We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical pub. Nothing exceptional”

Charles Dickens Pub
Ranked #24 of 86 Restaurants in Sidney
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have just moved to the Sidney area and dropped in for dinner. This is a typical pub/sports bar with about 10 assorted screens, plenty of background music and a youngish clientele. We prefer quieter places for conversation so it is unlikely to become our local.

The draft Boddington's was excellent and the food and the service were quite good. The squid starter was deep fried with jalapenos - a tasty variation - and the beef and potato stew was very good. The "scones" served under the stew would have been better cooked in the stew gravy (like dumplings) rather than being baked.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yonze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNCVat, General Manager at Charles Dickens Pub, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. Were glad you enjoyed your food and the atmosphere of our Pub. I apologies if you felt your service was not what you expected. We will take your comments and review them with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 92 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

We ate here when we overnighted in Sidney close to the airport for our early morning departure. The location right beside the Travelodge was awesomely convenient. The atmosphere is warm and cozy with a fairly good menu selection, similar to what you'd expect at any pub restaurant. The service was somewhat sluggish and inattentive, especially when it came to clearing dishes away. The food we ordered was quite good and hit the spot. It's a great place for a quick meal or drinks and appies.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank islandgurl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNCVat, General Manager at Charles Dickens Pub, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Were glad you enjoyed our food and the atmosphere of the Pub. I apologize if the service was not what you expected. We will take your comments and review them with the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have eaten here a number of times and the food is generally not bad, but there has been a couple times that the food wasn't very good. Service is again average, not going to be left long with an empty beer but not going to always see your waitress stopping by. Nice atmosphere and lots of TVs to be able to watch whatever game you are into.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DutchmanJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNCVat, General Manager at Charles Dickens Pub, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. Regrettable you have said you think our Pub service and food has not lived up to your expectations and I apologies for that. We do feel our food quality is made to a very high standard but we will always try to make improvements where we can. As for our service I feel we have a dedicated, professional staff who work hard to provide excellent customer service but I will share your review with them to see if we can improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The Airport trace lodge is next door and offers guests a discount. However, it's actually a step above what I expected with a great pub style menu and cozy setting unlike most noisy oversized places. Recommend

Thank Gemma'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNCVat, General Manager at Charles Dickens Pub, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for your great review and were so glad we exceeded your expectations. We are very proud of our food, service and staff and hope you will come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Semi pub/sports bar. Great food and was quiet so you can talk and relax. service was prompt and friendly Good curry and macn cheese. Full bar

Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNCVat, General Manager at Charles Dickens Pub, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed our Pub and the food and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Dickens Pub also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Charles Dickens Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing