We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, great location.”
Reviewed October 29, 2009

This is a lovely hotel. We came for a family birthday and were delighted with the contemporary design and furnishings, and the great location right next to the waterfront
walkway. Our room overlooked Beacon St., but we could see plenty of the strait. The rooms had many unusual features, starting with the clear glass 'fence' outside the sliding doors, the movable mini-desk in front of the sofa (which was a visual delight in its own right)
and the fabulously comfortable king-sized bed with feather comforter. Through a mis-communication, the hotel clerk thought my mother was staying with us. The manager made a card and personally signed it for her, and then had the kitchen make a beautiful 'beach scene' on a plate for her, using chocolate pebbles, starfish and shells. They even wrote 'Happy 80th Birthday' in chocolate on the edge of the plate. They were so thoughtful!
The only negative was the restaurant, Haro's, which is visually beautiful, but some of the food was less than it should have been for the price we paid. However, our waiter, Pascal, was amazing. He knew everything about the food, and was extremely professional and polished in his manner. Great waiter.
We also were impressed with the front desk clerk, Joey. Very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greekgirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    134
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
107
230
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Rooms were well appointed, with good views (not unobstructed). Hotel fell beyond short with incompetent service staff, from front desk to restaurant. Staff were slow and lacked ability to trouble shoot anything. Management even worse. Really too bad because it is esthetically very nice, but the bones of the hotel do not overcome the completely terrible staff. Would never stay there again, when hotels in Victoria with top notch staff are just 20 mins away.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vanbctravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

The service was outstanding, the rooms were immaculate and the location was superb! I will definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.

Thank you again for such a wonderful stay!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaPVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

The hotel is modern and brand new. Rooms are clean with state of the art features (appliances, shades & draperies, bathroom amenities, etc). Coffee shop and fitness center are wonderful. Located right on the waterfront with 2.5km jogging path along the water. We explored most of Vancouver Island, and the town of Sidney offered the most charm and sophistication combined...excellent food and great cappacinos. Close to the wine country and gardens. Joey, the concierge, was extremely helpful and went above and beyond to accomodate our requests! Hotel restaurant was hip and quite the place to be seen (as much as possible in a sea side town).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxurypreferred30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I had been wanting to stay at this hotel for a long time and when I had to go over to the island for a sports event in August, I booked a room for 3 nights. A friend of mine who manages the conference bookings for the large corporation she works for, came along. She had been invited by the Sidney Pier Events Booking Coordinator several times and this seemed like a great opportunity to check out the hotel.

When we arrived, we noticed there was no luggage rack anywhere, so we went and asked the man at the front desk. He told us that there should be one just inside the door of our room, and described it. We told him there was definately no luggage race to be found. His answer then was "well, most rooms have it". He did not offer to bring one to our room so we ended up putting our luggage on a bath towel. I guess housekeeping never got the hint either since that was the way our luggage sat for the duration of our visit.

It was an irritating start--which then makes other minor things stand out more, such as, the body lotion pump not working, and the fridge not functioning. Back at the front desk the next morning, I spoke to a different man and inquired again about the luggage rack, asked that the body lotion pump be fixed, and informed him that the fridge wasn't working. I watched as he wrote all 3 points down on his book. He told us it was no problem brining up a luggage rack. Well, no luggage rack ever showed up, the body lotion pump never got fixed, but the fridge was finally turned on.

There is only a mirror in the washroom, so if you are getting dressed while someone is in the washroom, I found myself peering at the shiny edge of tv.

We went to the restaurant to make reservations for dinner for the following night. Oddly, the lady there said that she was in the process of making up a dinner schedule and couldn't confirm she could accommodate us. She took down my name and room number and told me she would phone the next day to confirm. I have never before phoned a restaurant for a reservation without them knowing if they have space the following day. Maybe they have a hard time figuring out their restaurant, but the impression it gave me was that they would bump me if guests with a more expensive suite wanted to have dinner there. Anyhow, it was after 5pm the following day and we had still not received a message confirming our reservation. I had to phone the restaurant as it was getting late and I would have to make alternate arrangements. The food was delicious but by then I was not a very happy guest.

The other odd thing my friend noticed was that the hotel did not supply newspapers--even if not delivered to each room, they didn't even have anything in the lobby. By the way, only guests in expensive rooms get chocolate treats on their pillows and their beds turned down. A lot of preferential treatment it seems.

The people at the front desk do not say good morning when you walk by--they are busy on their computers and sometimes there is nobody there.

I would not stay at this hotel again. Next time I will book at the Magnolia--for the same price, you get so much more. The front desk greats you by name, remembers everything, coffee and tea in the lobby, newspapers delivered to the door, great free breakfast, excellent location. Sidney Pier just has nice pictures on their website and good free parking.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ilovepianoconcerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I stayed here with a long time travelling friend at the end of a "walking week" on the Island.
Our room was delightful with 2 comfortable beds and a great harbour view even though it was the least expensive room. We had all the desired "eco" amenities.
We enjoyed our lunch in the restaurant but did NOT enjoy having to line up in a deli and wait for a free table to have breakfast.
I found the area noisy with lots of tourists, ongoing garbage pickup and the proximity of the airport.
If I were to return to Sydey I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baltzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed at the Sidney Pier Hotel for 3 nights towards the end of our Canada trip and we loved everything about it - the location, the very pleasant and welcoming staff, the beautiful room overlooking the sea, the coffee shop for breakfast and the excellent restaurant for dinner. The whole atmosphere was cheerful, relaxed and friendly but never short on professionalism and service. Even with the relatively low exchange rate it was still excellent value for money compared with British hotels of the same standard.
There is a tasteful gift shop within the hotel where you can book a whale watching trip with a small local company called Emerald Sea Adventures. Don't miss this if you are in Sidney - it was the highlight of our stay, if not of our entire trip.
Also, if you want to visit Victoria there is a half hourly bus service which drops you right by the harbour - amazing views along the coast from the top of a double decker.
A wonderful place to stay - we wish we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparky50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.1 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,199 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,029 reviews
15.7 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa

Property: The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Address: 9805 Seaport Pl, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 4X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55-room boutique hotel, spa, oceanfront restaurant & lounge, and cafe, opened in May 2007. Located on the waterfront in the charming seaside town of Sidney, British Columbia on Vancouver Island - just 10 minutes from the Victoria International Airport, BC Ferries to Vancouver, and Washington State Ferries to Anacortes, Washington. 30 minute drive to downtown Victoria. Complimentary use of 24 hour Fitness Centre. 3 Meeting/Function rooms for groups up to 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sidney Pier Hotel Sidney
The Sidney Pier Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing