We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sidney Gem”

Sea Glass Waterfront Grill
Ranked #1 of 84 Restaurants in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Contemporary casual dining with Marina views and amazing sunsets. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sidney Gem”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

This was our first visit to this restaurant - we. Is it a different one each month. It is tucked away on the waterfront in Sidney and is a part of Vanisle Marina - the sign was a bit hidden so it would be good to enlarge the restaurant name - easy to miss as it is just now.

The food was very well presented and was delicious. The server was very friendly and advised us of the specials - two of us had the haddock and one had the portobello mushroom stuffed with vegetables. We loved the food, service, location and will go again and recommend it to others.

There is a very nice outdoor dining area for warmer days.

Make a reservation as this hidden gem is getting popular. Great evening out.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    121
    24
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, nice location, make a reservation.”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This wonderful little restaurant seems to always be busy so a reservation is a good idea. The food is as good as the scenic location and the staff are friendly and helpful. The prices are quite reasonable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaraFromRedDeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure right in Sidney!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We enjoyed dinner at the Sea Glass while entertaining a friend from the main land. We made a reservation as we had heard Saturday nights can be busy. Our server was polished and eager to make our experience a wonderful one - he quickly welcomed us and informed us of the specials along with the items that had sold out for the evening and took our wine order. We drank a magnificent bottle of white wine, followed by Cesar salads (very yummy) and each ordered different items off the menu which offered a delectable selection - from the fish to the beef to the pork - all prepared magnificently. We are locals and appreciate the challenge of finding "fine dining" in Sidney - but mission accomplished at this restaurant, we highly recommend it.

Tip - secure a seat on the patio, it is a beautiful view especially at sunset. There are also heaters in the evening.

Tip - dine early, as the fresh features offered nightly sell out.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrJBjornson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food But The Gin-Based Drinks Need Upgrading”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Warren was a fabulous server, providing delicious and innovative appies and entree's from the busy kitchen. Top marks to the chefs for the quality of the food preparation! The only bland notes were the watery gin and tonic as well as the gin-based martini. We understand that the directives for ingredient choice are Pellegrino tonic water and a gentle brand of gin but both drinks were a disappointment since they lacked flavour. Otherwise, it was a great pleasure to dine in such an attractive dockside environment with sailing friends at the Sea Glass. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hidden gem worth the extra km from Sidney”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and i cycled to the restaurant yesterday for lunch from Victoria. We arrived without a reservation, but that was not a problem for the very accommodating staff. We both enjoyed fabulous food, friendly wait staff, and a million dollar view. We were so glad that we went the extra distance from downtown Sidney and tried somewhere new....we were not disappointed, and we will return. I think it has become my new favourite restaurant!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rick_w53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Glass Waterfront Grill also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Sea Glass Waterfront Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing