We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Euro-cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hedi's Wine Bistro - CLOSED

Hedi's Wine Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Wine Bar, German, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We invite you to relax and enjoy a delicious dining experience in a cozy atmosphere. Our mission is to have you completely satisfied by providing the best service, best ingredients and a fantastic menu customized to your needs and likes
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Euro-cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Very pleased to find a restaurant of this caliber in Salmon Arm. Great selection of entres and beverages, very relaxing and friendly atmosphere and the food was simply delicious. Got so engaged in chatting with Matts, our veg was slightly overdone, but Rouladen is to write home about.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickSandyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    27
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“They gave away our rouladen...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

A party arrived half an hour after we had been seated. We had already ordered: rouladen and a pork dish. The waiter liked came over and explained the rouladen was not good enough to serve and offered us another choice. He then served the rouladen (obviously the last serving) to the other party! It took an hour and fifteen minutes for our salads to arrive, and another hour for the meat. A long evening!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JulieVancouver2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lives up to the reputation. Great place to eat and enjoy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Went here for my birthday supper, my parents came from out of town and I wanted to go somewhere nice.
We enjoyed all aspects of the meal and the service, which was very personal and focused on our enjoyment.

The food was very good, and my dad enjoyed a nice local beer that was very good too.

This place is unique, run by a German couple and their son, the kitchen is just like a regular home kitchen almost. It's amazing the quality that comes out of it. The son does most of the front end care, and we found him to be funny, pleasant and typically German with his dry sarcastic sense of humour and detail oriented manner.

Can't wait to take my wife here when she is back in town.
Danke!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Entertaining dining!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We continued our gastronomic tour of the Rockies, by visiting Hedi's. The TA reviews were spot on: very good food and good choice available. What we hadn't expected was the somewhat eccentric, but thoroughly entertaining waiter (Matthias?) who said he was the son of Hedi and Rainer - the owners and co-chefs. With a dry sense of humour and fun quips Matthias made for an enjoyable evening (especially when he went outside for a cigarette between courses and had to be followed (on occasions) by his dad who presumably said when the next meal was ready for serving!). The food was very good quality, and was served hot albeit on cold plates, which meant that some of the meal went cold very quickly - perhaps the odd logistics of serving had something to do with the cold plates! Overall, the restaurant is well worthy of a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank familytravel4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainerca, General Manager at Hedi's Wine Bistro, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear Famillytravel 4x4

thank you very much for taking the time for the review.
Since we had your input, our plates are now heated before serving and it sure makes a big difference. We can only get better. Hope your travels went well you you're back home, safe and sound.

We're looking forward seeing you again on your next adventures.

Best wishes
Hedi, Rainer and Matthias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Saw the reviews and decided to give it a go.
Heidi was very welcoming and the chef,who may be her husband,came out to greet us with a free spoon of food he was experimenting with,it was good.
We both decided on the Rib eye and it was done perfectly.
As stated in other posts the food is freshly made so you do have a little wait,but it is worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RHukUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hedi's Wine Bistro also viewed

Salmon Arm, British Columbia
Salmon Arm, British Columbia
 
Salmon Arm, British Columbia
 
Salmon Arm, British Columbia
Salmon Arm, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing