We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions were not good, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Victoria Airport
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First impressions were not good, but...”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

When I walked into the lobby, I almost turned around and walked out! The lobby is in dire need of a complete overhaul. It is, quite frankly, dreadful, and makes for a very bad first impression.

The carpet is torn, badly stained, and threadbare. It looks like something you'd see in a seedy motel.The lobby's chairs are downright ugly - grey, blue and black "mod" patterned upholstery. They look like they were salvaged from a 1970s disco. The walls are painted a hideous brown color, exactly the color one would see on a rusty tin can. This color appears to be throughout the hotel, including the rooms. The other wall colors (dull mustardy-beige-orange) are equally jarring and depressing to look at. I have a feeling this place got a good deal on ugly paint and decided to save some bucks and slapped it on all the walls.

Anyway, they should ditch the carpet in the lobby and put in some sort of engineered hardwood or the vinyl "wood" flooring that's in the Best Western down the road. The walls should be painted in a warm, neutral shade. That rusty pain has to go!

There are too many garbage cans in the lobby. I think there were five or six large trash cans and possibly a smaller one near the little computer station. Just another reason to really hate this lobby.

I'm not a fan of the free breakfasts that many hotels offer. If you don't have a dedicated room or separate area to serve food, don't do it. This establishment would be better off giving its guests coffee and juice in the morning, and offering a discount for breakfast at one of the nearby restaurants. This hotel serves its free breakfast in the lobby. It's way too small to host a breakfast of any kind.The smell of boiled eggs and old food permeates the room long after breakfast is over. Actually, I think a lot of food has been ground into the poor old carpet. Folks checking out have to make room for hotel guests balancing flimsy plates of donuts and bagels in one hand, and tiny paper coffee cups in the other. It's just unpleasant.

Anyway, the owners need to completely redo the lobby. First impressions do count. I'm sure many walk-ins take a peek in the lobby and bolt, because they'd think the rooms were the same, or worse.

On the plus side; the staff is very accommodating, friendly and helpful. I was impressed with all the front-desk employees, and the housekeepers were pleasant, too.

The room I stayed in was clean and comfortable. The carpet was "newish" and a huge improvement over the raggy lobby carpet.The baseboards could have used a vacuum, but I've noticed that baseboards are often overlooked in most hotels I stay at, so that's probably a nitpicky comment.

The TV was new - large flat screen. The picture quality was excellent. Internet service was speedy and reliable. No problems there. Rooms have a small fridge and microwave. My bathroom was a good-size, had all the amenities I needed (replenished every day), and was very clean and shiny. The room has plenty of lamps so lighting is good.

There is a small, lovely courtyard in the center of the property. There is a small pool, manicured grassy area, hanging flower pots, and plenty of lawn chairs, loungers and tables. It really is a nice little oasis and completely unexpected.

This property is at an excellent location - very close to the highway and the airport, as well as the ferry terminal. There are plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance.

Room Tip: Stay in the business section which is located in the newer part of this property. Best rooms are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nogobev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNCVat, General Manager at Travelodge Victoria Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I would like to thank you for not turning around and walking out, but instead giving our hotel an opportunity not based on your first impression, and for taking the time to write your in depth review. .
Your observation on the condition of the lobby carpet is regrettable true. It is in poor condition and should have been replaced before it got to that point. As for the wall colours and furniture covering you did not like, we have found that to be a "mixed" comment from our guests. Some guests have said they did not like the brick colour of the walls but we have also had many comment's from guests who liked the colours, and thought they gave the hotel a warm look and feeling. (On a side note the paint and furniture were designed by a professional interior designer). I also agree that serving our breakfast in the lobby is not the best use for the space or the best place to serve our breakfast. That being said, I am very happy to inform you that your comments were extremely timely in that the hotel came under new ownership at the beginning of September, and the very first thing that was identified and put on a priority list of improvements was renovating the lobby and moving our continental breakfast to a more convenient location.

I don't know if we will be changing paint colours, ( I will make sure your comments are tabled) but I am looking forward to the renovations which will present a much improved, first impression of our property to our guests.

Again, thank you for taking the time to give our hotel your honest and fair comments and l look forward to receiving you and all our future guests in our newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, as well as other new improvements happening in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    115
    69
    22
    17
See reviews for
93
93
32
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Snowflake, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent two weeks on the Island visiting Tofino, Nanaimo, Buchard Gardens and Victoria. On our last night we stayed at the Travelodge to catch an early flight back home to Arizona. The rates were only $30.00 cheaper then the 3 star hotel we stayed at in Victoria however with the free parking, internet, breakfast and shuttle to the airport it ended up being more then a $80.00 difference when you added it all up.The room was nice, clean and quite The staff were very friendly and truly nice people. One young man had worked there for 12 years and the other young lady for 10 years, and the Manager for 15 years. We were impressed that a group could work together for so long in an customer service industry. The manager helped us with my Iphone, showing us we could still use the internet without having the roaming on, too bad it was our last night of vacation. Looking forward to coming back again next year, the entire experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DesertRose907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
642 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place. Sure there are fancier hotels, but the rooms are very comfortable, the pool is nice, the wifi is free, and the service is friendly. Very convenient for the airport, and right in the middle of Sidney with plenty of restaurants and shops around. What more do you really need? Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnaby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

the manager on duty has terrible customer service skills. She is unfriendly and very unhelpful. The hotel needs new management. The room had bugs in it. They added extra charges to our bill without our consent. We didn't see the charges until they appeared on the bill. The management team would not even look into the issue. They left us with the following statement... "all charges are added at the managers discretion" When asking the manager to address the issue... She completely refused to inquire. I stay at hotels on Victoria island at least once a month, I would recommend choosing another hotel.

Room Tip: check your bill at checkout and don't be surprised if they've added extra charges
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mainlandBurnaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNCVat, General Manager at Travelodge Victoria Airport, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
From your posting you obviously felt you were not treated fairly by our management and you were upset with the extra charges and mentioned, "bugs in your room". I investigated your complaints and spoke with all the staff involved. The manager you spoke with did try to explain the reason for the extra charges was because you booked two rooms with two people in each room but during your stay it was observed and noted by housekeeping and front desk staff who were delivering the requested multiple, extra towels to each room that there were 4 to 6 people in each room. And it was also observed during the service of our free Continental Breakfast at your check out day that there were at least 6 to 8 people in your group. Therefore, we applied a standard extra person charge of 2 per room to account for the additional people using the hotel services. As for the bugs you mentioned in your posting I don't have any record of you bringing it to our attention during your stay. If you had we would have immediately inspected your room and taken the appropriate action. But on our inspection of the room after reading your posting, we could not find anything in either of the rooms to show there were insects. I'm sorry you were not happy with your stay at our hotel but when you book a hotel room next time, to avoid this type of misunderstanding please ensure all the information is correct.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sidney hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Travelodge is near the first public transit stop from the Tsawwassen Ferry dock, at 5th and Beacon in Sidney, BC. It has large, functional rooms in a 2-4 storey traditional motel ambiance on the main East-West street, about 6 amenity-packed blocks from the waterfront on the one side - and very close to Victoria Airport, on the other. It is across the street from the modern convention centre, next to a local shopping centre. It offers a pleasant alternative to downtown Victoria, which is about a half hour trip by good local bus service.

Continental breakfast is included in the room rate.

Room Tip: Guests might consider the pleasure of eating breakfast at poolside in the central courtyard. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Prairies
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The premises is starting to show its age. The front desk/ reception are was friendly and efficient.
The room was clean and adequate. Just remember its the Travelodge. You're about 10 minutes away from the airport by car.
If you have time, walk eastward down Beacon Ave. Theres a few interesting shops and restaurants nearby.
There is a complimentary continental breakfast available. I just grabbed a muffin on the way out, so i won't be able to comment on the rest of items.
Personally, i thought it was abit pricey for this place. But it was a last minute booking, so i get whats available. Overall a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: If you can park near the front . Its not as well light in the back and there seems to be alot of tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ba11istic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We found the hotel clean, comfortable and accommodating. When we arrived Chris showed us two rooms to choose from, the one we booked on line and one he felt would be more suitable for our needs. He chose to move to the one Chris suggested and greatful for the offer and it showed us he really was concerned for our comfort. The pool garden was wonderful place for morning coffee. After we came back from the Butchard gardens we floated around the pool to cool off, just what these old bones needed.

Only suggestion would be for the hotel to info people of their check in times. The last morning we were there a group was trying to check in around 9am filling the lobby, complaining loudly about how people needed to check out so they could get ready for a wedding. This made us very uncomfortable and ruined what was otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosey68_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
0.5 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
148 reviews
15.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Victoria Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Victoria Airport

Property: Travelodge Victoria Airport
Address: 2280 Beacon Ave, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1X1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Victoria Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the main street of Sidney, just minutes from the Victoria Int. Airport and the main BC Ferry Terminal with free shuttle service to both. All our rooms have fridges & microwaves or we have kitchenette rooms for long term stays as well as pet friendly rooms. And please enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast and seasonal outdoor heated pool while staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Victoria Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sidney
Travel Lodge Sidney
Sidney Travelodge
Sidney Travel Lodge
Travelodge Hotel Victoria Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing