We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple food nicely prepared - good linch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Toast Cafe

Toast Cafe
Ranked #11 of 84 Restaurants in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Galiano Island, Canada
Level Contributor
390 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Simple food nicely prepared - good linch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

The coffees are excellent. The soups are (or taste) made on site. Portions are generous. Fills up fast at lunch with an eclectic mix of pensioners, tourists, young mums and construction workers all looking for the well priced and tasty lunch offerings. Counter service is prompt and efficient. A worthwhile stop for the hungry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    29
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best Expresso on Vancouver Island .I mean it !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I asked the owners one day as to why their Cappuccino was consistently better than anybody else's and she had a great answer .. " we have a really good machine and all our operators have taken at least two off the premises, 4 hour sessions on using an expresso machine..."
Well it really shows, their coffee is the best, in a town full of coffee houses.
This place is way more than a coffeehouse. They make great sandwiches, salads, and soup.
On Wednesdays; you better get there early if you want to taste there spicy Thai soup.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank George2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
208 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent little Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The service at this local cafe is so friendly, attentive and welcoming. All the food is great, but my favourite is a veggie wrap called Rom's Favourite. So delicious, but be sure to add the avocado. The barrista drinks are great and this is a favourite for breakfast and/or lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank htravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
452 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Best of the Bunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Sidney is a town full of bookstores and coffeehouses. Competition is fierce. I'm a big fan of Serious Coffee, but Toast Cafe is the closest to Beacon Inn, where we always stay (best B&B in Sidney). The place is roomy and friendly with a very good decaf mocha. We got a sandwich for the ferry. The key is that Toast is not on the main commercial street (Beacon) where most of the other coffeehouses are. It is one block over. If you are walking into town from the ferry, it is three or four blocks to your left on Bevan Avenue. It's worth the walk.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Service and Food were excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

They ran out of some items, so they offered options, which I was very happy with. Plus, the coffee was excellent. We were also rushing to catch the ferry ... so they understood and got the order out quickly. What can else could one ask for from a café?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voyager01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast Cafe also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Toast Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing