We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little Cafe”
Review of Toast Cafe

Toast Cafe
Ranked #11 of 84 Restaurants in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Vancouver
Level Contributor
207 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent little Cafe”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The service at this local cafe is so friendly, attentive and welcoming. All the food is great, but my favourite is a veggie wrap called Rom's Favourite. So delicious, but be sure to add the avocado. The barrista drinks are great and this is a favourite for breakfast and/or lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank htravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    33
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
481 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Best of the Bunch”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Sidney is a town full of bookstores and coffeehouses. Competition is fierce. I'm a big fan of Serious Coffee, but Toast Cafe is the closest to Beacon Inn, where we always stay (best B&B in Sidney). The place is roomy and friendly with a very good decaf mocha. We got a sandwich for the ferry. The key is that Toast is not on the main commercial street (Beacon) where most of the other coffeehouses are. It is one block over. If you are walking into town from the ferry, it is three or four blocks to your left on Bevan Avenue. It's worth the walk.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Service and Food were excellent!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

They ran out of some items, so they offered options, which I was very happy with. Plus, the coffee was excellent. We were also rushing to catch the ferry ... so they understood and got the order out quickly. What can else could one ask for from a café?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voyager01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favourite!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I love the fun atmosphere at Toast, the raspberry matcha blended drink is fabulous!! I also like the variety of baked goods and lunch items!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Woods'IslandWedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
290 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“very friendly staff bt a bit chaotic”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was surprised at how friendly the staff were. The seating is a bit awkward with various forms more like a Starbucks arrangement than a restaurant. Tuekey sandwich was very good and priced well. I am not a fan of bar type seating though would have liked a table.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cactus52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast Cafe also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Toast Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing