We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing Hotel”
Review of Podollan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Podollan Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Salmon Arm
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We saw on TripAdvisor that this place had 4.5 stars so we went here but what a disappointment! The floor had large raisins and pills on it and it was dusty along the baseboards. Worn out mattresses, everything in this place screamed out-of-date and it wasn't sound proof at all so we heard traffic and sounds clearly from adjacent rooms. Certainly not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tooldusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie L, Director of Sales at Podollan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We appreciate your comments. Our housekeeping department takes great pride in the quality of their work and guests often comment on the cleanliness of our rooms. There was obviously an oversight in your situation and we apologize. We take all feedback seriously and continually assess how we can improve our product. We hope you will try us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (940)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 941 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights as we were passing through on our family vacation. We came for the pool, but arrived late the first night and it was pretty cold so we sat mostly in the hot tub. It was very chloriney but perfect temperature. We had the junior suite with 2 king beds which were very comfy, room very spacious with a table which is handy for the morning. The only disappointment with the hotel was the restaurant. For a family friendly hotel the restaurant was not so. And they were very short staffed which makes for terrible service. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOlanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for a summer vacation trip to the Shuswap. The rooms are quiet with kitchenettes (including a gas range) and the beds were comfortable. The pool area was enjoyable with tons of space for swimmers and sunbathers. Be sure to request a first floor room with a patio overlooking the pool, if you want a nice place for your morning coffee or evening cocktail. We didn't request one, and wish we had. The restaurant is very lovely, too. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a little patio by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadWearyWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

An unexpected and welcome surprise -- an excellent bed, very clean room, good restaurant. We stayed only for one night, as we were on the road home, but would gladly stay again and will recommend to our friends.
Also, the phone link to the hotel from the TripAdvisor app worked very well for us -- I commended the hotel on having this link because it was very helpful to be able to make the reservation while we were on the road.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Two adults, 9 , 6 & 1 year old. We were greeted at the desk and the rep upgraded our 2 Queen bed to a King suite at no cost. Playpen was used for the baby. The playpen was in good condition and clean. The room was large, clean and temperature control was maintained by two AC units. Small fridge and a microwave were included. The bathroom was small but suited us just as well.

The room was quiet and comfortable. Our room had a king and queen bed, sofa and small nook-style table. Ticky-tack complaints: crappy shower head, musty shower curtain, small bathroom sink area, not walking distance to amenities, WiFi signal is only average.

There is a restaurant in the hotel but we didn't attend, despite receiving breakfast coupons at check-in. We brought our own breakfast foods with us.

The pool is the main event at this property. It is a tropical, outdoor, resort-style pool. It is the largest and most creative pool we have been to at a hotel property in Canada. The pool is complimented by a nice hot tub. Fountains, plants, trees and rock waterfalls surround the pool area. There are plenty of loungers to relax in with little tables and sun shades. There are even pool toys provided. Washrooms are poolside as well.

There is no fitness center here which was a disappointment. They do provide a voucher for admittance to the local gym, which is short drive east. We didn't use the voucher, because the fitness center wasn't in walking distance.

Guest services and housekeeping staff were very friendly. We forgot one of the children's most prized possessions in the room after check-out. We were happy to hear the staff were sending it by courier to our residence.

We will be back to this property and look forward to it.

Room Tip: King suite was great & suitable for our family of 5. Poolside may be noisy but we found the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KOA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were on a 3 week vacation and stayed here on our second last night away from home. Wow, were we happy. It was so nice compared to every other place we stayed. The staff was nice, the hotel was very clean, the room was very spacious, the decoration was nice, the beds and pillows were very comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and clean, the fridge and coffee maker were clean and in a beautiful wood cabinet. They even had new LED light bulbs. It was quiet, we never heard anyone through the walls. So much thought and care was put into the property. The pool is lovely and there are so many nice water features like a few waterfalls and water fountains. They had pool noodles for the kids to play with. We were so happy with our stay, I would strongly recommend this to everyone. Everything was 100% perfect, and we travel a lot, I wish all places were this nice and clean and comfortable!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calgary_momie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had an enjoyable stay at the Pollodan Inn. It is a quiet, well maintained property with helpful staff. We stayed in the main building on the second floor. There was also a second motel style building behind the main one.(maybe more affordable?) Our room was large, new and clean. The beds were comfortable with down duvets.(a little heavy). Air conditioning was good but quite noisy clicking on and off during the night. The pool was unique and very nice. The deepest point being 4 ft. They offered poolside beverage and food service from their onsite restaurant "Table 24". Right off the Trans Canada Hwy, we loved that we could get Tim Horton's within 5 mins in either direction of this inn! Short and easy drive to grocery stores, restaurants, the harbour and Canoe Beach. My booking was a little pricey but I booked last minute in July so that's to be expected. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadtrippinFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie L, Director of Sales at Podollan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your spacious room, fine linens, the cleanliness, stunning pool and our ideal location. The poolside menu is new and we hope guests will enjoy the convenience of lounging by the pool, having a bite to eat and a cool beverage. It’s particularly nice for parents wanting to relax and not worry about feeding the kids. The children’s menu has such items as pizza, chicken fingers, and mac and cheese; all housemade. We'll look forward to having you stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salmon Arm
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Salmon Arm
355 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Salmon Arm Inn
16.1 mi away
Best Western Sicamous Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Prestige Harbourfront Resort
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Salmon Arm BC
Travelodge Salmon Arm BC
#6 of 8 in Salmon Arm
366 reviews
19.3 mi away
Quaaout Lodge & Spa at Talking Rock Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podollan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podollan Inn

Address: 1460 Trans Canada Hwy NE, Salmon Arm, British Columbia V1E 2S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salmon Arm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Salmon Arm
Price Range: $88 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Podollan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Framed by a large stunning resort style outdoor seasonal pool, hiking trails and views of Shuswap Lake, Podollan Inn Salmon Arm is the area’s premier resort-style luxury boutique hotel. Featuring 71 rooms and suites designed to take guest comfort to new heights, we offer a warm, friendly and independently owned alternative to the chain-style hotels in the region. Our hotel is set back from the Trans-Canada Highway and within walking distance of the charming downtown centre, Shuswap Lake and the area’s largest wharf. We’re surrounded by rich farmland, charming wineries, forested highlands and mountains that make the Shuswap & Okanagan Valley one of the most beautiful destinations in British Columbia. In addition to spacious rooms and suites with kitchenettes, guest comforts include fresh, locally-sourced cuisine at Table 24 Restaurant, complimentary continental breakfast buffet and Wi-Fi as well as indoor and outdoor settings for meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Podollan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podollan Inn And Spa
Podollan Hotel Salmon Arm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing