We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chinese food”

Good Fortune Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 84 Restaurants in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
149 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

If you're looking for really good authentic Chinese food, this is the place to go. Clean, fresh food, the staff are very helpful and you have the feeling of wanting to go back for more.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank yeshiyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    3
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Langford, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Over estimated.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Considering that the restaurant was ecently renovated, it looks like any other dated chinese food restaurant. That doesn't bother me if the food is good. We ordered the Special dinner for two, starting with soup (we both had to have the same soup?), one egg 'roll' each (nicely crisp, but oily and very little filling) on one plate which made it difficult to eat, without making a mess everywhere. The main course came as grilled shrimp on a bed of onion (several types, almost raw - could have been cooked longer), breaded pineapple chicken balls (tasteless sugary thin sauce with a few pieces of bitter pineapple - The chicken 'balls' themselves weren't bad) and a small bowl of steamed rice. A little while later a large plate of 'chow mein' (dry bean sprouts and chinese pasta noodles with some thin strips of chicken and beef). Most of the dishes either had no spices and or salt or were too salty. I like chinese tea which came at the beginning of the meal, but every pot should have a strainer - the tea leaves are bitter. Will keep looking for a decent Chinese food restaurant on the Peninsula.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

We go to the Good Fortune restaurant quite regularly and really enjoy the food. The Ginger Beef is excellent, arrives at the table hot and sizzling in a cast iron pan - a wee bit spicy and ever so tasty! Everyone is friendly and happy, we've always had good service when dining here. If you're looking for a good place to get good Chinese food, Good Fortune should be added to your list.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank normaraeofsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have been here several time. The staff are very good, and the food is awesome! I love the lettuce wraps, very good

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sassyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“The Best We've Found in the Victoria Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We love Chinese food and got very spoiled having lived many years in Calgary which has some of the very finest Chinese cuisine anywhere. We were totally put off Chinese food after a few trys in Victoria's China Town and elsewhere in the local area. Friends took us to the good Fortune one evening and, expecting more of the same we had experienced elsewhere, we were very pleasantly surprised and have eaten there several time since. While it won't rank with my two favourites in Calgary, the cuisine at Good Fortune is very good and certainly far better than anything else we have tried on southern Vancouver Island. The service is excellent, dishes are served promptly and hot and overall there is little to fault in any respect. It is the only Chinese restaurant on Vancouver Island that we have tried that we would recommend to friends and family. Overall it is a good bet if Chinese cuisine is what you are looking for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Fortune Restaurant also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Good Fortune Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing