We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beacon Inn at Sidney
Ranked #1 of 8 Sidney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a delightful little Inn! We had a one night stay. You can walk to absolutely everything in Sidney easily and it is just a few short blocks from the sidewalk that runs along the sea. The entire Inn is very well maintain and perfectly decorated. The service was superb! We had to leave at 6am for a flight so knew we wouldn't be able to partake in the breakfast. They were just wonderful to let us know that there would be a "to go" bag in the morning in the dining room frig for our breakfast. Very nicely done it had a juice box, fruit, granola bar, cheese and something else maybe crackers? Anyway, it did the trick, just what we needed. I also love that they have little snacks out in the evening in the dining room for you to simply help yourself to and a decanter of sherry is placed out in the reception room in the early evening. The only minor negative comment would be although it seems quite a bit from the airport we were very surprised to hear a very loud airplane go over the inn. I don't know if this varies with flight patterns or not but the noise was substantial. (I'm sure it also depends on the timing of your stay and your sensitivity to it). We only heard the one plane and otherwise the room was very quite. We loved our stay, felt it was very reasonably priced and were extremely happy with the upscale quality, comfort of the bed and personal service that we encountered at Beacon Inn.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms on the main floor so if steps are a problem for you be sure to book according...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    23
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
84
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed over one nite at this B and B in Sidney . Our room was called Mayne, after the Gulf Island. Very cozy, comfortable and clean. During check in, guests are asked for their breakfast preferences. This is great, cause the tea is poured and your breakfast soon follows. Don't forget to ask for seniors rate. I highly recommend this Inn...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcarter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We arrived at 3:00, check in time, at the Beacon Inn, in Sidney BC, for a magic night away from home. We were quietly greeted by Warren, who asked about any likes or dislikes and allergies for next day's provided breakfast. The house is Victorian looking and filled with antiques. The breakfast area is always stocked with tea/coffee/sweets and fresh big red apples for convenience. After checking in we were showed to our room named The Mayne Island room. We were immediately impressed by the comfort and coziness of it which included a fireplace, small flat screen tv, free WiFi and enough space to move for 2 people. It included 2 bathrobes for this spacious bathroom containing a large bathtub and separate shower. After returning from the wedding we attended, some fairy had been by and prepared the bed for tne might and tidied up the room again. The bed was very comfortable and even though there are 6 rooms in the Inn it was very quiet and peaceful. We chose second seating for breakfast which was promptly served, fresh and plentiful. All in all that Inn deserves*****stars. I will return. Oh and we received a discount for seniors.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleOrchidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Over the last 3 years we have enjoyd this lovely retreat and the peaceful welcome from the front doors to our room and to sitting outside in the early morning over a fresh brewed cup of coffee. Whenever we have found ourselves lost and adrift in life we return to enjoy the welcome atmosphere that only Beacon Inn can offer. A shelter in the storms of life and something you need to come to enjoy and experience. Shannon Pennington Exeutive Director, Senior Chief North American Firefighter Veteran Network.

Room Tip: go online to the web site to find lots of photos for your room selection. All above average done to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently for one night. There is ample, free parking at the rear of the premises. We stayed in the Lopez Room which was comfortable and more than adequate for our needs. Upon arrival we were shown our room and to be fair were given a choice of rooms. There is no elevator in the Inn which was not unexpected, however it would have been nice to have been asked whether we needed any assistance with carrying our luggage up the stairs. Once settled, the room proved to be very comfortable with soft chairs, a whirlpool bath and what proved to be a very comfortable bed. One issue surrounded the room's plumbing. The toilet flush became very problematic every time we used it. When we mentioned this to the staff we were informed that it had been in that condition for about six weeks, the blame being apportioned to some 'wild guests' who had stayed at that time. If that was the case, and the problem had been discovered, then one would have expected that issue to have been remedied fairly quickly.
Sherry for guests at five o' clock was a nice touch and breakfast the following morning was interesting. On a final note, we were asked to pay for the room in advance when we checked in, but at no time were we offered a receipt. In hindsight we could have requested one, however one would think that that would be an automatic response when payment was made.
Sidney, like most of Vancouver Island was lovely with plenty of different, independent type shops to browse. Appeared a good selection of places to eat. It was a Sunday evening when we stayed and we chose Theo's Place, which was having its weekly pasta night. The place was very busy and appeared to be full mainly with locals, which everyone knows is usually a very good sign.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
111Manager, General Manager at Beacon Inn at Sidney, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We take great pride in the upkeep and maintenance of our property, employing a live-in caretaker who is quick to remedy any maintenance issues when they occur. I'd like to assure you that at no time would a plumbing issue we are aware of be left unchecked for even one day, let alone 6 weeks. To be clear, the previous incident you referred to over 6 weeks ago, involved damage to the jetted bath, long since repaired. It is regrettable that you experienced an issue with the toilet during your stay, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Upon investigation, it was discovered that the low water-use toilet had been incorrectly flushed, with an apparent turn of the flush button which unfastened it, rather than a push on the button as required and clearly denoted on the signage on each toilet. This issue was a simple fix that was promptly made.

Being a small 9-room Inn, we do not employ a Bellman. For guests who have either difficulty with stairs or heavy luggage, we strongly recommend one of our two ground floor guestrooms.

Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back at another time when travelling to Sidney-by-the Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a very nice and comfortable B&B. The soaker tub was lovely, and they even supplied bath salts for a lovely soak. The décor is tastefully done. They even have a bed turn-down service in the afternoon, so you don't have to bother with removing quilts or decorative pillows. The gas fireplace was a nice touch, as was the very cosy couch. The bed was very comfy.

The breakfast that was supplied is made with care and love. There's plenty of private parking behind the Inn. It's not a cheap place to stay, but if you compare prices with the rest of Sidney hotels, it's not the most expensive. So if you're looking for something special and a step up from the rest, it's a beautiful and peaceful place to stay.

I'd recommend this especially for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Is it a B&B or a small hotel? Either way you choose to describe it, you'll love this beautiful peaceful little treasure.
Warm friendly staff.
Extremely clean and well maintained.
Comfortable beds with cotton sheets (no hot poly blends).
All day access to coffee, tea, fruit and baked goods.
WiFi
Palate pleasing generous breakfast.
Free parking in back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneeonVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.2 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Victoria Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Inn at Sidney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Inn at Sidney

Property: Beacon Inn at Sidney
Address: 9724 Third St, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 3A2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Inn at Sidney 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Beacon Inn offers 5-Star luxury in the heart of Sidney. Centrally located in the quaint seaside community of Sidney, close to Victoria, Butchart Gardens, BC ferries (to Vancouver & Gulf Islands) and WA State ferries (to San Juan Islands & Anacortes), as well as the Victoria airport. The Inn offers many complimentary extras, including full breakfasts; afternoon Sherry; coffee/tea/snacks; off-street parking; local phone calling and WiFi. Nine beautifully appointed guestrooms with feather beds, spa-inspired ensuite bathrooms, gas F/P's and A/C. An easy stroll to many unique local shops, a great selection of eateries, coffee houses, and the spectacular Sidney waterfront just 2 blocks away. Area activities include, golf, wine tasting and tours, whale watching, cycling, kayaking and boating to name just a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beacon Inn at Sidney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing