We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Bed & Breakfast, top rate”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salmon Arm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Destination Spa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Salmon Arm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pitt Meadows
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A wonderful Bed & Breakfast, top rate”
Reviewed July 27, 2010

A one night stay on the way to Alberta, we thoroughly enjoyed this relaxing, upscale, extremely clean B&B in Salmon Arm, very close to restaurants and the lakeside nature walk. The hosts are outgoing, accommodating and extremely pleasant, seeking to make your stay very comfortable. The view of the lake from the guest's suites is lovely, and a large, sunny patio off of the 'common room' is comfortably outfitted for relaxation. WiFi was included with the stay, very useful for my husband and son.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    14
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
90
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in this lovely home overlooking the lake with superb views. Toby and Kevin were great hosts. Toby prepares the most delicious breakfast. The guest have use of a seperate lounge area and outside balcony. Although the rooms are not en-suite the private bathrooms are lovely.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyhoy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We were well taken care of during our last minute stay (family emergency) in Salmon Arm. The view from the B&B rooms was the best part of the stay. The breakfast was very good and the suites and common spaces were impeccably clean. The only complaint was around the level of comfort - the rules posted everywhere made for a less-than-relaxed stay. I'm sure they were meant in the spirit of a gentle reminder but it really rubbed a few of us traveling together the wrong way. It was hard to feel comfortable speaking above a whisper after 11pm or sleeping in a bed where the hosts have left you notes on the pillows letting you know how expensive and delicate the bedding is that you must remove all make up and refrain from wearing lotions, etc. My recommendation would be to ease up on the rules and perchance aim for comfort over style in the decor zone. It would've gone a long way in terms of making us feel welcome!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simply-the-best2010, Owner at Destination Spa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your overall experience at Destination Spa Bed & Breakfast. To clarify points of concern, we would like prospective guests to know that we do our utmost to provide a restful and memorable stay. We ask our guests to kindly respect the other guests, and request a “quiet time” after 11:00 p.m., so that weary travelers or those who need to get an early start can be assured of a restful night.

We have spared no expense on furnishing our rooms in an elegant manner. We provide up-scale linens and top-dressings for the pleasure of our guests. Unfortunately, in the past there have been instances where these features have been ruined by oils, makeup, etc. at a substantial cost. It has become necessary to provide a friendly reminder to our guests, as a weary traveler may forget to remove these before bed.

For the most part, information in the rooms is a mandatory requirement of Tourism British Columbia’s “Approved Accommodation” quality assurance program, of which we have been members since our inception. Other information is just friendly reminders to ensure a quality stay for all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

The strangest B&B we have stayed in. Really nice place but rules, rules, rules! Guests are not allowed to use the front door (must come in through the garage), cannot go outside without wearing their special footwear, when breakfast is over - OUT YOU GO and don't come back until after 5:00 PM! They call you during the evening to ask when you are coming back - we presume so they can go to bed early. Remember when you were a kid and your Mother wouldn't allow you in the living room when it was clean? That is how it is here. A copy of the Innkeeper Act accompanies the rules on the bed so you know what the penalties are for doing anything wrong. Special pillows and comforter covers are for show and not allowed to be used. Kind of like Auschwitz but nice inside with good food.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhalwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simply-the-best2010, Owner at Destination Spa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
We strive to provide an enjoyable experience for all guests. We pride ourselves on keeping a safe, immaculate, clean accommodation, for the pleasure and comfort of all guests. Our guests, in other postings, have stated this is appreciated.

Guests are greeted at our front door, and then referred to the garage entrance so that their footwear will be indoors and protected from the weather. We ask that outdoor shoes be removed while in the home for cleanliness purposes. Special sanitized footwear is provided for guests when they go outside or onto the view decks. To ensure a clean environment, we kindly request that this footwear be removed and left outside,

As this is a residence, and we are home most of the time, there is the odd occasion when we both need to attend a meeting or appointment. This is explained during booking and prior to a guest’s arrival. If the guest is compatible with the fact that we will be away for a period of time, and the home will be closed until we return due to insurance purposes, the booking is made on mutual agreement. We regret that some guests forget they made this arrangement.

It is very common for guests to advise us that they will be returning home at a certain time to change and freshen-up before going out for the evening. This is when we give our guests the nightly lock-up procedures, to ensure the safety of other guests. If the guest fails to return as planned, we feel that the necessity of a phone call to them is appropriate to ensure that the guest is safe or not having vehicle difficulty, lost, etc., and to also inquire as to their approximate time of return in the evening, as they would have missed the information regarding lock-up procedures. In this way, we know how late we need to stay up to await their return so that the residence can be locked securely behind them for the security of other guests.

We provide special top-dress bedding and decorative pillows on our beds, for the pleasure of our guests. As there has been occasion where guests have used these as bedding and were soiled, we graciously ask they be removed prior sleeping.

A copy of the “Innkeepers Act” in all rooms is a mandatory requirement by Tourism B.C.’s “Approved Accommodations” program, of which we pride ourselves as being members.

We strive to provide a friendly, relaxed, first-class environment for discerning travelers that expect a safe, clean, and memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

We enjoyed our stay here (very friendly hosts, fabulous breakfast, beautiful house) but there were a couple things that weren’t quite to our expectations:
- their web site on bbcanada.com indicated "private baths". They DO NOT have private baths; there is one bathroom that is shared between the three guest rooms.
- the rooms do not have their own tv. There is a common area with a tv but the tv was not working during our visit (although the hosts did say they'd be replacing it soon).
The above two points are very important to us and we would not have picked this b&b if we'd known these things. Therefore, although other aspects of the b&b were great, we can not personally recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanWaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simply-the-best2010, Owner at Destination Spa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 24, 2010
We thank you for your response, however we would like to clarify a few points.
In regards to the bathroom facilities, our website states that we have private and shared bathrooms. We in fact have two bathrooms to facilitate the three rooms we offer. One room is gaurenteed a private bathroom . In the event of another booking that evening, that room would also have a private bathroom. Only in the event that we are fully booked, would one bathroom be shared. This shared bathroom is kept immaculatly clean, sanitized, and checked several times throuhout the day. It is also just a few steps from your either room. So, for the most part, and under normal operating conditions, rooms would have a private bathroom.

The television in the common area has been replaced, and now features a 52" wide screen. We have not placed T.V.s in the rooms, as some of the rooms are side by side, and we want to ensure other guests have a peaceful rest and not disturbed by a loud T.V. in the next room.
As you may see in other posts, this has not been a problem, and has been appreciated by guests wanting to read in their room, and wanting a quiet, restful evening. We hope prospective guests will enjoy and appreciate this as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

if you're traveling in this part of the world it's worth seeking out this b&b. the b&b facilities are on a separate floor of the house. all are first rate in every way, and they are meticulously maintained with artful touches all around. all of the guest suites have stunning views of lake shuswap. your hosts, toby and kevin, go out of their way to make you welcome and to help make your stay pleasant and memorable. the overall experience is more of an intimate luxury resort than a typical b&b. the destination spa b&b has my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sampchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Stayed here one night travelling from Vancouver to Calgary (found on B&B Canada) and hostess Toby greeted us warmly upon arrival and made us feel like life long friends! The home and views are fabulous and the Jayden suite we had was very spacious, comfortable with great Shuswap Lake views. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed meeting other guests. Only wished we could've stayed longer and enjoyed Toby's "spa experience" - maybe next time. Toby and Keith were fantastic hosts and their home is spectacuar!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sewbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salmon Arm
2.1 mi away
Podollan Inn
Podollan Inn
#2 of 8 in Salmon Arm
836 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Salmon Arm
334 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Salmon Arm Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Best Western Sicamous Inn
2.1 mi away
Prestige Harbourfront Resort
3.8 mi away
The Inn at the Ninth Hole Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destination Spa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destination Spa Bed & Breakfast

Property: Destination Spa Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4671-16th St. N.E., Salmon Arm, British Columbia V1E 1E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salmon Arm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Salmon Arm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the amazing view in this first class setting ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing