We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a big let down from the beautiful views!”
Review of The Pier Bistro

The Pier Bistro
Ranked #5 of 84 Restaurants in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Pier Bistro in Sidney B.C. is located literally right on the Beacon Pier itself. We offer a casual waterfront dining experience with panoramic ocean views of the Gulf Islands. We serve unique and tasty entrees like Award Winning Seafood Chowder, Crab Cake Bennies, Gourmet Salads and a variety of Fish n' Chips to name a few.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a big let down from the beautiful views!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We opted for this place because of the views rather than go to the more popular breakfast bistro up the road that had line ups to get in. There was absolutely no line up and that should have been our first clue...the food was just crap...yesterday's bacon on an unappetizing looking plate. No offer for coffee refills or anybody checking during the meal if everyything was alright. The stale bacon was addressed to the waitress who was very haughty and said it was rude of us to point it out...no customer service skills whatsoever!! I would never go back anyway, but, it turns out the rude waitress was the owner and told us not to come back...what happened to try to please your customer? Instead of apologizing for the very obvious presentation of yesterday's leftovers, she just gets nasty!! We are locals and we will spread the word for sure!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria402010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    89
    37
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“nice view from the pier”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

crab cakes and a crab/shrimp sandwich and chowder with a view from the end of the pier. Little place with friendly staff. Nice contrast to some of the newer, trendier styles.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tsaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“On first glance....but great food.”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Looking at the restaurant from the boardwalk, my wife and I almost kept walking. But we took a chance and THOROUGHLY enjoyed the crab cakes and seafood chowder. This was just what we were looking for during our seaside vacation but had a hard time finding it on Vancouver or Sidney menus. Sure...the prices were a little high....especially for lunch. But given the limited seating and view, I understand why. We ended up catching a later ferry just to have another meal here!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vogtr4271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very disappointing meal”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The menu selection was good; the younger members in our foursome opted for burgers and seafood chowder. The burgers were good, and the seafood chowder got a rave report from the youngest member of our group. We grandparents opted for the fish and chips, one order with one piece of cod, and one with two (mine). This was close to one of the worst fish and chip meals my wife and I have had. There was very little fish (if you could find it) buried inside huge masses of batter which had been cooked to basic toughness -- I had to ask for a bowl to put in all the tough pieces of batter in my quest to hunt for the fish. One or two nice cubes of fish were found, but that's between two pieces of fish which, upon initial inspection, appeared to be two very nice big pieces of deep fried cod. The disappointing result brought forth little cod, lots of deep fried batter. There were tons of chips which did not look appetizing, and while they tasted a bit fair, although somewhat cold, they were at the bottom of this heap of hard batter and we ate very few of them.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic Setting Food O.K.”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The views , especially from the outdoor sitting , are perfect for a seafood dinner. We have been here for a meal every time we come to Vancouver Island . The fish and chips are a dollar or two more than downtown but the location makes it worthwhile. Try the crabcakes without the sauce. For cooler ocean breezes, blankets are supplied to cover your legs.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikey243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier Bistro also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Pier Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing