We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a very comfortable, peaceful stay at this complete gem. The Cedarwood Inn has Large relaxing rooms and a splendid outlook. The gardens are just beautiful. There is a special BBQ area. Free Wifi and flatscreen TV. All the comforts of home. Built-in kitchen. Great location, walking distance to Sidney township, but away from noise.
The managers and staff are warm and friendly. Every effort has been made to ensure a relaxing stay for guests. I will happily recommend this motel to all my friends.

Stayed: August 2013
2  Thank Beawarthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 158 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently during a road trip on Vancouver Island and Washington State. We paid a little extra and stayed in a second floor suite with view of the ocean. We really enjoyed our stay. The suite had everything we needed for overnight stay (dishes, kettle, coffee maker) and to prepare our breakfast the next morning. (We usually travel with a plug-in cooler for fruit, yogurt, snacks)

This is not one of the new, much more sterile but probably a little more luxurious chain hotels. It is somewhat older fashioned, quaint and very well maintained and clean. (perfect for our tastes) Front desk staff were friendly and helpful with information about the town, ferries, etc. My only complaint was a quite noisy fridge, which we reported to the desk the next morning, so that it could be fixed.

The hotel is located across the road from the ocean, with a walking path/small park that stretches along the ocean to the north and to the south into Sidney town. The road in front of the hotel is a much used cycling route that stretches to Victoria. We sat at the picnic table along the ocean and watched the joggers, walkers and cyclist go by. As well we watched the many boats come into the bay and the Annacortes Ferry come and go from its ferry dock - almost next door.

We walked the seaside promenade into the little town with its many quaint shops and some seaside restaurants, stopped for a drink on the marina dock, and picked up some food at the local supermarket to enjoy a picnic dinner on the very pretty grounds of the Inn - a perfect evening. The nice thing is that all the shops and restaurants are a few blocks away, so you can park the car and walk everywhere.

We are a retired couple and it met all our needs but it would be a great place for families with children - room to run around and the ocean across the street.

Room Tip: Second floor suite has view over the ocean, but note no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It's dated, and the bed was a little soft, but the view of the Ocean makes it all worthwhile. You are a short and scenic walk from downtown Sidney, but just 10 minutes from Victoria Airport, which makes even the earliest flight very manageable. Beats a normal airport hotel hands down.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

WE love this place. We have been coming to Sidney/Victoria for years and always stay at the Cedarwood. It feels like home. The location can't be beat, a walk to the village of Sidney and just across the road from the water. The gardens are just spectacular, as are the views. The rooms feel like cozy cottages, they are not super modern but for us they suit perfectly. We always have a GREAT time, the Cedarwood is always and will always be our first choice. Also, SUPER awesome staff!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belly2379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Have stayed here many times over the years. This place is very clean, quaint and hospitable. This time we stayed in one of the original cabins, very cute. We love this place, would not stay anywhere else in Sidney. It is the picture of the Canadian spirit!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank veoralittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went there for the BC Day long weekend to attend a wedding near Sidney. Most places were booked up, and this is one of the very limited choices with a king-sized bed. The price is about the same as some cheaper places in downtown Victoria, but it's much closer to the wedding place.

I believe it's hard to not have a good first impression of this inn, because you must drive by the waterfront to enter it, and most people would go WOW on the scenery. This inn is literally across the street from the shore. There aren't many buildings nearby, so it's a very quiet place.

We had one of the regular rooms, as those private huts were all booked up. Everything was clean and tidy, except maybe the kettle which only opens at the mouth, so nobody can really clean its inside.

Although the surroundings were quiet, the fridge, which was only a few feet away from the bed, was quite noisy. Also, as the building is built with wood, you can hear people's footsteps. But otherwise, it's very quiet at night.

The town centre of Sidney is only about 3 minutes of drive away, and there are several restaurants and a Safeway, amongst other stores. There's no restaurants at the inn.

Room Tip: One of the two complexes faces south and the other faces north. It is my personal preference to liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiccoloM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Cedarwood is a very good option for staying near Victoria if you don't want or need to stay right in the heart of downtown. Located less than a kilometre from the centre of picturesque Sidney, The Cedarwood offers very quiet rooms that are clean and hospitable. The decor is a little dated, but that's part of the charm. The view from the grounds of the water and islands is spectacular, and a relaxing seawall walk is easily accessible just across the street. We also found the price to be quite reasonable. They offer a good range of accommodation options, from queen bed suites for couples all the way up to a handful of fully-equipped cabins for families. Pets are also welcome.

The hotel is especially handy if you need to catch an early ferry from nearby Swartz Bay Terminal, as we did, since it's only about 10 minutes' drive away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.7 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
163 reviews
43.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria Airport Travelodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedarwood Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedarwood Inn and Suites

Address: 9522 Lochside Dr, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1N8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range: $98 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cedarwood Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among award-winning gardens in a quiet, residential area of Sidney-By-The-Sea, the Cedarwood provides waterfront accommodation with a difference. When you stay with us, you are close to the world-renowned Butchart Gardens and within walking distance to the San Juan Islands ferries. You will have the opportunity to enjoy spectacular views of the waterfront and gardens by the sea, Olympic Mountains and Mount Baker. Just a few blocks away, there are restaurants, cafes, banks, supermarkets and unique specialty shops to serve your every need. Whether on holiday or on business, we invite you to stay at The Cedarwood, where it is our intention to provide each and every guest with a home away from home, all year long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cedarwood Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedarwood Hotel Sidney
Cedarwood Hotel Sidney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing