We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute, welcoming, authentic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Suisse

Bistro Suisse
Ranked #3 of 84 Restaurants in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bistro Suisse and proudly offers a wide selection of classic Swiss and European dishes. Food made from scratch and served with love make the culinary experience in this casual fine dining restaurant located in the heart of Sidney so unique!
Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Cute, welcoming, authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Walked past this restaurant this afternoon, and was drawn to its charm. Returned at 5pm for dinner when they opened. It was warm, and cozy upon entering. I was looking for authentic Swiss food, similar to what I experienced in Switzerland a few years ago. This place did not disappoint! The portions are large. Locals swear by the schnitzel, I tried it, and it was amazing. Served with rosti ( like shredded hash browns) but way better. It also came with vegs and beet salad. Oh so good!

The only thing missing was the yodeling and big Swiss horns! Try this local favorite, it was busy and delicious!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank christinern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    76
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This little bistro is tucked away off the main harbour, but on the main street. We stumbled onto it with the Octoberfest special posted in the window. Need a reservations as they were super busy on a Monday night! Locals know about it! Very small, European cuisine, with friendly service and generous portions.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancos, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This intimate bistro has a nice selection of Swiss - German-European dishes and wines. It is a busy place so reserve a table in the tourist season. We enjoyed our entrees but they weren't as good as they could be. Service was good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank coloradocowgirl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great european restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just got back from eating at this Bistro. The second time in 3 days I'm very impressed with this small restaurant. The food is a nice European cuisine.
The food servers are simply wonderful. We have traveled Europe, Middle East, and Asia extensively and seldom find better restaurants at a similar price range.
The only 2 faults I found with restaurant are that the wine list is very limited and has no nice wine by the glass. I would not mind paying the price for a good French or Italian wine.
Oddly enough, my second complaint is the size of the portions. They are way to large, more than twice the size than they need to be.
When you get such large portions you tend to not appreciate the real quality of what you are eatting. Not to mention that you have less profit because your food costs are to high. I suppose that the locals tend to expect this but it is not healthy to eat soooo much

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Slightly old fashioned dining but very tasty and reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I've eaten here half a dozen times for dinner while in Sidney. The avocado and shrimp salad is terrific for lunch or dinner. Hubby had rack of lamb last time and it was very nice. Not cutting edge cuisine but very dependable with standard Swiss favorites like schnitzel and excellent service. Generous portions. You can't reserve specific tables but the window seats give a great view of Beacon Ave. Sidney's main shopping street, or dine on the sidewalk. Wine list so-so, go for the BC offerings.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank gonegaiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Suisse also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Bistro Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing