the hotel’s website, showing modern furnishings in rich warm colors, I was very disappointed.

I thought I booked a hotel room, but our room was comparable to a side of the highway motel room, complete with frequent sleep interruption due to ridiculously loud plumbing noises (something like I imagine the inside of a submarine sounds when it has descended too quickly and the integrity of the hull is compromised).

The décor was eighties Miami but done in a color scheme of various human excrement.
It was the dead of winter and the freezing room was made worse by the tile floor. I’m not talking travertine, it could have been painted concrete.
The bathroom shower was reminiscent of a 70s bachelor pad with a ledge a few inches thick and composed entirely of prison shower tile.

The hotel was clean, it wasn’t a hovel or anything. Also, we were told our room was in the “back suites” so it's possible the average room in the hotel building is better. But if I’m going to stay in a 2 star motel room, I shouldn’t have to pay 4 star hotel prices.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel015, General Manager at Podollan Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2008
We are pleased to announce that we are under new Management. We have made extensive renovations, completely painting the entire hotel, renovating and changing the resaurant and updating the gardens. Our huge tropical pool has been painted and improved as well. We offer guest rooms that are pet friendly in our Oasis building (in a separate buidling near the pool) and this was the area that you were placed in. These rooms have also been renovated and look great. You will be impressed with our hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2007

Well,

I've been staying at one of the other major properties in town for some time now. I've never been totally pleased, however, I never expected much from small towns. As I travel around a lot, I stay in many small town hotels, so what's the point in switching. I had the Podollan mentioned to me by a colleagues, he said it was the best in town. He also said when he's in the area doing sales calls to Vernon and Kamloops, Chase, Revelstoke, etc... he still stays there. So, I had to try it out for myself. He was right! It's great, the beds are so comfortable, it's almost unreal. Feather duvets, feather pillows, huge rooms, one of the BEST continental breakfasts I have ever seen, it has cottage cheese. The price is lower than what the average says on this site, so disregard that. The staff was so wonderfully helpful and friendly, the restaurant is good, with nice sized portions, not to mention they have a great local wine list, so you don't have to stumble far after you eat if you are staying there. I would have no problem in recommending them to anyone, leisure or business.

  • Liked — The staff and the beds, at different times...
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank e_k_stimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2007

We stayed one night at the hotel, expecting to see the hotel advertised in the photo gallery on their website. Unfortunately, those photos are of their other locations, and not the Salmon Arm one. We had booked a one bedroom suite, but there was no door, which basically negated the usefulness of a suite (trying to block out the noise for a sleeping toddler). The floor was entirely of tile, which is practical poolside for summer, but cold and noisy in winter. The floors were also filthy. My toddler's feet were BLACK after an hour of wandering around. The couch was made of VINYL, enough said. The only thing we liked were the friendly staff, and the sheets are fairly soft. We will not be going back.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank i8alaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Alberta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We spent three nights in the Inn. The people at the reception desk were courteous and helpful. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. There was a door leading to a small but pleasant patio area. The air conditioner worked well and the air did not blow on our face.The bathroom was well lit and the shower was excellent. The bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean and everthing was dust-free. The free continental breakfast was in a room with a beautiful view of the valley. The food was what you would expect for a continental breakfast -cereal, fruits, coffee, juices, bagels, toast as well as muffins and danish pastry. Oh yes, another thing we really appreciated was the fact that the Manager greeted us and was interested in our opinion of the Inn. Overall, an excellent place to stay! Bob and Ellen from Leduc, Alberta

  • Liked — The overall excellent quality of the room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnLeduc_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salmon Arm
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Salmon Arm
331 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Salmon Arm Inn
16.0 mi away
Best Western Sicamous Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Prestige Harbourfront Resort
2.2 mi away
The Inn at the Ninth Hole Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Salmon Arm
Super 8 Salmon Arm
#7 of 8 in Salmon Arm
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podollan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podollan Inn

Property: Podollan Inn
Address: 1460 Trans Canada Hwy NE, Salmon Arm, British Columbia V1E 2S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salmon Arm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Salmon Arm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Podollan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our custom built, locally owned and operated luxury boutique hotel with all the features of local lifestyle, from individually decorated spacious rooms, free Wifi and deluxe continental breakfast, to friendly caring staff, at an affordable price. Take in the cultural journey, the authentic lifestyle and experience the outdoor adventure of Salmon Arm, BC. We are close to everything. Imagine yourself in a Podollan Inn guest room with views of the Lake, mountains, or the pool, gardens and 18 acres of forested trails. Request a poolside room with a patio and relax outside with access to our stunning pool. Or enjoy a free pass to the aquatic centre. Taste local fresh flavours at Table 24, Triple Diamond rated. End your day in a pillow top bed with premium linens. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Podollan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podollan Inn And Spa
Podollan Hotel Salmon Arm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing