We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, service and venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stonehouse Restaurant & Pub

The Stonehouse Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #14 of 84 Restaurants in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, service and venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had crab quesadillas for our appetizer. It was accompanied by a lovely salad of greens, strawberries and an nice vinaigrette. It was very good. Fish and chips were done in a light, crispy, beer batter. The fish was haddock, would have preferred halibut, but was nicely done. The chips are fantastic. Next time I crave a really good french fry I am going to come here! They have a little bit of the beer batter on them. They were light, hot and crispy. Our server was very attentive, friendly and professional. We will definitely return. The restaurant can be a little hard to find, but is well worth searching. The building is very cozy and surrounded by a well established garden. Looking forward to returning in warmer weather and sitting in the garden.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank McBab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    55
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
329 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Upscale Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile














This was the second time my wife and I have visited this pub since it reopened last spring under new management. We knew the pizzas were large so we ordered one to share. The Sicilian pizza was very good - thin crispy crust with a flavourful meat/cheese topping ($17.00). Perfect size for two people. There is a Phillips IPA beer on tap which is not on the menu (excellent). We finished our meal with a raspberry apple crumble with ice cream. Highly recommended. Over all a very good dining experience with friendly attentive service.





Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank fishnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Excellent fresh fish & chips and superb the crab cakes. Good prices and friendly efficient service makes this a well worth while place to visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nickVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quaint and charming in a lovely area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We've been traveling to Sidney, BC for over 20 years and this is the first time I encountered this restaurant. It has recently re-opened and the staff are making every effort to be accommodating. The service was excellent but the food wasn't up to the same standard. The atmosphere is delightful, the large patio is fabulous. In all fairness, there was a very large party in another part of the restaurant that was loud and demanding and the staff was kept busy. I will try it again next summer when we return to Sidney.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Califia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria B.C.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We won't Be Back!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Four of us thought we would try The Stonehouse Pub for dinner last night and only one person enjoyed his meal! One person had Fish Tacos and didn't like them...too bland. Another had a pizza which she said was tasteless. She asked for some Parmesan cheese to add some flavour and it helped a bit. To our dismay, when we got our bill, we were charged .75 cents for the Parmesan cheese! One person had a hamburger and the taste was overwhelmed by barbecue sauce. The only one who enjoyed his meal had Shepherd's Pie...he said it was excellent !

The service was OK and the setting was nice; however, we won't go back because 3 out of 4 of us were not happy with our meals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coopershawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stonehouse Restaurant & Pub also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Stonehouse Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing