We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Salmon Arm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We had booked in here for an overnight on our way from Canmore to Vancouver and were very impressed.
Friendly check in,lovely big room, clean and nicely furnished.Sitting area with fridge, microwave,iron and ironing board and great coffee machine.
Free internet.
We used the pool and hot tub which were very nice.
Breakfast was included and we were amazed at the quantity of items available, including eggs and bacon, Danish, toast, cereals, fruit, juices, tea and coffee and THE MOST amazing pancake machine.
Push a button, wait for about a minute, and two delicious, just made, pancakes pop onto your plate, children and adults alike were having great fun making and eating these yummy pancakes and there was maple syrup, sugar syrup, peanut butter and jam to have with them.
Would stay here again, if only for the pancakes!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank sentosa54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexsa, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you for the great review!

We also love the new pancake machine, it took some time to learn how to keep it happy but I now know from personal experience that it makes delicious pancakes. Hopefully you can make it out to Canada again sometime soon. Thank you again.

Mark Lein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 349 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2011

I have stayed at this beautiful property several times and every stay has been excellent. We are greeted by great staff - Twya, Mark, Jill, and most recently Marie? (sorry, not sure on the name she was a mature lady who made me feel like I was coming home) The rooms are spotless, the beds extremely comfortable, and we always enjoy ordering the "still in theatres" pay per view movies. They really put out a great breakfast too, more than most and lots of it.
We highly recommend this hotel whenever you are traveling to the Salmon Arm area!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl_N_GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexsa, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank you for your kind words! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took the time to appreciate several of the amenities that the hotel has to offer. We all look forward to having you back at the hotel.

Mark Lein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

First, this hotel is downright difficult to access. You can see it easily from the highway but just try getting there. Either east or west bound, the HIE is right beside the highway however the access roads are about 1 km either way and not signed in any way
Good reception desk, clean standard HIE room, very good bed with well lit bathroom with lots of counter space. Our room must have been a long way from the water heater as it took a long time to get to temperature but when it did there it was great heat and lots of water. Very nice shower head.
Fast WiFi and exercise room with two each recumbent bikes and treamills. Unfortunately the pool and hot tub were out of service.
Standard HIE breakfast fare in a larger than usual and pleasant separate room.
Downside: access as described above, and the room walls are thin enough to hear the drunks come back from their party.
If you have stayed at most HIE's, then you have stayed here and that's not a bad thing.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trafdlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexsa, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2011

Thank you for staying with us. I do apologize for the difficulties you had accessing the hotel from the highway. We have been working with the Ministry of Transportation and the City of Salmon Arm to get better signage to direct guests to the hotel and we have been told that the signage should be installed by late spring. Also, the newly painted pool is open again so you'll have to try it during your next stay with us. As for the party goers, they have a way of being heard unfortunately but a call down to the front desk and someone will be up immediately to quietly direct them to their room. I am glad that you had many positive things to say about the hotel and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Mark Lein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed at this hotel on our way home from Alberta to Vancouver BC. The hotel looks very nice. Our room (a 2 queen bed suite with french doors) at first glance looked like just what we needed. The pool was nice, but the water was somewhat cold, and there is not much room to swim if you're not interested in using the slide, and it was quite crowded at times!
After playing in the pool for a while we settled down in our room. The kids went to sleep at 8pm. At 9pm some kids in neighbouring rooms started playing a loud game of hockey in the hallway! Thankfully one of the other guests reprimanded them and they retreated back to their room. I guess this would be more the fault of the parents than the hotel. But overall there was still a LOT of noise coming from the hallway. We were close to the elevator, and anytime a group of people was waiting for the elevator, we could hear their conversation word for word. Also our neighbours above us were making a lot of noise. I'm not sure what they were doing, but it sounded like a party was going on. And at 6am they also woke us up with loud noises. Very annoying!
The room was SO hot. It was December. We made sure the heater was off, it was. It got SO stuffy in the room we could hardly breathe. We only noticed the next morning that there was a cool setting on the thermostat, so we turned it on. But really, airconditioning in December? That should not be necessary...

Breakfast at this hotel is only available until 9:30am. So at 9am a HUGE crowd of people came in, and there was not enough room for everyone to sit. I think breakfast should be available until at least 10:30-11 am, especially in a hotel that has 4 floors of guests to feed.

During our trip we stayed at 3 hotels, and this hotel was our least favorite, even though we paid almost double for our stay compared to the other hotels. It's an expensive stay for the quality of service you receive. Next time we will stay at a different hotel, maybe a different town. We've never stayed at a Holiday Inn Express before this experience, and I don't think we ever will again...NOT RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank il0vemykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexsa, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2011

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express. I am very sorry that you had a unsatisfactory stay with us. Things can get... lively on hockey weekends as you had the misfortune of discovering. There's a different dynamic in the hotel when you add around 100 children and it's most noticeable in the pool, breakfast room and in the hallways. As we are informed of problems such as impromptu hockey games in the hallway or loud gatherings in rooms we deal with them as quickly and quietly as possible. We do walk the hallways occasionally and remind people to be considerate of other guests but unfortunately we have to depend on our guests to inform of us any issues when we're not upstairs.

As for the hot/stuffy room, perhaps just leaving the window open a crack would do the trick. A hotel room, even a suite, is much smaller than a house and houses usually have the air circulated by the ducting whereas hotel rooms don't have ducting other than the bathroom fan.

Hopefully you can stay with us again not on a hockey weekend and see how the hotel is under normal conditions. Thank you again for staying with us and i'm sorry that your stay wasn't as satisfying as it could, or should have been.

Mark Lein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

This looked like a relatively new Holiday Inn Express it was clean and well presented. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was spacious, clean and tidy. Breakfast was a typical holiday inn style breakfast but in a nicer room. Certainly one of the better Holiday Inn Express hotels that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldgang598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexsa, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2011

Thank you for your very kind comments. I am pleased that you had such a positive experience at the hotel.

Mark Lein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

On check in I was immediately recognized as a platinum club member and given an upgraded room (king suite). The other check-in person overheard my status and handed over a gift bag of goodies. The room was very large and comfortable, big bathroom (with shampoo, lotion, sewing kit etc.,) nice size sitting room with a second TV, and quite sound proof. The TVs, although a large size were of a poorer quality than hoped for (Panasonic).

As at all HI Express the breakfast bar was good and well stocked. They must have had a full house because it was really crowded, quite a line up all the time that the 2 staff were run off their feet. The seating area was an OK size but because on the number of people they open up a banquet room to sit, however it was freezing in there so very few people went in.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tailes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexsa, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2011

We certainly do appreciate our platinum level club members so a little goody bag and a complimentary upgrade are tokens of that appreciation.

We will be getting new TVs before the end of the current year. I'm not yet sure what brand they will be, possibly LG or Samsung among others. But they will be LCD TVs and we will be getting digital and HD channels to go along with the new TVs so look forward to that.

Thank you for your stay with us and your comments here. I hope you manage to make it back to Salmon Arm after we change the TVs.

Mark Lein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We needed a place to stay as we drove relatives from Vancouver to Banff. This proved to be ideal - clean, comfortable, excellent service and advice at the front desk, just far enough off the highway to be quiet, and a very convenient (deluxe) continental breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexsa, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2011

Thank you for staying at our hotel. I'm happy that you and your relatives had such a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Mark Lein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salmon Arm
0.5 mi away
Podollan Inn
Podollan Inn
#2 of 8 in Salmon Arm
918 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Salmon Arm Inn
15.5 mi away
Best Western Sicamous Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Prestige Harbourfront Resort
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Salmon Arm BC
Travelodge Salmon Arm BC
#6 of 8 in Salmon Arm
354 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Inn at the Ninth Hole 5 star Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 1090 22 St NE, Salmon Arm, British Columbia V1E 2V5, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salmon Arm
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Salmon Arm
Price Range: $81 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Salmon Arm
Holiday Inn Salmon Arm
Holiday Inn Express Salmon Arm
Salmon Arm Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing